*Originally posted by karina: *
The second was that of Miandad constantly gesturing to his batsmen. He must have distracted them a good deal.
That was in the last two overs only i remember.
The second was that of Miandad constantly gesturing to his batsmen. He must have distracted them a good deal.
Well said Saby, and I was quiet impressed with Younis, as he made a comeback into the team, and Im sure he will only get better with time. And Younis is the type of player who loves to take quick singles and doubles. But the questions remains, for the next game, who will get the boot to fit it a bowler or an all rounder?
*Originally posted by saby: *
No, he was doing it from the 45th over, but it intensified in the last 2 overs. I'm still trying to figure out what he was indicating to the batsman - move closer to the stumps and drive to offside? Wierd. Moin looked confused and unsure.
*Originally posted by yaasir: *
But the questions remains, for the next game, who will get the boot to fit it a bowler or an all rounder?
I am sure Rana will go, though I would like to show Sami the gate at least for a game as well so he knows his seat is not permanent, but not sure about the consequences :(
May be I’m being too harsh on him but Inzi and Youhanna did waste a few overs in the beginning, but thats was in EARLY stages of the game while Younis came LATE when there was no time to test fielders.
*Originally posted by Captain1: *
May be I'm being too harsh on him but Inzi and Youhanna did waste a few overs in the beginning, but thats was in EARLY stages of the game while Younis came LATE when there was no time to test fielders.
yarr at end of the day , a batsman is always checked by his strike rate and i guess overall khan did a wonderful job. i was really upset when i saw his name in there but i admit that he did a great job. as a matter of fact his partnership with inzi was instrumental in terms of positioning pakistan in a favorable postion for last 10 overs with so many wickets in hand and run rate still achievable. it was just bad luck that we lost the match. i am not a good loser and get very very upset if pakistan ever loses but i guess this time i am satisfied with our efforts.
*Originally posted by Captain1: *
May be I'm being too harsh on him but Inzi and Youhanna did waste a few overs in the beginning, but thats was in EARLY stages of the game while Younis came LATE when there was no time to test fielders.
I think phoenixdesi said it all, i would just like to add one point here. You admit that maybe you are being too harsh on him there, lets move on from here and judging by your logic again that EARLY stages of teh game gave luxury to youhana and inzi to waste overs and not so to younis. That means younis did even a more wonderful job that he still maintained a good rate even when he got little time to work around.
Its okay that you have issues with him but just give credit when its due. And unfair criticism wont be justified.
And if people get an idea by this post that i m criticizing youhana or Inzi, to make it clear i SO am not. That was just to extend Captain's logic.
No, he was doing it from the 45th over, but it intensified in the last 2 overs. I'm still trying to figure out what he was indicating to the batsman - move closer to the stumps and drive to offside? Wierd. Moin looked confused and unsure.
I agree that Miandad wasgetting over invovled but Moin was still unsure because he was not able to middle the ball.
waisay just to clear your confusion, he was asking batsmen to move away from the stumps (not closer) and drive away on the offside.
ganguly is a bad sportsman, i'm not surprised by this. who can forget the world cup final when the ball one hopped to him off the pads and he threw the ball up in jubilation. unbecoming of a captain. compare to the aussies where a player walked even though the empire didn't give out b/c he knew he nicked it.
*Originally posted by sambrialian: *
that is very very poor sportsmanship from Ganguly. If the rules have changed and he is not in know, that is his fault not anyone else's. If the rule is absurd, why hasn't anyone else complained about it? What is absurd though is the fifteen minute yoga session he held on the pitch after getting out.
He as captain and representative of Team India really should try to understand the circumstances the series is being held in and try to carry on in the same spirit.
Moin is indeed a street fighter. He didn't give up so easily. He adjusted himself right away without wasting any balls.
IF we are looking for another high scoring game which I think will be the case then Younis khan will be better off in test matches. He played well but you can see clearly that he coudn't work out with the gaps even when he was hitting fours on loose balls.His place can be utitzed by AFridi. We do need a sixth bowler!! Younis khan made a good comeback no doubt but he can be our backup!On these type of pitches you need a good striker of the ball and Younis khan isn't. There is no doubt about that.
