Pakistan team for the Hockey World Cup.

Following is the Pakistan team for the Hockey world cup to be played in Malaysia from 24 February to 9 March.

(Goalkeeprs), Muhammad Qasim,Salman Akbar

(Full backs) Sohail Abbas,Tariq Imran, Ali Raza

(Halves) Muhammad Usman, Muhammad Saqlain,Wasim Ahmad,Ghzanfar Ali, Dilawar Hussain.

(Forwards) Muhammad Sarwar, Mudassar Ali, Atif Bashir,Kashif Jawad,Shahbaz Ahmad Sr, Nadeem ND, Khalid Salim and ,Muhammad Shabbir.

Come on guppies lets have your prediction of how far Pakistan will go.

After their recent performance in Malaysia I think they will go far, maybe all the way.

** Come on Pakistan and good luck, our prayers are with you. Bring back the cup to Pakistan. **

Would love them to go all the way, but Netherland is a team who is known for winning their big ones.

Thank you, come again

Shahbaz Ahmad Sr ?!?!?!

Hey, didn't this dude retire, like, years ago? Or is he someone else?

I only recognize a few names here. Atif Bashir and Sohail Abbas, yes. No one else. A lot has changed in Pak Hockey in the last few years. Its almost like a brand new team.

How did Pak do in Malaysia? Any good website for hockey, cz I have no clue on whats happening in that sport.

I heard this Sohail fellow is darn good in penalty corners. Is he the one?

[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited February 12, 2002).]

**Shahbaz Ahmad Sr ?!?!?!

Hey, didn’t this dude retire, like, years ago? Or is he someone else? **

Yeah, he was the one. He took retirement, then became the coach of Pak hockey team. Now he is back as a player. He is not as sharp as he used to be, but still playing well. He won the man of the match award in the final of the pre-world cup tournment in Malaysia recently.

** How did Pak do in Malaysia? **

Pak won the pre-world cup tournment in Malaysia by beating Australia in the final.

** Any good website for hockey, cz I have no clue on whats happening in that sport. **

Check out www.fieldhockey.com a very good and regularly updated web site.

** I heard this Sohail fellow is darn good in penalty corners. Is he the one? **

Yeah, he is the one.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited February 13, 2002).]

Another site is:
http://www.fihockey.org/vsite/vcontent/page/custom/0,8510,1181-123053-124360-15501-49160-custom-item,00.html

Can we win? :-/

Well one of the newspapers here termed Pak team as hot favorites to win. Why? I dunno.
Lets just hope and pray that we win. Its been 8 years since we won a major tournament.

Go Pak Go

Sounds as if this time we do have a chance. When did we win it last time? I remember 1982 under Akhtar Rasool in India. And then in 1984 we won Olympic gold in LA. We did make it to the finals in World Cup in Lahore. I remember, bcz I went to watch many matches in the stadium at that time.

Can any of you, Allah ka naik banda, post the pictures of the current super stars of our hockey team in the IG? I wanna see this Sohail Abbas. The site fieldhocky.com doesn’t seem to have pics.

I remember for a long time, Pak had extremely poor record in penalty corner conversion and that was the gripe of most commentators. It seems almost miraculous that now Pakistan has the world’s best short corner specialist (now that Bovelander is retired). Allah ki dain…

Ok.. I found some

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/Sohail03azlan1.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/sohail05.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/Sohailabbas.jpg

WHO CARES ABOUT HOCKEY.......
jk
well da fact is dat all we know bout hockey nowadayz is dat i know just a single guy or maybe 2more n i don't think any1else knows more than dat. Sohail Abbas or those Shahbaz n Kamran Ashraf...
Lot of hopes as ever but just say dat we'll try....as they said b4 olympics we're da champions....dude wait ...try to play well not claim yaself as champion b4 gettin into field n then crying afterwards....
GoodLuck fellas

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~

Check out the Pakistani Hockey Fedaration web page http://www.phf.com.pk/

Another good site: http://pin.net.pk/hockey/

Players to watch: Apart from Sohail Abbas and Shahbaz Snr., watch Kashif Jawwad, the new kid on the block. He was nominated for young player of the year in 2001. He scored the golden goal against Australia in the final in Malaysia, recently.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/K-jawwad.jpg

<— K. Jawwad

Another exciting player is Waseem Ahmed, the right half.

