Re: Pakistan v/s India 1st Test @ Lahore 13 - 17 jan 06
bahut maraa bhai
First series with Javed and Jaheer hitting yaad aa gayeee…
bahut maraa bhai
First series with Javed and Jaheer hitting yaad aa gayeee…
Dude, was I even talking to you? And you wish I was older than you.. you old fog.
Nope I certainly didn’t asked for Perth, but I certainly expected for a good’ol pitch which plays both ways..but u know after inzi came out with the idea of green turf, the whole thing sounded so stupid, because everyone knew pakistani batsmen wanted a flat pitch for the game, a fact which is mentioned by ramiz raja again and again…till now it’s only playing one way, which is batsmen’s way…not taking anything away from pakistan batsmen..they performed really good under the conditions given to them..
chalo…hopefully with a new day tomorrow, we would have a new glimmer of hope..
I never thought you were pointing towards a youngster like me. Just for you. ![]()
Pakistan took advantage of the situation very well and are on their way towards amassing a big total. We will need 550/600 against this Indian batting line up. One factor which goes in our favour is our bowling attack which is better than India's. Hopefully they will perform to their potential. India's fastest bowler, Pathan bowled slower than what Naveed bowls for Pakistan.
India is partly responsible for what happened today. You cannot go into a test against a team like Pakistan on such a pitch with just two spinners and one and half seamer's.
Looking at team India's lineup it looks like all the contract A players have been accomodated at the expense of the 'right' composition. I mean why was Agarkar preferred over Zaheer and why Ganguly over Wasim Jaffer?
And why is it that every time Pak bats well on day 1, everybody here starts predicting a draw? If Aus were 326-2 on day 1 no matter what the pitch looked like, we would be talking of an innings defeat for the other team. Have some confidence in your boys, my dear Pakistani fans. I think if we continue to play like day 1, and that's a big if, and score around 575 by tea on day 2 and put India in, we can get a commanding position in this match. Cricket is not only about how flat or tricky the pitch is. It is a lot about mental strength and I think Pakistan has made the first dent into India's psychy.
chalo...hopefully with a new day tomorrow, we would have a new glimmer of hope..
you guys are acting like your not used to playing in these pitches. **EVERY **indian pitch is a dust bowl. In a way we are doing you a favor.
Great job by Pakistan. I guess it is little unfair to Pakistani batsmen by giving all credit to the pitch. Pakistani players applied themselves really well and it is a good sign. Having said that, it is also clear that in Pakistan and India, the toss does play an important role. The pitches in general are flat and the best way to get a psychological edge over your opponent is by winning toss, batting first and scoring big. Probably that is the only way to get a result on dead pitches. For instance, in 2004, India batted first in Multan and scored close to 600 and Pakistan lost the match. There was absolutely nothing in that dead pitch but Pakistani could not handle the pressure. Last year, when we won in Bangalore, it was the same story. I mean there are exceptions to this rule (Indian’s win in Pidni test match in 2004) but for now, this trend seems to be prevalent.
However, I have a word of caution too. When we went to India last year, if you guys remember, both in the second test match and the third test match, we were in excellent position. I guess, in the second test match, both Younis and Yoyo scored centuries and Pak was 286 for 2 at end of the day but the very next day, we got complacent, batted miserably, lost the advantage and ended up losing the test match. In the third test match, again, we were 300 for 2 but the next day, inzi got out without adding a single score to his overnight’s score and rest of the Pakistani team also struggled except Younis Khan. If Younis Khan had not played that mammoth innings in Bangalore, we would have suffered in the third test match too. Therefore, Inshallah, I hope Pakistani team would not take it easy and continue butchering Indians tomorrow. KILL THEM. GO PAK GO.
Pak batsmen played really well. (It would be bearable for me if not for my younger brother’s :nahnah: incessant and merciless taunts about it. He supports the Pakistan team.) But I still think similar knocks by Ind players will be crucial to match outcome.
