Pakistan team for the Hockey World Cup.

GER: 3

Sascha Reinelt (20,PC), Florian Kunz (24,PC; 50,PC)

PAK: 2

Sohail Abbas (35,PC; 38,PC)

BY SHIAZ VIRJEE

KUALA LUMPUR, March 5: Germany joined Australia in the semifinals of the 10th Men's World Cup after overcoming Pakistan in an excellent match decided entirely by penalty corner goals.

The 3-2 win ensures the Germans top Pool A and they should meet Korea in the semifinal barring a bizarre turn of events that would place host nation Malaysia as their last four opponent.

With their third loss in the preliminary round, Pakistan are forced to play for the 5th - 8th placings. This is the second consecutive World Cup that the Asians have missed out on the last four.

After the match, however, the Pakistanis lodged a protest against the umpiring.

Team Manager Brig. Khalid Khokhar told a post-match media conference that an equalizing goal should not have been disallowed by the umpires while Pakistan should have been awarded a penalty stroke.

He also pointed out that the wrong player, Tariq Imran, had been yellow-carded.

In the match, all five goals in the match came as a result of penalty corners. Germany converted three of their six while Pakistan were bang on target twice out of eight attempts.

Sohail Abbas, with two goals today, moves back to the top of the scorers' list on seven goals, one ahead of Argentina's Jorge Lombi who takes the field later today against Spain.

For the Germans, skipper Florian Kunz was the nominated flicker instead of Bjorn Michel today and he justified his role by scoring twice. Sascha Reinelt was the other German scorer, pouncing onto a rebound off a short corner flick.

In the early portion of the first period, Germany controlled the match by using the flanks to move the ball, particularly down the right.

Pakistan were playing without a left wing and were pushing left back Waseem Ahmed forward when they were on the attack.

Interestingly, the Germans left the midfield open while in attack, pushing their midfield players up and to the right - a tactic that meant the Europeans could outnumber Waseem and one other Pakistani along that flank.

When they were two goals down, Pakistan reverted to their traditional formation, bringing Khalid Saleem in at left wing and pushing up Muhammad Saqlain through the middle.

This put pressure on the German defence - especially when the Europeans had 16-yard hits - creating turnovers.

The turning point in the match came when Tariq Imran was yellow-carded midway through the second session.

Almost immediately, Germany earned a penalty corner for the giant Kunz to score the deciding goal.

Germany won, I know it. I told ya I smelled it.
Their worst opponent...Germany!

Anyway better luck next time!

“na maiN* momin vich masiitaa*N, na maiN* muusaa, na fir'aun!”

BHAI??? who u calling bhai???

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/crying.gif

why don’t u people accept the fact that I am a behun?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/crying.gif

And its not my fault u bribed the team to loose so that we don’t start a new thread

And it doesn’t matter where they end up now. 11th, 12th or 19th :-/

Sherry Baba

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad2.gif

OOPS!!! Slip of the fingers on the keyboard

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/blush.gif

Don’t lose interest yet, we might still end up as the fifth best team

**Results for Tues 5 Mar

Belgium 3 - 4 New Zealand
Pakistan 2 - 3 Germany
South Africa 0 - 3 Netherlands
Cuba 2 - 4 Japan
England 2 - 0 Korea

Australia 4 - 3 India
Argentina 3 - 1 Spain
Poland 2 - 2 Malaysia **

The final pool standings are as follows:

RANKING IN POOL A
Rank Team Matches Points DIF

1. Germany 7 18 11
  2. Netherlands 7 16 12
  3. Argentina 7 15 6
  4. Pakistan 7 12 7
  5. Spain 7 11 1
  6. New Zealand 7 6 -9
  7. South Africa 7 4 -12
  8. Belgium 7 0 7 0 7 23 0 -16

RANKING IN POOL B
Rank Team Matches Points DIF

1. Australia 7 21 22
  2. Korea 7 15 9
  3. Malaysia 7 13 1
  4. England 7 12 8
  5. Japan 7 10 -5
  6. India 7 7 3
  7. Poland 7 4 -10
  8. Cuba 7 0 -28

**The four semi finalists are Germany, Australia, Holland and Korea

Pakistan will play for 5 to 8 position and will face Malaysia on 7 March. The other teams involved are Argentina and England. The winner of Pakistan v Malaysia will play the winner of Argentina and england and the losers will play each other to determine the final standings. Lets hope that Pakistan can get the 5th position. **

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited March 05, 2002).]