I was in shock when Inzi was hitting fours LITERALLY without any effort. You think he was just settling for singles but then you see the ball hitting the ropes. He hit the shots with so much precision that didn't require a whole lot of enery.Even when he was caught behind it was also because he wanted to beat the keeper by cutting the ball! He is one classy batsmen. I can't believe there were posters here demanding to kick him out of the team.
i’m so ****** & ****** @ rana, sahab ji started his over with god knows how many no balls, conceded 73 crucial runs in his 10 overs
he needs a wake up call!!!
sami pcb’s gr8test chamcha who has guaranted himself a spot in the paki lineup, check his figures over the past season, he hasn’t been above par at all, never been taking wickets consequetively and today gave away 74 runs, shabash sami this bowling performance deserves him a few extra highlights in his hair ![]()
i can’t believe they way we started our bowling it was so dipressing and at the same time schll boy type error filled bowling performance, india were at one stage i believe 147+ runs on board after just 18+ overs that is simply pathetic, at club level players perform like this and that 2 occassionally but pak being a national side outplayed even the domestic level cricketers!!!
now this brings me to abdul razzaq, just about every paki cricket follower on gs members fav’ RAZZLER wat in god’s name was he playing @!!!
lazy so and so gave away 83 runs
in his 9 overs, can he explain this!!! if he wasn’t performing with the bat, i’d look for a another all rounder who can actually fit into the all rounder category and respect it, razzaq doesn’t deserve the all rounder tag given the way his bowling has deteriorated over the past few months!!!
shoaibi didn’t ball well in his 1st spell, he gave away 2 many wides + no balls, we gave away 38 extras all together which is simply errors not good enough at this stage
having said that, i feel for shoaibi as so much expectations were over his shoulders and he succumbed to pressure and that 2 not for the 1st time but he finsihed his spell well!!!
pak batted superbly not a ounce of doubt there batted out of their skins, yasir hammed was bowled superbly by laxmipathy {excuse the spelling} the ball dipped upon hitting the turf, squared up hameed, faz’ looked good with his wristy strokes but he was also undone by a gentle zaheera delivery.
i must admit inzi’ and yousi’ batted with termendous character, they dictated the play to the indians by smashing them to all four corners of the ground, i was happy to see youhana get amongst the runs once again, especially his 3 sixes of tendi i think which were awesome
brov’ u rule…
but inzi’ stood out amongst all batsmen for me today, whether ppl feel that me being a paki’ has influenced this decison then so let it be, but inzi’ played some breath-taking shots, exquisite timing, the flick of the wrists on 2 occassions bringing back the memories of the gr8 saeed anwar.
when inzi and younis khan were together after yousi’s departure i still sensed a successfull run chase but we faltered in the end, which was depressing really, we had made such a termendous effort to come so close yet lose at the final hurdle.
hats off to the wall aka dravid for delivering another sound knock, sehwag was wayward today, apart from 4 of his shots he had no idea where the rest would land or go!!! he should’ve been bowled well before his 79… mo’ kaif batted well when he came in and zaheera came back well after being criticized for his bowling against pak A side, hashish i mean ashish bowled his final over very well full onto the stumps just the way the final deliveries should be bowled, conceding just runs and a wicket..
javed minadad was signalling to moin to move across his stumps and smash the final bowl over the leg side which he should’ve done just as miandad did in sharjah off the last ball once and we won, moin should’ve did that as hashish bowled his final bowl a full toss on moin’s heels, but it wasn’t to be
this was one of the finest odi matches to date i have watched, i loved the second half of our innings more for obvious reasons but congrats’ to india for sticking to the basics of line and length and not sheer pace which was wat shoaibi and sami concentrated on, a good victory for india :k:
i hope taufeeq umar is brought back for pak in odi’s man he is in f9 touch, also inshallah shabbir ahmed will be fit for the 2nd odi well he better be cos’ if that rana plays again, we can kiss good bye to a series leveller at 1-1 it’ll be 2-0 before we know it.
i still believe a better all rounder is needed razzaq needs to seriously consider working on his bowling, wat is he playing at bowling so badly, to date he hasn’t had such a barren spell with the ball…
also shoaib malik’s spin isn’t working at all, we need a better wicket taking spinner in the match who can provide just support to our attacking bowlers, saqi although isn’t in pcb’s good books but he can do the job better than malik.