Don’t wanna sound like a doomsayer, but is Sehwag (or Virru as Dean Jones calls him
) in the best of form? His last score for domestic Ranji Trophy match against Karnataka (Jan 3-6) went like this:
Delhi 1st Innings R B 4s 6s
V Sehwag (C) b Sunil Joshi 56 100 8 0
2nd innings
b Balachandra Akhil 18 26 3 0
Oh well. We can hope for the best. Whatever the case, Team Ind has a formidable task ahead of them.
Funguy Bhai,
Awwal tou I have been up all freaking night (so dont fcuk with me)
Thani Aap ki team Australian nahi hai (ask Shoaib Akhter)
Thalit Ziyada se ziyada Draw ke khwab dekho (Billi ke khwab mein chcihde)
Rabia Cricket is not about Pitches (Ask Afridi and his twist)
Khamis Mental strength (my Foot, or Maddy's depends on your preference)
Sitta Agarkar over Zaheer (Dravid ki Marzi)
Sabah Ganguly over Jaffer (Chappel ki Marzi)
Thamania Sara nasha utar diya be gairat Indian Bowlers ne
Tissa If Indian Batsmen dont freaking Click (I will take sanyas from Cricket)
Ashra Why am I even talking to you ( I dont normally converse with JKG'S)
Ahda Asher Mai soone jaa raha hou (15 minutes tak reply maat kerna)
Aejaz
And why is it that every time Pak bats well on day 1, everybody here starts predicting a draw? If Aus were 326-2 on day 1 no matter what the pitch looked like, we would be talking of an innings defeat for the other team. Have some confidence in your boys, my dear Pakistani fans. I think if we continue to play like day 1, and that's a big if, and score around 575 by tea on day 2 and put India in, we can get a commanding position in this match. Cricket is not only about how flat or tricky the pitch is. It is a lot about mental strength and I think Pakistan has made the first dent into India's psychy.
ye kuch bhi kaho pakistan zindaaabaaad
pakistan meri jaaaan........younis khan u r greaaat
pakistan zindabaaad pakistan zindaabaaad…
:bhangra:
Aejaz bhai, lagta hay aapki neend poori nahee huee. ![]()
What happened to Gavaskar’s recommendation to go in with THREE openers? The Indians instead went in with ONE opener ![]()
Who will open with Sehwag? If it’s Ganguly then I must say Dravid has a weird sense of humor.
India are a bowler short, they should have opted for one out of Zaheer/Balaji/Nehra. I blame the captain for this. In fact, I think Dravid's captaincy has been very mediocre based on the first day. He has four more to redeem himself.
man it is fun to read all the posts in this thread - becharay Aejaz bhai - I hope you have Friday off from work!
Rukhsarbibi Baaji,
Alhamdolillah I am my own boss, and work as and when I want to! unlike the Mod of some other forums, who like I mentioned in my last posts point Ashra, prefers certain jobs as a duty, where as I count them as my hobby.![]()
See There is a difference between duty and hobby:cb:
^ Rukhsar, mut tung karo dil jaloon koh … ![]()
Aejaz, Dil jalta hai toh jalnay dey, Ansoo na baha, faryad na kar. ![]()
^ I feel Aejaz bhai in similar situation as Rahul Dravid. Even the Indian guppys are not sticking with Aejaz bhai. :)
to be honest i think we should have opted to have fast pitches which was iitial plan i mean its wastage that akhter an rana will be bowling and no depth in the wicket as we saw for irfan pathan i watched the match at the gaddafi stadium it was awesome watching from vip lounge great experience but later when i came home i read imran khan's interiew at ten sports where he said that pitch should been a fast one for bowlers i dont want to leave pa coing to usa on 21 jan but happy to watch the match b/w pak and india qurbani was great guys love to be in pak
THA THA! Callin on the century by Younis paji...coming to a screen near u! Damn.. 12 pages already?