Some pics:

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/P-hockey1.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/P-hockey2.jpg

Last time, Pak won the world cup in 1994 in Sydney.

[This message has been edited by Ganja (edited February 14, 2002).]

Holland is very fortunate in penalty corner department. They always used to have penalty corner specialists in their team. Even though Bovalender is retired now, yet they still have Bram Lomans in their team. He was injured in the tournment in Malaysia, thats why Holland didnt perform well.

Hey!
Most of the teams in Malaysia sent young players to get experiance. Not the full squad.
For Pakistan I wish taht they win. They will reach the semifinal hopfully but to be honest I think they wud not be able to win the tourney.

Sbaat Aik Taghaiur ko hai zamanee main

The News International

The manager of the national hockey team on Tuesday sounded confident of team's chances in the forthcoming World Cup and said the boys were warming up for the World mega event and were fairly well-equipped to meet the challenge ahead.

"The team played two matches in a brief stop over in Singapore and won against Japan and hosts which is good for the warming up of the players," said Brig Khalid Sajjad Khokhar in a telephonic talk from Kuala Lumpur where the team arrived on Monday. He said the team will play a few more practice matches before opening its campaign in the World Cup against South Africa on February 24.

"Playing such matches are greatly helping us in trying different combinations and to assess their ability besides measuring the individual performance and strength of players," he added. Khokhar said team's coaches Hanif Khan and Khawaja Muhammad Junaid were working on adopting different strategies and game plans in view of placement of the team in a tough pool. "Such schemes were implemented in the matches played so far and have yielded better results," he said.

He sounded upbeat when asked about team's prospects in the Cup and said it was capable of reaching the podium. The manager said that placing of team in difficult pool alongside Holland, Germany, Australia and Spain could be a ' blessing in disguise' and team can build a winning-tempo against top sides. "Our boys are not scared of world's best sides in the pool and team's morale is high."

To a question he said conditions at Kuala Lumpur were favourable for Pakistan since the weather was warm and it could be an extra advantage over the European sides which are likely to face difficulties under such conditions.

The world cup has started and the results for the first day are as follows:

**Pakistan 5 South Africa 0
Korea 6 Cuba 2
England 1 Poland 0
Belgium 0 Spain 2
Germany 5 Argentina 2
Netherlands 4 New Zealand 0
Malaysia 0 Australia 4
India 2 Japan 2

Good start by Pakistan. The upset of the day is Japan drawing with India**

All the world cup matches results will be posted along with any comments on this thread.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited February 24, 2002).]

ehsan, if each cricket match involving Pakistan can get a separate thread, then why not hockey matches involving Pakistan??

Go Pakistan Hockey Team!!!

Originally posted by ehsan:
** The upset of the day is Japan drawing with India**

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited February 24, 2002).]**

I don't see it as an upset, because both teams are of the same class.

Did any guppies in US watched the hockey
matches.
The next match is against Belgium.

Thank you, come again

I agree with you Umair316, but the Indians claimed they were invincible… Check out the following article, from http://www.fieldhockey.com/

Indians are so sure, Japanese want a miracle
KUALA LUMPUR: The Indian says the only team that can beat them is themselves. But the Japanese would like to make a lie of that, perform a miracle and get a winning start when the two meet in a Group B match tomorrow.

Indian coach Cedric D Souza declared yesterday that his team, who had won the title in Kuala Lumpur in 1975, were ready to repeat the feat despite the difficulties that lie ahead.

Cedric has been heartened that he had met two of three targets that he had set for himself. And he believes the final target, the World Cup, could also be met.