good luck to pak in pindi.. ![]()
They must had sent Shob Akhtar instead of Rana…and Rana must had taken single to give chance to Moin Khan…thats the bottom line…
I am very proud on Pakistani Fighters… just a click away was luck but who know it may be better for Pakistan and Muslims…no doubt we can’t see what Allah’s will…
compared to WC99 Final… this match is a pride for all Pakistanis ![]()
Yonis did an excellent job as well supported like a back bone wih Inzi …
Inzi played a Captains inning …
Razzaq did his full lnght efforsts…
Openers were ok too…
Moin was bit unlucky to face last over…
any way I am really proud on my tigers ![]()
** I hope Pakistani Team must see this thread how much we do love them
Younis Khan
All i know is after Inzimam it was Younis Khan with the gutsiest performance. I can't believe some you guys are knocking Younis Khan for his batting. You guys are forgetting that Inzimam isn't the best partner to run with. If Inzi wasn't in their then a lot of those 1's would have been 2's. 46runs is not to shabby in that situation when their are 6-7 fielders on or near the boundary and you are trying to save your wickets. 5 boundaries in 48balls, 10% rate is nothing to be getting bashed over about.
Rana Naveed ul Hasan
Why was he allowed even in the stadium. That guy is crap. Can't bowl, has no batting ability in crunch time, at least rotate the strike.
Shoaib Malik
His bowling was solid. But he hasn't had a solid outing with the cricket bat for a while now. He was in the perfect situation to win the match but he shouldn't have played that shot eventhough Mohammad Kaif made an "off the heezi" catch.
Mohammad Sami
What is wrong with him? 74runs with this guys ability and pace is nuts.
Do we bring in Umar Gul?
Imran Fahat
Eventhough he didn't play that badly, i don't think he is a better option then Shahid Afridi, Imran Nazir or Taufeeq Umar. My biggest problem with Imran Farhat is that he can't perform half way decent on international pitches so he has very little future with the international team. I would like to see Imran Nazir and Shahid afridi on team again like they were before with Javed Miandad as their coach.
*Originally posted by lunaticCalm: *
A few things to be done before the next match:
Rana should be bit*h slapped and deported from Pakistan.
His domestic team should be dissolved
His sifarish should be shot dead
Sami and Shoib should be told that its a cricket match, not a speed contest.
Sami should do something about his hair. I suggest sending him to the nearest nai.
--> Rana was bit expensive, what can you expect from him?
He is a newbie and it wasn't like we were playing Bangladesh.
-->Sami hair cut? he does need a hair cut.....
My team of next ODI........
01 Yasir Hameed
02 Shahid Afridi
03 Yousuf Youhana
04 Inzamam-ul-Haq
05 Younis Khan
06 Abdul Razzaq
07 Shoaib Malik
08 Moin Khan WK
09 Shoaib Akhtar
10 Mohammad Sami
11 Shabbir Ahmed /Iftikhar Anjum
Earthquake,
Good point about Iftikhar Anjum. He might be a better option then
Wow, un-f ing beleivable guys. Where to start,,,,
Our bowling was horrible, except for the two Shaoibs, no one else was worth being on the field. Sami continues to dissapoint me. I don't know what direction his career is headed in, he really has to turn things around.
I have never liked Younis Khan, but he was good in this match, you can't take that away from him. We needed him as a speacialist batsman in this game. Abdul Razzaq looks finished as a bowler, it may be time to play him as a batsman only.
I would like to see either Saqi or Shabbir play the next match.
Finally, Inzamam,, what can you say. Even cricinfo (as overtly Indian biases as it is) agknowledged his batting yesterday as one of the best one day innings every played, amazing.
Best of luck to Rawalpindi Express and Pakistani team in Pindi:jhanda:
i think inzi shud've sent in shoaib to bat instead of naved
*Originally posted by Atlanta: *
how is the pitch in pindi. is it a batting track.
Batting.
Lets open a thread for the 2nd ODI. the disucssion is now all about the next ODI.