Pakistan vs Zimbabwe

*Originally posted by Wizard-01: *
Guys Guys Guys!!!

All this crap about us battign first??? No way!!!

We should bowl first and restrict these zimbabwe nutters,

Our batters should just fire away without a concern for the wickets. we have only failed in chasing because we were two minded about keeping our wickets and scoring fast, In this instance we only have the one option and that is to score fast so basically the pressure is not there!

just go all out!

I dont think So

What about if Andy Flower Or G. Flower Stuck on the Wicket. Cause they will not have any Pressure as batting first.

But if Pakistan Make 300+ runs .. they will have lot of Pressure to chase 161 runs .

That's What i think.

what if our batting order collapse as usual?

PS: i am also in favor of pakistan batting first if they win the toss.. but wizard made a good point too.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

I said before the tournament started that under Waqar's leadership we will win nothing.

It is a team of nincompoops led by a moron. :(

Ehsan Bhai,

I beg to differ. Only one person has to kicked out from the team management. And that person is RICHARD PYBUS!

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *

Ehsan Bhai,

I beg to differ. Only one person has to kicked out from the team management. And that person is RICHARD PYBUS!

Arey PT bhai you have every right ot disagree, but I will stick to my point and the blunders in the game against Aus and england proved my point about Waqar's captaincy.

:stupid:

j/k:D

And your point is?

that i agree with your point :blush: :hula: :hug:

maybe ask Sachin en Hayden to take up pakistani nationality??? :D:D

Ehsan Bhai:

I don't mean Waqar's Captaincy is better. Point, what I'm trying to make is Richard Pybus has never played Cricket in his life. Or has he? If he has never; how come he be a coach of the team? Even before the World Cup began, I have said dunno how many times on KK forum that we need Javed Miandad as a team coach. If he was the coach rightnow, I bet picture of Cricket team would be totally different.

In my opinion, PCB is to be blame. All credit goes to Gen. Tauqir Zia. :)

Pakistan's previous performance at Bulewayo

This match is going to be held at Bulewayo in Zimbabwe. Pakistan scored 344 last time they played their, inspired by Saleem Elahi's Century, and good solid knocks from Yousuf Youhana. Even SHAHID AFRIDI scored 30 for Pakistan, and limited ZIM to 140/6 in 33 overs before the match was called off due to rain, giving Pakistan a 104 run victory. Pakistan need to bowl a bit better and hope for the same batting performance, this time having Saeed Anwar on the top of the order. They can reach the 350 mark and hope to bowl zimbabwe out for 160 or less.

GO PAKISTAN GO

Pakistan will need to play a team for the occasion here. Taufeeq has done well but in this match our only hope is to blast our way to a mammoth score or if batting second knock off the runs in record time. Either way we will need to blaze away with the bat in the first 15 overs when the field is in. We have two options:

Bring in Sami or Saqy for Taufeeq and move Afridi to the openers spot and hope he comes off.

Bring in Elahi who has done well in Zimbabwe and stick with the current line up.

We could also consider replacing Afridi with Saqi/Sami as well, but in a match which will require out-of-the-ordinairy hitting power, I don't see Afridi being dropped. Not that I think he'll come off, I just think in this situation the Pakistan team will be prepared to gamble in the hope he can turn the match.

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *

Ehsan Bhai,

I agree, we need a DESI coach... someone who speaks local pakistani lingos and someone who can really motivate the players (like really humiliate them if they don't perform). Richard is overpaid and overrated!

Javed Mian should come back!!!

I agree we need a desi coach!!!
One who can build relationships with our lads, who can chill with them , who can crack jokes with them, who can curse them when they dont perform.

It might be better to select a team depending on tomorrow's wicket. If it's a batting wicket (like in their last match against India) then they should concentrate on improving the bowling attack with Mohammed Sami and Azhar Mahmood. If it's a bowling wicket then last selection will be good enough.

I think rather than achieving those unrealistic run-rates it might be better for Pakistan to let Zimbabwe play full 50 overs and try to stop their runs as much as possible. If we bowl them out on 200 then their run-rate will be 4.00 and we should try to achieve that 201 runs in 39 overs making our run-rate 5. something which should give us a 1.0+ run-rate advantage. Does anyone agree with me?

Lots of overhauling is needed, I think new boys have less "grouping" than older ones. I think Pakistan needs to bat first, if Afridi is in the team, he should be sent in 5th down. Following should be the order

Saeed
Saleem
Inzimam
Yousuf
Wasim
Shahid
Younis/Razzaq
Rashid
Shoaib
Mohd Sami
Waqar

*Originally posted by khan_sahib: *
I think rather than achieving those unrealistic run-rates it might be better for Pakistan to let Zimbabwe play full 50 overs and try to stop their runs as much as possible. If we bowl them out on 200 then their run-rate will be 4.00 and we should try to achieve that 201 runs in 39 overs making our run-rate 5. something which should give us a 1.0+ run-rate advantage. Does anyone agree with me?

Khan Sahib, if we let Zim score 200, then we are doomed, we'll have to score same number of runs in 16 overs to achieve the NRR (NET run rate).

It might be better to select a team depending on tomorrow's wicket. If it's a batting wicket (like in their last match against India) then they should concentrate on improving the bowling attack with Mohammed Sami and Azhar Mahmood. If it's a bowling wicket then last selection will be good enough.

a team’s net run rate is calculated by deducting from the average runs per over scored by that team throughout the group matches, the average runs per over scored against that team throughout the group matches.
so its not just this match

i have seen this but it is difficult for me to understand how it would be possible.

if zim scores 200 in 50 overs then their run rate is 4.00
and if we score the same in 16 overs then our run-rate will be 12.50

so the NRR will be 12.5 - 4.0 = 8.5

do we really need that or is their any other method of calculating NRR? plz let me know

i have seen this but it is difficult for me to understand how it would be possible.

if zim scores 200 in 50 overs then their run rate is 4.00
and if we score the same in 16 overs then our run-rate will be 12.50

so the NRR will be 12.5 - 4.0 = 8.5

do we really need that or is their any other method of calculating NRR? plz let me know

ur calculations are fine...only thing is that u r assuming this is the only match in the tourney..

only a miracle can save this team now:rolleyes: