Pakistan vs India 2nd Test Match @ Faisalabad *Jan21 - Jan 25 2006*

:rolleyes: No one yet opened this thread so let me do the honor (balli ka bakra):smiley: Last time when I opened the thread for ODI, the outcome was good. So let me take the risk here as well, Hopefully InshaAllah all will be good in time, unlike the first test match thread opener :devil::cb:
Pakistan vs India 2006
2nd Test Match
@ Faisalabad
Jan 21 - 25

Time 10:45pm (CST)
11:45pm (EST)

**I hope that we get the game for all 5 days, and the bad weather for cricket thats lurking upon Faisalabad stays away!

So far I can only give you good news and that is the 10-day forecast of Faisalabad city is good and from 21-25 Jan its mostly sunny, except the first day :halo:

http://www.weather.com/outlook/travel/businesstraveler/tenday/PKXX0002?from=36hr_topnav_business

and here is the Precipitation forecast as well…

http://www.weather.com/outlook/travel/businesstraveler/tenday/PKXX0002?dp=precipdp

Note: Ahem!..The writer does not take any responsibility, of the outcome of the match, the weather conditions at the city the game is to be played :snooty:

Let the fun begin :cb:

Re: Pakistan vs India 2nd Test Match @ Faisalabad Jan21 - Jan 25 2006

If you open the thread than you take responsibility for the result. If Pakistan loses the match you will be banished for 6 months from KK. :D

Ehsan bhai mujhe nani si jaan per itna bara zulum:eek: :crying:

agar essi baat hai to first test match thread opener ko kiya saza mil rahi hai :snooty: bolo bolo tell tell:confused:

No surprises here…

** Pakistan retain same squad for Faisalabad**

Cricinfo staff

January 17, 2006

On the recommendation of the National Selection Committee, Pakistan have named an unchanged 15-man squad for the second Test against India starting at Faisalabad on Saturday.

“We see no logic in making any change because everyone needs a proper chance to prove himself,” Wasim Bari, chief selector, told AFP on Monday. Bari also brushed aside criticism that Mohammad Sami, who conceded 67 runs in 12 unsuccessful overs in India’s first innings, was not performing to expectations. “It is correct Sami has not been doing well of late but he deserves another chance because we have confidence in him.”

The first Test at the Gaddafi Stadium at Lahore is heading towards a draw after India, replying to Pakistan’s 679 for 7, were 403 without loss at stumps on the fourth day.

http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakvind/content/story/233355.html

We can hope the same for the Indian side as well, and remind that ‘special’ someone about the offer we all accepted so gracefully, eh? :smiley:

Well I dont see any reason to change the squad at all, if they were to make any change that would be Umer Gul in and Sami out, but for some reason the selectors, captain and coach have alot of faith in Sami.

I dont even mind giving a chance to Sami I mean what will happen he will go max 6/7 runs / over so what. atleast give youngster a chance M. Asif is a lanky bowler maybe he will get a different kind of bounce or seam movement.

Pehla match toh draw ho gaya iss liye koi saza nahin. Waisay Aejaz is depressed because his team could not break the first wicket record. That is enough punishment for him. :omg:

:( i wanted to make the thread oh well
PAKISTAN ZINDABAD
KICK SOME INDIAN DOOH

^^ :hehe: Dont worry hopefully this time around there will be good news InshaAllah. and dont worry this game will be full of masala and spices, After all this is the most controversial ground of Pakistan. :smiley: remember the test match b/w Pakistan and Englad umpire %^^&&& Hair :o

Ehsan Bhai,

Record tou abhi bhi hamare paas hi hai, only afsoos hai ke Pakistan ke against Naya record nahi Banaya:p

Arcob123 Bhai,

Yeh duniya badi hi be murawat hai, yahan har kisi kou khush rakhna well Not Possible at all.:smiley:

Jeetouge tou Hum aur hamare baki Hindustani Bhaio se Pitoge, Haaroge to Ehsan Bhai and Co se Pitoge.:cb:

Taajub ki baat tou yeh hai, ke bade bade Jalwa Farosh jinhe hum apna khair khwah samajte the, woh sab hi humari lene per tule hue hai.:eek:

Nahi Kholna Maine aainda koi thread.:rolleyes:

Waise India Haari tou aap ki khair nahi:tamatarr:

why is it that sami keeps on getting more and more chances to prove himself in the test arena.

Why not give someone else this many chances, I'm sure they would perform better. The guy is crap!!

I would really like for them to at least either drop Sami, or Malik for a game in Karachi, and take up Imran Farhat. Shoaib Malik looked lost in his innings, and most likely the biggest reason he is included in the team in this series is because of his 'opening-stand partnerships', as Bob pointed out.

On the other hand, a left-hand/right-handed opening combination is far from a bad thought. I just hope for someone other than Malik is given a chance, at least for one test.

is sadee (century) ka bohot bara muamma hai M Sami, shayed akhir mai ajooba ban ke niklay :smiley:

Arey kumbukhton, Inzamam kuptaan hai, maali nahin.---------------------------------

‘I am a captain not a groundsman’ - Inzamam

Osman Samiuddin

January 17, 2006

Over eleven hundred runs scored, only eight wickets taken and over half the number of scheduled overs lost to rain and bad light; only two subjects were ever going to be talked about at Inzamam-ul-Haq’s post-match press conference - the pitch and the weather.

Inzamam denied rumours that Pakistan’s batsmen had asked for a flat pitch. “I always want to have sporting wickets, where fast bowlers, spinners and batsmen all have a chance,” he said. “In today’s Test matches, it’s not just that one team scores 400, another team scores 400 and the match is drawn. ODI cricket and the pace means that batting is so quick, if you get 90 overs in a day then there shouldn’t be draws. The wicket has to be better than this.”

But Inzamam was also quick to point out that the pitch shouldn’t take any credit away from the batsmen, six of whom scored centuries and three of whom did it at more than a run a ball. “On this type of wicket, it is difficult to contain run-making but the credit should go to the batsmen as well because even though it was so flat, they have to bat well and score runs.” But he insisted that batsmen won’t have it this easy in the remaining Tests. “They will have some confidence definitely but I don’t think a wicket like this will be seen again for this series.”

He also pointed out that his bowlers didn’t perform as well as they might have done, although it is unlikely changes will be made. "The wicket wasn’t so flat that over 400 runs are scored for the loss of only one wicket, the bowlers will also have to bowl a little better than this. We will keep the same team for Faisalabad. " Ultimately, however, too many questions - most of them not dissimilar - prompted Inzamam to reveal that “I am a captain not a groundsman.”

As both teams now make the short journey to Faisalabad, Inzamam said his bowlers will take their pre-series confidence with them, despite the hammering they received here, but also hinted that the weather may yet continue to play its part. “The weather was a disturbance obviously and Faisalabad isn’t too far away so there is a chance of disruption there as well. There were so many stoppages here that we weren’t getting any rhythm but I don’t think there will be any effect on the confidence or morale.”

He also had praise for Virender Sehwag, although typically, it was brief and to the point. Pakistan have yet to find a way to mute Sehwag’s boisterousness and he has now made over a thousand Test runs against them, including a triple century and two double centuries in consecutive Tests. “We have tried to find ways of stopping him, but it isn’t working. If a batsman like him gets a wicket like this, then it is difficult to contain him.”

http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakvind/content/story/233442.html

Chalo chalo Karachi chalo…:stuck_out_tongue:

Even if there is regular 5-day play, there will likely be no result in Faisalabad as of its pitch. Akram can prepare the pitch himself to make the game decisive.

It will be great if Inzy reach double figures, Butt can perform, Akhter gets a wicket, Ganguly gets his chance to bat..... Most retired batsmen will pray for their recoprds any way.

It was not just Sami who was hit for 6/7 runs an over. Faisalabad's pitch is usually worse in Pak and it offers nothing to bowlers. Akhter, Sami, Kaneria and Rana, all can be dropped in favor of batsmen who can bowl like Salim Malik. This will strengthen our batting and even the poorest part-time bowler can keep an economy rate of 6-7/o in a Test match.

Indian fan opened thread for 1st test and his team won (but only psychologically)
Pak fan opened thread for 2nd test
Since everything occurs oppositely in Pakistan, the threadopener's opposing team will win. Except it won't be only psychologically.

Nobody can stop you from dreaming .......so keep doing it.

^ MLK had a dream and today we got a holiday for it. Don't knock dreams

Another naive comment but coming from you its no surprise. For your kind information, Faisalabad wicket has usually produced results more often than not. More importantly it has allowed sporting and exciting cricket for both batsmen and bowlers. Now do a cricinfo shabash!

Having said that, weather might still prevent a good sporting pitch this time around. It might prove to be too batting friendly like Lahore one or too bowling friendly.

When was the last time there wqas a result and what was it?

Last match was between Pak–Eng and it ended in a really exciting Draw with England just managing to hold on.

Before that Pakistan lost to sri lanka on another result oriented pitch.

Even before that another extremely captivating match between Pak-SA ended when all three results were possible going into last day and Pak managed to hold on and win the series.

Three consecutive brilliant test matches define a somewhat sporting pitch :slight_smile: