** Guys last time we faced such a scenario in Nairobi 1997, we witnessed a miracle aka Afridi blasting the fastest hundred ever. Its time for another miracle, not neceserily from Afridi , koi bhi ho chalay gaa :D. I wanna see pakistan fight till the end for this third spot **
All throughout the tourney our great captain thought, scoring high against the minnows didn't matter, but now its coming back to bite him back on his butt. Had we scored atleast 300 against Holland and Namibia, we would not have been in this situation.
*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
All throughout the tourney our great captain thought, scoring high against the minnows didn't matter, but now its coming back to bite him back on his butt. Had we scored atleast 300 against Holland and Namibia, we would not have been in this situation.
Are you serious? We are not here because we didn't score big against "minnows", we are here because we lost to three better teams, namely Australia, England and India, in our matches with them.
And since only 3 teams should go to the next round, so there you are. Its not a complex science. Ab ye tau koi baat na hui na that you lose to every other credible team, and then move forward to the next round by beating small kids. Win and lose are part of the game, and this time we messed up badly and lost. Kaapish!
InshaAllah!
aap sab kuch bhi keh lo upar se, i know you all still believe in the team… Well, I do too…
I just can’t see wasim and others to say good bye to cricket in such a manner. I still think that we will pull it off. Be it the most unbelieveable come backs in the game of cricket, InshaAllah, we will be through. Hum Pakistanioun ki sincere duayein InshaAllah zaroor poori houngi…
Pakistan Zindabad ![]()
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Are you serious? We are not here because we didn't score big against "minnows", we are here because we lost to three better teams, namely Australia, England and India, in our matches with them.
And since only 3 teams should go to the next round, so there you are. Its not a complex science. Ab ye tau koi baat na hui na that you lose to every other credible team, and then move forward to the next round by beating small kids. Win and lose are part of the game, and this time we messed up badly and lost. Kaapish!
Everyone know we lost 3 important games but still there was no reason to score 250 against the minnows. Look at England, they lost 3 games as well but they kept their net rate up against Hol and Nam, so in the end they can qualify based on their run rate in the event of a tie.
Man why can't cricket be a franchise, I would pay anything to have Dav Whatmore to come coach in Pakistan. He has changed the Sri Lankan team. He came into the team in 95 and the next year they won the WC.
If Dav is not coaching anywhere else, there is no stopping PCB to hire him for Pakistan team either. There is no problem.
And England defeated a highly rated team called Pakistan. Quite comprehensively as we all saw (D/N notwithstanding). And lost 4 points due to forfeiture. So which one is deserves to go on more, England or Pakistan. Even if it had been decided on face-to-face encounter, Pak would still be flying home.
what a pathetic reply…tell me if Pakistan had won the match against india, would you had been siad the same ?
Whatever they do, no matter they win or loos, no matter how, that is my team, those are my man, those are playing under my country’s name and flag, and I will pray for them, no matter if I have to pray for a miracle, call me any thing, but my cuntry’s team is best! ![]()
I don’t want to waste more time. If Pakistan had played well even against ONE good team and won their match against either Aus, Eng or India, they would have been in a far better position now.
And pathetic is the way you guys criticize anyone who doesn’t agree to your single-track views. Go ahead and get into high horses of optimism and think Pakistan get bowl out Zimbabwe for 36 runs. No one is stopping you.
I will continue to pray for Pakistan cricket team to win against Zimbabwe so they go through, but that doesn’t mean I think they are the “BEST” team or that they “DESERVE” to win the cup. They are neither. That our cricket team is not the BEST in the world, doesn’t mean I love Pakistan any less or will support our team any less. Its a competitive sport and they were defeated atleast in three critical matches, compared to other teams. They won’t win the world cup this time. Thats all. End of story.
And if you think posting jhandas is the certificate for patriotism, then here you go… take this…
Sheesh! some people. ![]()
wah wah kia khutba dia hay aapnay wah…
and btw its not a jhanda
its a PARCHAM ![]()
I just want to reflect on the issues brought up earlier, seeing that Faisal has brought up that the team hasn't beat the top teams in the tournament.
Will you guys still rate the Pakistani team as the 3rd best (or to some of you 2nd best) One Day Team in the world after this competition?
The World Cup show's each aspect of how a team flares out in its strength’s, and weaknesses when competiting the biggest tournament for Cricket.
Personally, no I would not rate Pakistan at 3rd place. Their status deserves lower.
Anyways, best of luck to Pakistan tommorow (or tonight). Maybe Afridi is giving everyone some batting practice.
*ping:ahaa:
i am enlightened:smooth:
Pakistan never deserved the 1992 world cup either:jhanda:
the deserving team was either New Zealand or South Africa ![]()
however, pakistan did deserve it in 1987 ![]()
this whole rules and matches thing is giberish i say:o
Originally posted by Faisal: *
ps.. And no. Not any more. I don't think Pakistan **deserve* to win this WC. They just don't. Pains me to say this. But not this team.
And what if they win with enough NRR against Zimbabwe. Then do they deserve to win this world cup?
Well, if you cannot go through the obvious way, use the political way:
During the game, if Zimbabwe is obviously losing, but Pakistan is not very near the required target to qualify, the Pakistani team's PR people should propose to the respectable Zimbabwe team management to let us get to our target. This will:
- Be a favour on us since, since Zimbabwe is already losing.
- Be a nice way to slap England on the face to not coming to play in Zimbabwe.
Ask any Zimbabwaean whom they would like to go to the Super Sixes, if not them, and I am sure they will say "NOT ENGLAND". So, here is a chance for them to make that happen.
Go Politics !!!!
(The Enemy of my Enemy is my Friend)
^-LOL:hehe:
Through out the tournament an excessive amount of mashallah ,inshallah has been used by all of us including the team.Did it work? Something is definitely wrong. Why not become a Hindu brahmin for one game and kick the crap out of Zimb. It is the only way we can realisticly think of winning.
You know what, I agree. Hey Kali Mata, a little help would be useful.
Kash.. if only Nawaz Sharif was here today.
He'd be so proud of our tactics :)
there is no deserve and don't deserve in wc. which every team is lucky and plays better wins. deal with it.
For Pakistan to qualify for the next stage, they will need to ensure that their net run-rate is above England's. For them to achieve this, the following margins of victory will be needed:
If Zimbabwe bat first and score:
100, Pakistan must get the runs in 10.5 overs.
150, Pakistan must get the runs in 12.1 overs.
200, Pakistan must get the runs in 13.2 overs.
250, Pakistan must get the runs in 14.2 overs.
If Pakistan bat first and score
200, they must dismiss Zimbabwe for 13 or less.
250, they must dismiss Zimbabwe for 62 or less.
300, they must dismiss Zimbabwe for 112 or less.
350, they must dismiss Zimbabwe for 161 or less.
England will qualify if Pakistan win but not with the required margin.
Thats it, Pakistans out, its drizzling... Zimbabwe will go through...