Ok, I get it that it's the combined run rate that counts but what happens if we bowl them out in 30 over for 150 runs. Does it not mean that the run-rate against Pakistan would be increased?
*Originally posted by khan_sahib: *
Ok, I get it that it's the combined run rate that counts but what happens if we bowl them out in 30 over for 150 runs. Does it not mean that the run-rate against Pakistan would be increased?
no if we dismiss them umnder 30 overs, the runrate would be counted for 50 overs. say they score 150 in 33 for 10 wksts, pakistan ki NRR Main 50 overs hee add hongay.
we really still have a chance to get to the super 6 but our captain does not seem to thrilled about the idea.
Difficult to recover now: Waqar
JOHANNESBURG, March 2: Pakistan captain Waqar Younis admitted on Sunday his team will find it difficult to recover from the stunning defeat to India.
“It will not be easy to lift the team after losing to India,” Waqar said a day after his side crashed to a six-wicket humilation at Centurion on Saturday.
Pakistan, stranded on eight points from five games, must not only defeat Zimbabwe handsomely at Bulawayo on Tuesday to stay in contention for the Super Six.
When Pakistan won the World Cup in 1992, they made it to the semifinals only after Australia brushed aside the West Indies in their last league match.
“I hate to go through the back door,” the Pakistani captain said. “We are just not playing good cricket and it is frustrating,” said W aqar, who may not be retained as captain after the World Cup. “At the moment I am more concerned about my team, what happens afterwards will be dealt with later.”
India joined defending champions Australia in the Super Six after Sachin Tendulkar smashed a superb 98 off 75 balls to steer his team towards Pakistan’s challenging 273-7.
“India played much better cricket than us and Sachin took the game away from us,” said Waqar, who dismissed Virender Sehwag and Saurav Ganguly off successive deliveries to raise Pakistan’s hopes.
“When we got Tendulkar we thought there was a chance but Rahul Dravid and Yuvraj Singh played very sensibly.”-AFP
I find the comment "I hate to go through the back door," a very strange one from Waqar. The chances of thrashing a very competent team like Zimbabwe by the equivalent of 200 runs are so slim that it could hardly be described as gaining entry through the back door. I'd call it one of the greates miracles of Pakistan cricket history.
If there's even the slightest chance that we can still go through and grab one of those places we have to go for it with everything we've got. As captain Waqar's only responsibility is making sure his players understand that 150%.
If the thought of redemption doesn't lift the team by itself then they deserve the reception that they'll get when they get back home.
*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
The chances of thrashing a very competent team like Zimbabwe by the equivalent of 200 runs are so slim that it could hardly be described as gaining entry through the back door. I'd call it one of the greates miracles of Pakistan cricket history.
yep i agre, it would be a great acheivement. sighs
True, if they really achieve this feat, it would be a herculean effort and a miracle! I wish it happens.
Aap log pata nahi kin khiyalooN mein ho. Khush fehmi ki bhi inteha hoti hai ![]()
Even though I’d have loved to see Pakistan in the super-sixes and then semis and then win the final; here is my prediction. Pakistan will not only NOT get this impossible increase in NRR, but I think they will lose the match straightaway against Zimbabwe. Gall khatam! Khamkhwa ki tension.
100 in 10 balls! bowl them out for 13 or less! Sheesh! Are we talking about Pakistan playing Zimbabwe or Australia playing Barundi!!!???!!! Come on guys! Get real. Get another team to support now.
I am now rooting for Sri Lanka to go through.
(oops, wrong jhanda :D)
Frankly, after being disappointed with this team against Aus, Eng and now India, I think this Pakistan team does not even deserve to go any place other than the preliminary round. They are over-rated, full of themselves and too erratic. Lets try to rebuild the team from fresh after this disastrous WC. Get them a good coach and a Imran-clone for Captain. We have so much talent in Pakistan, that, inshallah, we will come through in a few years from now with a brand-new team.
finally!!! a realistic view!
daydreamers i tell ya Faisal bhai!![]()
well said Faisal :k:
the show is over guys
Faisal's honorary designation for today is "Mr Reality Check"
I think we all support Pakistan, but at the same time have to be realistic and look forward to how as a result of this Pakistan can change its approach to create a better team.
I hope that they do well, and I hope that they pull off this feat, but it seems like teh supporters are more gung ho aboutit than the captain himseld.
The time for being realistic is gone. When we had to chase 250 against Engurland, everybody was insisting that the English would just roll over and die. They also have bowlers you know and they were playing for a win too....
