Re: Pakistan v/s India 1st Test @ Lahore 13 - 17 jan 06
wow, i would be very surprised if pak doesn't win.
however, i am going to disagree that this is some incredible feat by Pak batting.
yes, the pitch is obviously conducive to batting, but Pakistani batting is in no way good enough to have 4 centuries in one declared innings with such a massive run total against a half-way decent bowling attack.
the Indian bowling attack is beyond pathetic, partly due to bad selection, but also because there aren't any good bowlers right now to even consider. I wasn't all that confident during India's last tour of Pak with that bowling line-up, but this time it is far worse.
logically, Pakistan should make all pitches just like this one to fully exploit this disgusting Indian bowling attack.
Yes this is a dead pitch but you guys are failing to realize or remember here that pitches were always the same when we were absolutely pathetic at home (India, England, Sri lanka all have beaten us in recent memory). We were struggling to string consistent batting performances even on similar 'placid' 'unsporting' tracks. Which is why back to back 600+ scores is a refreshing sign and a good omen. So see this performance in bigger picture and acknowledge it.
I would personally prefer a bit sporting pitches but if our team is confident of pulling off a result here on a dead pitch then I fully back them. Why not? We are home team and we need to back our instincts rather than prepare a pitch that starts turning from day one and play it into India's hands who exploit these turning pitches better than us. 'Green tops' are only green in Pakistan for first two sessions of first day, then its same old story. Only Peshawar and to some extent Faisalabad pitch is conducive for a green bouncy top.
^ well it would have gone either way. If India won the toss.
I would like to know how many test in lahore had a result and how many of them favoured the team batting first. That would be something interesting to look at.
Sorry but I just dont see India scoring 679 runs in five sessions (with due respect to their might line up). Call me biased or whatever but 350 odd runs in two sessions was helluva performance (dont blame the pitch here) and apart from Sehwag and to some extent Yuvraj I dont see any other batsmen scoring THAT quickly (score they all can)
Sorry i didnt mean to say that Pakistani batsmen didnt do anything and that the pitch gave them the runs.
What I actually meant to say was that "it could have gone the other way". They could have batted for two and a half days and could have got what pakistan got now.
The most likely conclusion is pretty obvious "Draw" unless Indian batting collaspe, which I dont think so will happen and I know India will bat for 3 days.
Well.... I dont think so. By batting fast Pakistanis have insured that there are plenty of time left in this match. Even if India scored 480. This will leave Pakistan with a lead of 200 and 5 session left. Which means they can smash Indian bowlers all over the park and score another 150 run in one session and give India a target of 350 in one day. Anything can happen on last day. Banglore will be repeated. If India want to salvage draw they will have to score close to 600 or atleast bat next 2 days.
What is wrong with everyone here. I believe every one here in this thread either belong to Pakistan or India. The way every one is reacting, it looks like Pakistan has been preparing fast tracks since the begining of time and now for a change they have made this so called flat track.
Guyys, it is a typical subcontinent wicket. The last time I remember Pakistan making fast tracks was back in 1993-94 against Zimbabwe. Pakistan won he test series 2-0 but in the last 2 test matches, Zimbabwe gave us a tough fight mainly because their bowlers were getting enough help from the pitch. http://usa.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/1993-94/ZIM_IN_PAK/
I don’t even remember Indian’s making fast tracks. May be an indian guppy can help me out here.
Whoever is complaining about these flat tracks, please kindly answer this question. How come Pakistan beat England almost by 3-0 in the recently concluded test series in these flat tracks.
**Nikhil bhai, **when you said that Pakistan batting is not good enough to score 600 runs+ runs, basically you meant that it was mainly because of the flat track which assited us in making such a huge score. I would like you to click on this link http://usa.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/2005-06/ENG_IN_PAK/SCORECARDS/ENG_PAK_T3_29NOV-03DEC2005.html
You will find a similar socrecard with Pakistan scoring 600+ runs at the very same ground. The only thing noticalbe is that Pakistan managed to bowl England out under 300 runs in both innings and won the match on this flat track.
the pitch was obviously a factor, but i was referring primarily to the extremely pathetic Indian bowling attack that is in the current 11 (or in the entire selection pool for that matter)…if you re-read my post, i said that Pakistan’s batting is not good enough to put up such stats against a decent bowling attack, and this current Indian attack is nowhere near decent. but of course, a flat track is a must…the link you posted is for the same ground/pitch.
Hum bay-chainee sey intezaar karengey aapka. Boriya-bistar lay kar aayey gaa, ho sakta hai zaroorat par jaye. :p
I am still down with the Flu, lekin Alhamdolillah its much better than what it was yesterday, abhi tak begum sahiba mani nahi hai, abhi chori chupe post ker raha hou.
Lekin Inshallah once she goes to sleep, I will try to sneak up here..