Pakistan V Bangladesh - Test and ODI series.

The son of Gen. Tauqir Zia … i sense S I F A R A S H :rocket: :rocket: :disgust: :2guns: :2guns: :nono4: :nono4: in the air

is Junaid Zia a bowler or batsmen ??

*Originally posted by hello143: *
is Junaid Zia a bowler or batsmen ??

i think he is a bowler

^^ Yes he is a bowler and a very impressive one. Agar sifarish se aana hota tu 3 saal pehlay aa chuka hota. He has been a great performer on tours abroad and quicker in pace so why shouldnt he be given a go.

The whole reason for the bangladeshi commentator was to present the Bangladeshi side of the view. Why else was he there. Now if Ramiz is irritated by that, then he should quit commentating. it wont be much of a loss to the commentating world. He’s already shown his professionalism by arguing with a collegue on LIVE TV. Whats worse is he passed on a judgement saying “you are the biggest supporter of Bangladesh I’ve seen” Who’s he to say that.

What a hunk of crock. If he’s so irritated by biased opinions, then why won’t he object to our infallible Sikander Bakht and Aamir Sohail who keep on praising Pakistan, indefinitely (with whatever broken English they can speak)

Perhaps he should also object to David Gower, David Lloyd, and Ian Botham of England, Dillip Fernandes of Sri Lanka, Pat Symcox of South Africa, Sidhu of India,Tony Greig who would praise Jaysuriya, no matter what, and too many others to name, for their biased opinions. Rumors are going around South African team is already planning on cancelling Pakistan tour. I say they do cancel it. Serves these non-competent, no good, bad hosts right.

http://www.dawn.com/2003/09/07/spt5.htm

Heres the ODI squad:

Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Imran Nazir, Mohammad Hafeez, Yousuf Youhana, Yasir Hameed, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal (wk), Junaid Zia, Umar Gul, Shabbir Ahmed.

That's it? 11 players for ODI series? Selection committe & Aamir Sohail has gone nuts! Why is Younis Khan missing? Where are Misbah-ul-Haq and Saeed Bin Nasir? Where the heck Azhar Mehmood is?

Aamir Sohail deserved to be kicked out!

^^ thats what i wondered but then i thought that maybe this squad is for first onedayer only and final eleven has been announced in advance for the first time.

Now what could be more annoying??

BD almost beating Pak??
Desi not using Deodorant?
Watching O Riely factor @ fox news channel??

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
....Where the heck Azhar Mehmood is?

Aamir Sohail deserved to be kicked out!

why do you want to see Azhar Mehmood?

I also want to see Azhar Mehmood and Saeed Bin Naisr( atleast give him a chance to prove himself) back in the team.

I think the rest is fine for now.

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *

Arey bhai bahut baRa pathar rakh kar ye baat kahi hai :). Yes I was rooting for Bangladesh and in the coming months root for SA when pak plays them. But I would congratulate Pak team if they perform well.

blah blah, we all know how pissed you get everytime Pakistan wins. The most memorable was when you vented your anger at shoaib after pakistan won the pak vs aus series last year. And oh yes, the recent hockey victory of pakistan was another example, you got the thread locked with your usual anti-pak talk.

After watching the tape of Latif's catch I must say, it was Rashid's fault and it served right from him to be banned.
I always thought Rashid as of a honest specially his stand against match fixing.
Maybe it wasn't completely his fault, he thought the ball popped out of his hand after he had complete control.

Junaid Zia's Stats dont look too good at the moment, but I guess he is still only 19 years old and may improve on in the future. But I still think we should have selected some other all-rounder in place of Junaid.

Junaid Zia
Born: 11 December 1983, Lahore, Punjab
Major Teams: Rawalpindi Cricket Association.
Known As: Junaid Zia
Bowling Style: Right Arm Medium Fast

Career Statistics:

FIRST-CLASS
(2002/03 - 2002/03)

M    I  NO  Runs   HS     Ave 100  50   Ct  St

Batting & Fielding 6 10 3 216 46 30.85 0 0 2 0
O M R W Ave BBI 5 10 SR Econ
Bowling 123.4 25 426 16 26.62 5-78 1 0 46.3 3.44

LIST A LIMITED OVERS
(2000/01 - 2002/03)

M    I  NO  Runs   HS     Ave 100  50   Ct  St

Batting & Fielding 23 17 1 228 50 14.25 0 1 6 0
O M R W Ave BBI 4w 5w SR Econ
Bowling 156.3 8 816 17 48.00 2-26 0 0 55.2 5.21

Does anyone that Salman Butt avgs 15 in first class cricket.
How is that these guys are picked only because of one or 2 good showings.
There is something called consistencly.

*Originally posted by hello143: *
Heres the ODI squad:

Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Imran Nazir, Mohammad Hafeez, Yousuf Youhana, Yasir Hameed, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal (wk), Junaid Zia, Umar Gul, Shabbir Ahmed.

My lineup would be

Imran Nazir
Hafeez
Yasir
Inzi
YOYO
Shoaib Malik
Abdul Razzaq
Kamran Akmal
Junaid Zia (dunno whether he is batsmen or bowler)
Umar Gul
Shabbir Ahmed

Amair Sohail should be kicked out of PCB; PCB is becoming a big joke.
I don’t understand why PCB keeps changing the team? Shouldn't PCB helping and reshaping domestic cricket, arranging more under-19, Under-21 and Under-23 tournaments, also foreign tour for both U-19 and “A” squad. PCB must improve their bias policies when selecting players for National and A Squad.

What is this rebuilding process and why other countries are not following it? PCB dropped 9 players after WC2003 and now they are constantly changing the team to find the pieces of the puzzle. I am wondering why countries like South Africa & West Indies didn't drop 9 players from their national Squad. Why other courtiers are not following the foot Steps of our genies Aamair Sohail.

Only 11 players?? But the 11 players they have picked are good…but why wudn’t they want to pick 15 players?? :rolleyes:

On what basis PCB selected Imran Nazir?

No doubt Imran Nazir is talented but he wasn’t part of the “A” Squad and his domestic record doesn’t look impressive.

Junaid Zia? (another Safarashi) Abu ki soors…
Why him when there are more experience & deserving player available in Pakistan.
On what basis did PCB selected him? What is his track record, how many wickets did he take? His action was questionably few years ago and now the will be part of the National Squad.
These are bias polices which has no place in International sports; PCB must improve their selection policy.

**The full squad announced is of 14 players and not 11 as follows:

Pakistan : Mohammad Hafeez, Imran Nazir, Yasir Hameed, Inzamam-ul-Haq (captain), Yousuf Youhana, Abdul Razzaq, Kamran Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Younis Khan, Shabbir Ahmad, Umar Gul, Junaid Zia, Danish Kaneria, Salman Butt.

I really, really hope that these 5 ODIs will not turn out to be a distaster.

Now this must be a joke. I am relatively new to the forum so I am not sure if this is a serious post or just sarcasm.

In 6 first class matches Tauqeer Zia Jr. has been just average and grabbed 16 wickets. In 23 one dayers, he has taken 17 wickets at an average of 48 and with an economy of 5.21 per over.

Regarding his “great performances” abroad, in the recent South African tour, he took just 2 wickets in 2 matches while another bowler Fahad Masud took 9 wickets in 2 matches.

Worst of all, he is a chucker and has been reported for a suspect action on more than one occasions. So much for his impressive fast bowling great performances abroad :frowning:

For more info, please refer to http://www.dawn.com/2003/09/08/spt4.htm