Re: Pakistan vs India 2nd Test Match @ Faisalabad Jan21 - Jan 25 2006
^ I would love to see Asif replacing Sami. Asif may not get loads of wickets but at least he will bowl with a different trajectory to Shoaib and Rana and thus go for less runs.
I fear this track too will be a belter. Let us pray we win the toss, else it is hard times.
I think Inzi will go for Gul if they have decided to rest Sami. I'd say either Gul or Asif or Razzaq would be much better than Sami.
From Cricinfo...
Pakistan (likely) 1 Salman Butt, 2 Shoaib Malik, 3 Younis Khan, 4 Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), 5 Mohammad Yousuf, 6 Shahid Afridi, 7 Kamran Akmal (wk), 8 Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, 9 Shoaib Akhtar, 10 Mohammad Asif, 11 Danish Kaneria
So no Sami, its going to be M Asif...(likely)
/ ![]()
Sarey apni apni neendein poori kar lein. Aaj raat ko phir dobara sey mill kar tension packet khoolengey. Kyon jee, sahih hai naa? ![]()
Dhobi mein nay aik dafa “tension packet” word kyaa use kar lya, tu tu is word kay peechay hee par gya hay. Jan choor day bhai is kee:D
Rana and Sami both dropped?
Ranay ko kahay ko drop karwa rha hay bhai.
Hopefully sami will be out.
^ He is right. Latest from Geo, Rana and Sami out for Razzaq and Asif. I am all for the dropping of Sami but poor Rana has been hard done by. He got Sehwag's wicket and certainly deserves as many chances as Sami had got.
This is yet another defensive move from Pak to opt for the batting of Razzaq over Rana. Making such wholesale changes right after a meaningless drawn match, grants a moral victory to India.
That is exactly, and precisely the main reason why I was pushing for Razzaq to be included in the team in the first place for the Lahore test, while replacing Sami. Such a batting paradise, he could have obtained a much-needed batting practice. Instead, we had a totally irrevelant bowler making his mark on a utter-dead surface, after being continuously a regular part of the team of latter part of his career, not to mention Inzamam's 'convenient' comments on "specialists".
The exclusion of Rana would be mentally very tough on the team on this test. He is a great player with an excellent code of conduct and morality. He, of all people, should not have been dropped (if indeed that's the case). This ejection certainly does not justify the inclusion of Razzaq in the team (or Asif for that matter). I would rather have a bowler with the highest amount of professionalism and continuity. Another ridiculous move by the people sitting in high chairs (unchee kursee kay basee).
One thing that i dont understand is that why India played (and are expected to play) with a bowler LESS? With so much said about STRONGEST batting lineup in the WORLD they can afford to include 5 bowlers. I can understand Pakistan playing an extra batsman or allrounder to beef up their weakness so should India to force the result. I am sure they could have got more wickets in Lahore had they played with one more pacer.
If Rana is dropped for Razzaq for real, then all I can say to the Pakistani team management “hell with you guys”. It would be an extremely defensive approach by Pakistan. On these pitches, where even Bob Woolmer would have scored a fifty given a chance, why would you need another bat and cut down your bowling resources? By the way, I do not consider Razzaq a test match bowler anymore. He is only good enough for limited over matches but for the test matches, he lacks the variety, a pre-requisite to become a successful test match bowler. In addition, I have serious doubts over his fitness level too. I mean, what would you think of an international player who fills himself with SAAG (spinach) just because his Peer Sahib ( a saint) told him to do so. Gadha kahieen ka. That is why education is so important. Anyway, I hope Pakistani team management would heed the call and stop making any more stupid decisions. Rana is mashallah fit and more importantly, he is an intelligent bowler. At least he does not eat too much Saag!
Pak drop Sami, Rana for 2nd Test
PTI
[Cricket News, Live Cricket Scores, ICC Cricket World T20 2016 News & Headlines | Times of India
RSS Feeds](Cricket News, Live Cricket Scores, ICC Cricket World T20 2016 News & Headlines | Times of India)
| SMS CRI to 8888 for latest updates
**FAISALABAD, Jan 20: **Pakistan have decided to make two changes in their squad for the second cricket Test against India starting here at the Iqbal Stadium on Saturday.
Team sources said Mohammad Sami and Rana Naved-ul-Hasan will be replaced by Mohammad Asif and Abdul Razzaq.
Asif, a 24-year-old seamer, has played just one Test against Australia at Sydney where he went wicketless conceding 72 runs from 16 overs.
However, Asif has bounced back well from that Australian tour and had a match haul of 10 wickets against England in a three-day game.
Only if I had a match-stick and a gasoline can......
Dropping Rana, unless its for any other reason except fitness is a pretty weak move. He was the bowler who brings the aggression to Pakistan bowling by his sheer body language. Unless Mr. Asif is really good, this is good news for Indian team...
yaar asif is in for sami not for rana.....a sapahiee (solider) razzaq is in for rana
Looks like people are hearing you. Check the headline for the match at www.cricinfo.com it says.
“India consider playing five bowlers”
kabhi khushi ki khabar ghamgeen khabar ke baghair bhee ajaya karay ![]()
Though I hate to drop Rana, but if they really have decided to drop him alongwith Sami then I would like to see Asif and Gul (instead of Razzaq). Gul has played against India and there can’t be any excuse of “experience”.
Yep, I meant that with Rana gone, Razzaq can't bring the aggression that Rana used to bring to Pak team, its like intimidation (Wasim had that), Shoaib despite being fast and furious somehow doesn't intimidate... That leaves Mr. Asif to take that role...
Or Pakistan has no player left who can really intimidate opposition.
Talking about India, they never had one in that role...... :)
Looks like it is going to be an eleventh-hour decision. All hopes are attached to Rana, as usual (at least from my side):
Quoted from CricInfo
Latest from cricinfo..
India is looking at the idea of playing 5 bowler. If this is implemented then there will 1 change in team.. Ganguly out and RP in.
http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakvind/content/story/233844.html
This probably is good idea if this wicket is batting paradise as initial reports say.