One hell of a match!!!

Germany vs Pakistan was the most interesting match in the entire tournament!!! Eventhough Pakistan lost, it was awesome!!

I remember the time where that bald Fisher guy use to give Pakistan such a tough time!!

Our cricketing arch rivals should learn something from our hockey arch rivals.

Anywayz, we didnt get the cup, but this match was certainly a treat to watch!! Lets hope we take the 5th position now.

Originally posted by Spock:
**One hell of a match!!!

Germany vs Pakistan was the most interesting match in the entire tournament!!! Eventhough Pakistan lost, it was awesome!!

I remember the time where that bald Fisher guy use to give Pakistan such a tough time!!

Our cricketing arch rivals should learn something from our hockey arch rivals.

Anywayz, we didnt get the cup, but this match was certainly a treat to watch!! Lets hope we take the 5th position now.

Spock,

Stop your fixation about India.
Here we are talking about Match of Pakistan vs Germany and what was the point to bring your "Cricketting Arch Rival" .

Anyway It was great match. But it was sad to see Pakistan going out of semifinal.I would have loved to see Pakistan there as flag bearer of traditional artistic hockey.

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited March 05, 2002).]

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited March 05, 2002).]

Pakistan should try to win the ASIAN Championship first(Which is Asiad GOLD MEDAL). Once they acheive that then they should think of winning any other championship. This is height of optimism by my pakistani friends.

AK

Pakistan accuse umpires of bias
Jaideep Singh
Pakistan has touched world hockey’s raw nerve by coming out in the open, accusing blatantly biased umpiring in favour of European teams, albeit it happened after their hopes of making the World Cup semi-finals evaporated due to apparently harsh officiating aimed at one side.

Germany beat Pakistan 3-2 in a crucial Pool A match on Tuesday and denied the Asian hockey power a place in the semi-finals. Pakistan team manager Brigadier Khalid Sajjad Kohkhar was left fuming after the match. He claimed the European umpires were biased against Pakistan.

“I have lodged a protest,” he told the post-match news conference.

“We had a goal disallowed, a penalty stroke not given and the yellow card was wrong. It is because of the umpiring that Pakistan has not qualified. We had biased umpiring when we played Holland (Pakistan lost 2-1) but today they went past all limits,” he said.

Asian hockey for long has cried out aloud, citing unfavorable amendments to rules to curb its supremacy. And when that wasn’t enough, the world hockey bosses, who inadvertently all come from Europe, brandished another weapon – umpires who did not like a certain section of players.

Partisan umpiring, done by handpicked officials posted for key games, has repeatedly derailed Asian teams, who were charged for irritating umpires to an extent that the whole community was against them.

European teams, backed by the power wielded by the FIH bosses, often find amenable umpires from different continents, but Asian teams have to do with harsh decisions.

Protests and reviews notwithstanding, the Euro-centric bosses in the FIH ensured that no umpire was ever reprimanded for facilitating a European surge.

Alas, world hockey has lived with these biases, even if the Asian countries often asked an uncomfortable question: “Do you even want us to play?”

Asian teams – especially the erstwhile World champions from the sub-continent – are needed to grace the occasion, to attract the crowds and to help the European hockey powers to display their prowess on the global stage. But the bias would never go, the FIH’s power equations ensure that.

“Germany played with 13 players today,” said the Khokhar, accusing the FIH powers of belittling the oft-repeated phase of ‘fair play’, which over the past several decades has had no place in world hockey.

“The way they (the umpires) acted today, there should have been criminal charges framed against them. They crossed all limits,” screamed Khokhar, but his words certainly fall on deaf ears.

What left Khokhar’s blood boiling was a negated goal in the 59th minute of play that kept Pakistan in the arrears and ensured Germany suffered no hiccups.

Given Germany’s clinically defensive style, Pakistan anyway had just a glimmer of chance to force a two-goal win that would have taken it ahead of Germany in the ground standings, but given Khokhar’s accusations they came up against an impregnable fort.

“They umpires were bent on controlling our moves from the beginning. They simply refused to allow us to play. They won’t let the ball move,” Khokhar alleged.

