Pakistan tour of England - June 2003

[thumb=B]20801493.JPG[/thumb]

Pakistan batsman Razzaq runs off the field of play after hitting the winning boundary to secure victory over England.

Fair performance by Pakistan. England had a huge advantage at one stage when their Run Rate was 7 Runs per over with wickets in hands at the end of 17 overs. After that, Pakistani bowlers conceded 108 runs in 33 overs, pushed English team against the wall. It was fantastic to see how Pakistan managed to settle. Rashid Latif, once again, proved himself to be a truly devoted Skipper. A nasty blow just under the eye hit Rashid but he didn't leave the field. That speaks Latif's commitment to the team; both as a Skipper and as a Team player.

[thumb=B]l843688h.JPG[/thumb]

Pakistan's Mohammad Hafeez, left, celebrates his dismissal of England's Vikram Solaki.

Our bowlers get the job done, specially Shoaib Malik, who has been proving himself vital for Pakistan's middle order. 36 runs for 3 wickets, including 2 madens. Crucial and valueable knock of 24 runs off 26 balls at the high stake moment speaks volume of Malik's credibility as an all-rounder. What's more exciting part is Pakistan recovered from the horrible experience of giving away extra runs. Only 17 extra runs were given, which is a huge improvement from the Bank Alfalalh Cup Final's 44 extra runs. The most important wicket, IMO, would be of Vikram Solaki, who had 100% Striking rate and was looking dangerous. Hafeez dismissed him; and what a freakin' delivery was that. Vikram was completely beaten b/w his bat and pad. Awesome dude!!!!!!

[thumb=B]l843748af.JPG[/thumb]

Pakistan's Abdul Razzaq, left, celebrates his dismissal of England's Andrew Flintoff, right.

Andrew Flintoff was looking dangerous as well. It was great to see Razzaq dismissed him; and the catch taken by Yasir Hameed at the boundary was perfectly judged.

[thumb=B]3726220275mh.JPG[/thumb]

Muhammad Hafeez knock 69 runs. Well deserved MoM.

From the batting department, a tone set by Imran Nazir was impressive. It must have encouraged Mohammad Hafeez to play the best inning he could in a vital match; and he did. The openers did establish a good partnership of 60 runs. Again, Yousuf Youhana and Younis Khan were the main concern. Two quick wickets at score 139 were setback, especially in case of Yoyo, as he hasn't been able to perform as he used to since WC 03, not even in a warm-up match. The ball was in a fielder's hand; and Yoyo was well out of his crease. What was he thinking? Only God Knows Better.

Younis Khan' stumps were cleaned up by Anderson. I was like where was the body balance of Younis? Yeah, I understand the experience counts in the middle of field but what if the experience doesn't paid off? It was just a matter of taking singles and doubles. Pakistan almost lost the game but thanks to the youngsters who didn't slip.

I'd prefer to see Misbah-ul-Haq in action by sitting out Yoyo; and it's likely Shoaib Akhtar will replaced Umer Gul in the 2nd ODI.

[thumb=B]10923379.JPG[/thumb]

Pakistan Young Gunz BOOM BOOM!

Old Trafford, Manchester seems to have huge Pakistani Community. It's common in England whenever Pakistan has got a match, it's predictable tickets will be sold out, but, in today's game, the crowd never seems to be quite. They were blowing horn continously without a break. KEWL! They must have been excited to see Chacha Pakistan Back in Action! Chacha Rulez!

[thumb=B]l843945d.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]badpakistanis.JPG[/thumb]

Pakistani Supporters rushed to the pitch; celebrate Victory over England.

The Team is ready for 2nd ODI. Go Pakistan!

Great Play by team.But pitch invasion by fans was really bad.Few stupid people give bad name to whole community.I hope it doesnt happen again.

GREAT STUFF!!!

Yes well said. I think the only disapointment were Youhana and Younis Khan. With Shoaib Akhtar coming back into the team for the 2nd ODI, things can only get better for Pakistan.

My Team for 2nd One Dayer:

[list=1]
[li]Imran Nazir
[/li][li]Muhammad Hafeez
[/li][li]Yasir Hameed
[/li][li]Yousuf Youhana
[/li][li]Younis Khan
[/li][li]Shoaib Malik
[/li][li]Azhar Mahmood
[/li][li]Rashid Latif
[/li][li]Abdul Razzaq
[/li][li]Shoaib Akhtar
[/li][li]Muhammad Sami
[/li][/list=1] **

I thought Umar Gul bowled very well today, but Shoaib is just too damn good of a bowler to be on the sidelines.
Umar Gul still has a bright futures ahead of him.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
My Team for 2nd One Dayer:

[list=1]
[li]Imran Nazir
[/li][li]Muhammad Hafeez
[/li][li]Yasir Hameed
[/li][li]Yousuf Youhana
[/li][li]Younis Khan
[/li][li]Shoaib Malik
[/li][li]Azhar Mahmood
[/li][li]Rashid Latif
[/li][li]Abdul Razzaq
[/li][li]Shoaib Akhtar
[/li][li]Muhammad Sami
[/li][/list=1] **

I thought Umar Gul bowled very well today, but Shoaib is just too damn good of a bowler to be on the sidelines.
Umar Gul still has a bright futures ahead of him.