Now, we must believe in miracles. This team thrashed the Zimbos a couple of months ago. I have only respect for the Zimbos but Pakistan has had their number in the past. I think if Zimbo's bat first, then Youhana/Razzaq and Afridi should open the batting because of the insane runrate that is required of us. If we bat first, then go in with the convential openers aka Saeed and Taufeeq and hope that they manage to pile on 300.
Either way, I expect Waqar to completely fumble the team selection once again. He is the worst Pak captain I have seen apart from perhaps Saeed.
Most importantly, there is no point of winning the match and not qualifying for the next stage. Pak MUST go for a spot in the sixes and in the meanwhile if they lose fine but a facile victory is pointless. I know I'm only stating the obvious here but it amazes me how Waqar manages to miss the obvious so many times.
Hope you don't miss this one Wicki...
My sentiments exactly. ![]()
No one's dumb enough to think that Pakistan are likely to pull this one out of the hat, but let me tell you something: I've been worried about Waqar's captaincy since before the SA tour, but there's one thing that I would find absolutely unforgiveable - if he and his team give this up as impossible. In sport when you have even the slightest chance you have to plan a way of achieving that objective. I don't think you should ever give up anything until it's been taken away from you. Scoring 350 and bowling Zim out for 160 might be a tall order but it's NOT impossible. Even if they don't pull it off I want to see them give it a damn good go. And yes if it's the last time I get to see these players I'd like to see them go in a fitting manner.
*Originally posted by sambrialian: *
Most importantly, there is no point of winning the match and not qualifying for the next stage. Pak MUST go for a spot in the sixes and in the meanwhile if they lose fine but a facile victory is pointless. I know I'm only stating the obvious here but it amazes me how Waqar manages to miss the obvious so many times.
My feelings exactly. I'd rather lose going all-out for a place in the sixes than win in a manner that showed we never believed it was possible.
*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
No one's dumb enough to think that Pakistan are likely to pull this one out of the hat, but let me tell you something: I've been worried about Waqar's captaincy since before the SA tour, but there's one thing that I would find absolutely unforgiveable - if he and his team give this up as impossible. In sport when you have even the slightest chance you have to plan a way of achieving that objective. I don't think you should ever give up anything until it's been taken away from you. Scoring 350 and bowling Zim out for 160 might be a tall order but it's NOT impossible. Even if they don't pull it off I want to see them give it a damn good go. And yes if it's the last time I get to see these players I'd like to see them go in a fitting manner.
Ofcourse they are gonna try. I mean even if they win agaisnt zimbabwe they wont be forgiven. So why not risk victory for the target? And i know many players will be thinking to stamp themselves somehow. I m sure they will go for that. Wasim and Waqar will say to each other, 'hey this is the last time we are togeter on a cricket field, lets make that count' :) Ab it pulls off or not, remains to be seen.
If Pak doesn't win good enough to make it to Super Sixes, then I want Pak to lose. This way England will be denied a spot and rightly punished for their stubborness of not visitng Zim.
I have been saying all along that Pakistan should score big against minnows, score of around 250 against Namibia and Holland was not big enough for RUN RATE and showed our weakness. And now we have to wait for a miracle. :(
Fraud, the difference b/w you and Faisal is, he gave up all hopes and you still believe Pakistan can/should do! I like it Fraud!
Faisal bhai atleast in the last match Pakis did tried thier best, it wasn’t like the final against Aus. in 1999 wc!
Anyway being Paki, I would pray and hope to win the title! I think Pakis deserve the world cup! and here is the right jhanda for right country ![]()
Well, you can wait for miracles. There is no problem with that. Just don't get the hopes too up, cz then the disappointment will be even worse. This is just friendly advise cz all 5 pages in this thread are so full of such fantastic suggestions on what can be done to hit 350 or bowl them out in 6.5 overs.... sheesh!
Waisay... did all of u pick another team for the remaining world cup, or are u all just gonna wait till its official? :)
By the way, Fraud is talking about AFTER the world cup has ended for Pakistan, which will be after the match against Zimbabwe. What makes u think he is also living in the la-la land shared by so many here? :)
ps.. And no. Not any more. I don't think Pakistan deserve to win this WC. They just don't. Pains me to say this. But not this team.
As it's Islamic new year tommorow I've got the day off, so I'll be watching Pakistan play, I just hope I watch them try to achieve the virtually impossible.
I remember the days of watching the likes of Mudassar bowling like a demon 'beware the Mudassar touch' and Mosin Khan hitting a double century during their test match tour of the UK in the 80's. I could identify with little else of Pakistani culture as a kid but cricket was enough and still is.
Whatever the outcome the Pakistani team in all it's shapes and forms has delighted and agonised me for years and I wouldn't have it any other way.
Pakistan zindabad.