“Our players were stopped from initiating moves. Every time we had a free hit, our players were asked to move the ball back, which some times was just by a foot,” he charged.

It doesn’t take a great hockey tactician to realize these tactics are often used to allow defenders to fall back when caught off-guard.

“And the German players were allowed to play the ball from anywhere they wanted,” Khokhar said.

Precisely. That’s the name of the game.

The hockey world would wait and watch what acting the review panel would take against the two umpires – Clive McMurray of South Africa and Jason McCracken of New Zealand – against whom a formal protest has been lodged.

If past experiences of Asian teams is to be believed, they are tipped for an elevation in grading.

A toast might be raised at the headquarters of the Brussels-based world hockey body, with plenty of backslapping to ensure the charge of the European brigade.

“I realize the result of the game will not be reversed, but I hope something will be done,” said the Pakistan team manager. “These people are ruining the game and something must be done. Otherwise, we may as well give up playing.”

Haven’t we heard this from Asian teams before! And, has it ever made a difference?

“Why can’t we have an Asian umpire officiating?,” asked the Pakistan manager. “It would at least provide some balance.”

But then where are the Asian umpires? Sub-continental umpires have perished from the scene, as national federations forgot to elevate enough people amidst their petty politicking.

The moot question doing the rounds at Kuala Lumpur’s Bukit Jalil stadium on Tuesday was: “Did German coach Bernhard Peters realize what had actually happened, as he tried to sidetrack the umpiring question?”

Peters, a good talker otherwise, said, “I did not concentrate much on the umpires. There are some good ones and some bad ones.”

“The best one at the current World Cup,” Peters confessed, “was a South Korean.”

Thank-you, Peters. The point is well taken.

========================================

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nook.gif

must thing must be done to stop this…

God bless u all…

DerVaisH

Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…

** Results for 7 March

Pakistan 2 Malaysia 1

India 3 Spain 0
South Africa 5 Cuba 1
Belgium 2 Poland 1
Argentina 2 England 1
Japan 3 New Zealand 3 New Zealand won on penalty shoot out.

SEMI-FINALS

Germany 3 Korea 2
Austalia 4 Holland 1

Paksitan having won will now play Argentina for the 5 place tomorrow. Good luck Pakistan.**

KUALA LUMPUR, March 7: Pakistan ensured a top six finish in the 10th Men's World Cup by edging host nation Malaysia in front of another capacity crowd this afternoon.

A defensive mistake by the Malaysian defence allowed Pakistani great Shahbaz Ahmed - playing in probably his last World Cup - to slam the ball past Roslan Jamaluddin.

Shahbaz's goal made it 2-0 and effectively sealed an evenly-contested match in which both sides had their chances.

In the first half, the host nation had three opportunities to score as did the Pakistanis. But while the Malaysians wasted four short corners, Sohail Abbas made it one out of two with a trademark missile into the top corner.

That goal took his tally in the tournament to eight and the distinction of being sole top scorer ahead of England's Dave Mathews.

In the second half, Malaysia constantly pressed for the equalizer, but then Malaysian midfielder Shaiful Azli Rahman missed a cross inside the D with Shahbaz lurking unmarked beyond him.

A penalty corner goal by Tajol Rosli Mohd reduced the margin with 11 minutes to go, but the Malaysians were unable to grab a second.

The home boys played too many balls back and square. One of the reasons was that the Pakistanis had at least five players back at all time - a strategy they have carried throughout the tournament.

The Malaysian forwards were also guilty of not holding the ball longer in the attacking zone by generating fouls and maintaining possession.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited March 07, 2002).]

** The final round

Final :

GERMANY v AUSTRALIA

3 -4 place
KOREA V HOLLAND

05 - 06 Place
ARGENTINA vs PAKISTAN

07 & 08 Place
ENGLAND vs MALAYSIA

09 & 10 Place
INDIA vs JAPAN

11 & 12 Place
SPAIN vs NEW ZEALAND

13 & 14 Place
SOUTH AFRICA vs BELGIUM

15 & 16 Place
CUBA vs POLAND **

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited March 07, 2002).]

Ehsan

correct ur post.India is playing for 9th Postion.
they defeated spain 3-0.

They will play japan for 9th postion.