I have a feeling they might rest Yasir Hameed for the next match to replace Shoaib.

in an interview before the team left for England, Mohd Hafeez said he was going there with the aim of becoming the man of the series :k:

Brilliant match, brilliant atmosphere. It was like a home game for Pakistan. The Pakistani supporters outnumbered the locals by a margin of at least 4 to 1. Thoroughly enjoyed the day and was very happy when i was proved wrong and Pakistan won. :smiley: Hey Guys the Pakistan team I selected before the match was the team which played. :snooty:
If in doubt check the earlier pages of this thread. When we got into the ground Miandad was out on the field with the team putting them through their paces. I was very impressed with his dedication. The team performed extremely well and operated as a unit. Good to see when the seniors failed, Youhanna, Younis and Rashid, the new guys didnt panic and finished the job.

The invasion in the end was ok as the match finished and it was good natured.

One point which marred the day was a small minority of Pakistanis who got drunk and were running riot in the stadium. The police eventually threw them out of the stadium. Sad to see really.

I hope this team goes to win the series 3/0.

My impression of watching them live on the ground is that if they keep this level of commitment and standard, then Inshallah within the next 12 months they will be ready to meet the likes of Australia and SA.

Well played Pakistan and keep it up.

god damn, I hate these idiots. They not only bring bad name for the country, but also make life difficult for others. Not to mention drinking isnt even allowed in Islam. How can these people ever call themselves muslim and keep a straight face :mad:

For those that have seen Billal Asad play, how does he compare with Razzaq and Azhar mehmood? Is he faster in terms of bowling speed? How's his line and length?

What about his batting? technique/ slogability etc..

What annoyed me most was that a bunch of them were sitting behind me, not only were they drinking madly they then had the nerve to stand up and shout Nara Takbber – Allah Akbar. :rolleyes:

*Originally posted by ChthonicPowers: *
For those that have seen Billal Asad play, how does he compare with Razzaq and Azhar mehmood? Is he faster in terms of bowling speed? How's his line and length?

What about his batting? technique/ slogability etc..

Bilal Asad is a very effective batsman, i mean he is a proper batsman. Doenst bowl fast but keep it tight in middle overs. Some years back, he used to try to copy Mark Waugh's stance and style.. Dunno about now.

A great performance by youngsters under tremendous pressure. Pakistan nearly messed it up but got home thorugh intelligent batting by Sami and Razzaq. Well played though.

Imran Nazir is a welcome change in our opening. He can be aggressive and thats what was lacking, Result? The best opening stand by this young team. Hafeez can stay at the wicket and imran can blast if necessery. Hafeez played the most valuable innings of his short career so far. Hats off to him :)

So Pakistan chased and Pakistan won :D sounds strange but soudns true :D

One of the reasons I've never writen off Imran nazir is because although he can get over-confident, he does have the ability to flay the best attacks in the world as he's proven against Windies, Australia and others. There's a big difference between him and one-shot wonders like Afridi who are basically only any good at county level or maybe in Pakistan where the ball doesn't move much.

*Originally posted by smooth_guy: *
Asif ko kiya Pakistan se takleef hai ?

Smoothie, I dont have any taqleef yaar - You enjoy your victory.

Arrey yaar, asif ko koi takleef nahee hay. I am the one who brought him into this thread :D

I am sure he was looking for an invitation from me ;)

I am at a loss for words. This is totally hopeless. Lets hope these hooligans do not represent the youth of this country. :grumpy:

paksitani team

can anyone please tell me why saleem elahi is not in the squad

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

My impression of watching them live on the ground is that if they keep this level of commitment and standard, then Inshallah within the next 12 months they will be ready to meet the likes of Australia and SA.

Do you still rate SA so high after departure of
Lance,Kirsten ,Rhodes and Donald.
I think they are very average team now.It was very evident when a 2nd rated Indian team (without Sachin,Dravid,Srinath,Zaheer,Harbhajan) defeated then in bagladesh.
But I agree with-in 6 month and if Inzi is back this Pakistani team will be good enough to take up teams like Aus ,India and West Indies( Yes I think these 3 are best ODI team right now because of great firepower that they have in their batting lineup).

Talking about SA.I think SA is going to be defeated by English this summer if English dont have fitness problem.

yeh indians...hamaray behghair reh nehein saktey.