Pakistan Vs India-1st ODI

India one-day squad

Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, VVS Laxman, Sourav Ganguly (capt), Rahul Dravid (vice-capt), Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Hemang Badani, Parthiv Patel (wk), Ramesh Powar, Irfan Pathan, Murali Kartik, L Balaji, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra

Pakistan one-day squad

Squad Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Imran Farhat, Yasir Hameed, Yousuf Youhana, Shahid Afridi, Misbah-ul-Haq, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Malik, Moin Khan (wk), Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Younis Khan, Shabbir Ahmed, Iftikhar Anjum, Naveed-ul-Hasan, Saqlain Mushtaq

inshallah pakistan will win :jhanda:

I say this thread will go to over 25 pages. What say you? :-)

By the way, the match is in Karachi, and is on March 13, 2004 (Saturday) starting at

9:30 am Pakistan time
4:30 am GMT
8:30 pm (Friday) Pacific Time
11:30 pm (Friday) Eastern Time

The rest you can figure out.

Over 50 pages

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Over 50 pages

lets keep the discusion about pages to 5-10 pages. We may need some help from Cafe and General people.

For the next month or so, KK is gonna rock… we don’t need no body for help :snooty:

*Originally posted by Madhanee: *
The other way to make it 50 pages is to have Faisal post his summarized version of the philosophy of why cricket is such a boring game. What is so athletic or competitive about men standing still for 5 days and eating cucumber sandwiches and drinking orange squash in tea-time?

Madhanee my pakistani looking Indian friend we need you here quite often.

See even Madhanee is posting in KK now. Allah Khair karey. :)

I bet on >15 pages for first ODI.

Odds= 3/11 in favour.

My bet= $200

P.S: My easypal account number # 123456. I don't accept personal checks :p

nancyy… i was like few click away from opening a thread for the first oDI and you :smash:

anwayys i wish Pakistani and Indian team all the best… hope they dont disappoint their fans.. :k:

special prayers for Afridiiii :love:

i feel soo bad if we buy the series which is 90% confirmed that we will… then i wont be able to post during the matches :crying: thats a big bummer… i m gonna miss the whole funnn :teary1: .. well i knwo i will be watchin the match live insahllah .. but for me to enjoy the series with all of you is more valuable :slight_smile:

faisal bhia.. i think it will go to more than 10.. since it will be the first match na…

I think India will play this team..

Sachin Tendulkar,
Virender Sehwag,
VVS Laxman,
Sourav Ganguly (capt),
Rahul Dravid (vice-capt),
Yuvraj Singh,
Hemang Badani,
Irfan Pathan,
Murali Kartik,
L Balaji,
Zaheer Khan

I hope they dont picl Nehra.
I dont like his face. he looks like a pickpocketer standing on side of Churchgate station in Bombay. :D

oppppppsss sorrry :hug:

i think this thread will go over 100 pages :halo: j/k

lol :hehe:

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *
I think India will play this team..

Sachin Tendulkar,
Virender Sehwag,
VVS Laxman,
Sourav Ganguly (capt),
Rahul Dravid (vice-capt),
Yuvraj Singh,
Hemang Badani,
Irfan Pathan,
Murali Kartik,
L Balaji,
Zaheer Khan

I hope they dont picl Nehra.
I dont like his face. he looks like a pickpocketer standing on side of Churchgate station in Bombay. :D

I would prefer Kaif in place of Badani and would have Gangs at #3. Something tells me that Gangs is gonna top batting charts in this ODI series.

jeetey bhai jeetey gaaaaaa

pakistan jeetey gaaaaaaaa

Lets see if this post of mine will make it go to 2 pages or not...oops no :(

Sweet mother of god.. I can hardly wait. The excitment is too much.

This in a way means more than world cup series to me.

[thumb=E]ASCII_inzemam19689_2185473.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=E]ASCII_yousuf19689_2185473.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=E]ASCII_razzaq19689_2185473.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=E]ASCII_sami19689_2185473.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=E]ASCII_saqlain19689_2185473.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=E]ASCII_yasir19689_2185473.JPG[/thumb]

more to come....just doing things to pass time till 11:00 pm, Friday :)

------------X------------
UuffF yeh larkian,her khel may ekk “mahi munda” to hona zarori
hey bhaiii, :rolleyes:
abb yeh zara batain meray ko key " harama" kia hota haii, :konfused:
Aray bibi , eik science-daan nay kaha hai key " Tension danay ka hai lanay ka nahain " :smiley:

Ehsan bhai , who_me in abhi ctc nahee kia , pls help..
Any one knows any thing about live cricket showing in Toronto :crying:

Are India better? We'll settle that on the field

Inzamam-ul-Haq
March 11

Lot of people are asking me which team will start as the favourites in the forthcoming series — India or Pakistan? India have been playing some wonderful cricket, as we saw in Australia, and while Pakistan did not do too well in South Africa, we have gradually rebuilt our side and are once again looking on top of our game.

In my opinion, neither side will start as favourites. In Indo-Pak cricket, pre-match form counts for little. It is your actual performance on the day that matters. Now you may say 'Isn't it true about all matches these days, especially between two well-matched sides?' Well, the answer is 'No'.

What makes an Indo-Pak series so special is the pressure factor. There will be choking pressure from all fronts and it is under this extreme pressure that both teams have to perform. Ask some players who have played the game before us and they will tell you how unnerving it can be.

They will also tell you how special it is to play in such a series.

Many do fail, but those who make a mark, often stand out and emerge as heroes on either side of the border.

We are playing at home, so there's bound to be pressure from our fans as expectations will be sky-high. But, in my opinion, India will be under greater pressure because they have to live up to the tag that they are the better team — on form as well as ratings.

On current form, they are expected to beat us, but we would like to settle that debate on the pitch.

My young team has a lot of regard for the Indian side. They have a settled team with a formidable batting line-up. Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul
Dravid and VVS Laxman, Wow! What a line-up! They are all good friends and it is worth going miles to watch any of them in full cry.

My team is different. We don't have any superstars. At least not as yet, but I am certain that before this series ends a few youngsters in my side would have not only made a name for themselves, but broken a few reputations as well.

A lot of people are also saying that the Indo-Pak series will be all about India's batting versus Pakistan's pace attack.

I can only shake my head in disagreement when I hear such statements. Those are our respective team's strengths. While I expect the two sides to play to their strengths, I am not sure whether matches will be won or lost solely because of performance or non-performance by the key players in these departments.

In my opinion, two factors will decide the fate of the series. One is fielding and the other is the will to fight. The team that fields better and fights harder will carry the day.

I can promise you one thing, my young team will not give an inch without putting up a fight because they know their captain can accept a failure, but not someone who is not contributing 100 percent.

The 13th of March, 2004 will be a big day for both nations.

Pakistan fans have waited for 14 years for this day and I am sure Indian cricket fans will be equally excited about the resumption of cricketing ties between the two nations.

When the sun rises in Karachi on that day, it will spread the warmth of friendship along with brightness. Let's hope it will bring peace and happiness for people on both sides of the border. (Café Cricket)

(The Pakistan captain will be writing exclusively for HT during the series)

Will there be TV coverage on DISHNET ? PPV? Anything? FREE TO AIR sattelite? How can us Torontonians get a glimps of the game?