Andha Qanoon I got the info from :
http://www.hockeyworldcup2002.com/keepingscore/matchschedule/fixtures_080302.cfm

What you are saying is correct as well. I agree India should be playing for 9 & 10 position.

yes..
I guess that website has wrong information.
u just need to correct ur post .tahts it.
It will give correct information to everyone and hence meaningful discussion .

Two big surprises, Australia beating Holland 4-1 and India beating Spain 3-0.
Germany is going all the way.

** Results for 8 March

PAK 5 ARG 3

CUB 0 POL 3

RSA 5 BEL 4

ENG 3 MAS 2

IND 1 NZL 2

ESP 5 JPN 1

FINAL RANKINGS

1. Germany
  2. Australia
  3. Holland
  4. Korea
  5. Pakistan
  6. Argentina
  7. England
  8. Malaysia
  9. New Zealand
  10. India
  11. Spain
  12. Japan
  13. South Africa
  14. Belgium
  15. Poland
  16. Cuba**

KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 28: *Pakistan finished their World Cup campaign in fifth placing to clinch the remaining Champions Trophy spot after a brilliant fightback against Argentina. *

In one of the most exciting matches of the tournament, the Pakistanis and Argentines produced a remarkable game of open hockey full of silky smooth stick work, incisive passing and breathtaking goals.

Pakistan's Sohail Abbas and Jorge Lombi of Argentina both scored a brace to finish their campaign as joint top scorers on 10 goals.

With this win, the Asians ended a superb run of six victories on the trot by the South Americans and also reversed the result in the preliminary round when Argentina edged Pakistan 2-1.

The Pakistanis also placed fifth in Utrecht '98 while the Argentines equaled their previous best finish achieved in London 1986.

Pakistan, as in previous games, had most of the early running and chances but it was Lombi who opened the scoring with a penalty corner flick that went through the legs of Pakistani custodian Muhammad Qasim.

The Asians replied with two goals in three minutes, both from short corners converted by Ali Raza with a direct hit and Sohail with a cracker of a flick that was timed at 106km per hour.

Fernando Zylberberg sounded the board with a field goal before the break to ensure the Argentines went into half time on equal terms.

Lombi converted a penalty stroke 10 minutes in the second half. Pakistan swamped the Argentine D repeatedly over the next 15 minutes but spurned numerous chances.

Just when it looked like one of those days when every chance would go wide and be saved, Sohail came out with his second stinger, also recorded at 106km per hour.

The turnaround in fortune for the Pakistanis continued when Muhammad Nadeem slammed in a field goal from top D after some fine work by the ever-influential Shahbaz Ahmed.

Right at the end, Kashif Jawad got onto the scoresheet to make it 5-3 to spark the raucous Pakistani celebrations.

** WELL PLAYED PAKISTAN**

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited March 09, 2002).]

sighs We could have beaten Argentina in the pool match

Originally posted by Asif_k:
**Pakistan should try to win the ASIAN Championship first(Which is Asiad GOLD MEDAL). Once they acheive that then they should think of winning any other championship. This is height of optimism by my pakistani friends.

Talk about Criticism, this guy is all over when it comes to Criticising Pak.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited March 08, 2002).]

Originally posted by Question:
** Talk about Criticism, this guy is all over when it comes to Criticising Pak. damn bindians.**

Question, Read my statement again. Where did I criticize Pakistan ? All I said is it is height of optimism to hope for winning the World Championship when Pakistan has not been able to reach in the ASIAD final in last two Asiads. Last time Pakistan won Asiad Gold medal in Hockey was in 1990. When it finds hard to beat mediocre teams like India,Korea,Japan and Malaysia, How do you expect your team to win against Australia/Germany/Holland ?

Now tell me where did I criticize Pakistan ?

AK

Asif there has to be a limit to hypocrisy!

Look you don't like it when people express their opinions on India losing to Zim and then, you come in this thread and post a not veyr flattering message. FYI, Pakistan was one of the hotter team going into the tournament based on form. Obviously they were not the best team.

If you don't like it when Pakistanis comment on the state of India (Indian Muslims, cricket and so on), please refrain from doing so on Pakistan, its team or its people. (Hey, I'm just suggesting that we be treated the way you'd like to be treated yourself!!)

Pakistan hockey is fine as it is. so go worry about your own team, please!