“We had stages to this World Cup. The first was to qualify for the World Cup and then to win the Champions Challenge and qualify for the Champions Trophy and to take a first four finish in the World Cup. We have accomplished the first two,” he said.

Cedric, however, know it does not pay to think big too early. “I learnt my lesson at the World Cup qualifiers. Everybody talked about a Spain-India final and after the initial two matches where we couldn’t score, we brought pressure upon us. All we did was look at the final. But here, I will take it one match at a time. Let the boys take on the opponent of the day. We are, as I am saying, ready for the World Cup,’’ he added.

The Indians have had a good year last year where they won the Bangladesh Gold Cup in March and then their juniors lifted the Junior World Cup in October. In November they won the Champions Challenge.

Now, the World Cup beckons. And the first hurdle to that are the Japanese, who have never beaten India before.

This time, however, Japan team manager Nagai Toichi believes that can perform a miracle.

“The Indians have the phsycological advantage against us but we will do whatever it takes to beat the Indians.

“The win over Malaysia (2-1) in the six-nation meet at Bukit Jalil last month has boosted our confidence,” said Nagai.

India have skilful attackers in Dhanraj Pillay and skipper Baljit Singh Dhillion but in goalkeeper Jun Takahashi, Nagai believes he has a man who can thwart the Indians. Takhashi was voted the best goalkeeper during the Olympic qualifier in Osaka in March 2000.

He will be supported by Atsushi Takehara, daisuke Hokaze and Naohiko Tobita in defence.

Check out this article!

Pakistan simply awesome

Most of my Malaysians friends either cheer for their team or Pakistan/India! Which is a →

Pakistan last one the world cup in 1994 Sydney.

Pakistan simply awesome

2002 Hockey World Cup

February 24, 2002
HockeyWorldCup2002

Page Views 159

PAK: (1)5 Atif Bashir (25,F;57,F), Sohail Abbas (39,PC;63,PC), Muhammad Shabir (55,F)

RSA: (0)0

KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 24: Pakistan sounded a warning to all other title contenders for the 10th Men's World Cup with this thumping victory over South Africa here this afternoon.

Playing with a swashbuckling style so reminiscent of the great Pakistani sides of before, the Asians showed why many feel this World Cup may well produce a winner from the continent.

Pakistan started slowly but came alive in the second half to overrun the gritty but, clearly outclassed Africans.

Penalty corner specialist Sohail Abbas and nippy forward Atif Bashir scored two goals a piece while substitute Muhammad Shabir added one in between.

Bashir and Shabir's goals came from typical Pakistani efforts in which speed and clever inter-passing were the most striking features. Abbas gave a sign of things to come in this match, flicking with unerring accuracy to open his account in the tournament.

South Africa - who finished second in the 1st Men's Champions Challenge held at the same venue last December - had their chances but could not put away any.

Greg Nicol, such a prolific scorer in just about any tournament he plays in, came closest when his field goal attempt rebounded off the crossbar in the 9th minute. But he was guilty of profligacy in front of goal, missing as many as eight chances throughout the match.

PAKISTAN: Qasim Muhammad, Tariq Imran, Sohail Abbas, Wassim Ahmed, Muhammad Usman, Muhammad Saqlain, Ghazanfar Ali, Muhammad Sarwar, Kashif Jawad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Khalid Saleem, (Muhammad Shabbir, Dilawar Hussain, Atif Bashir, Mudassar Khan, Muhammad Nadeem)

SOUTH AFRICA: Chris Hibbert, Craig Jackson, Craig Fulton, Bruce Jacobs, Gregg Clark, Garreth Murray, Emile Smith, Mike Cullen, Justin King, Greg Nicol, Kevin Chree, (Brenton Key, Wayne Denne, Denzil Dolley, Marvin Bam, Clyde Abrahams)

UMPIRES: Murray Grime (AUS), Han Jin Soo (KOR)

Originally posted by Badshah420:
*Pakistan last one the world cup in 1994 Sydney.

What do you mean by 'one'?? We won so many worldcups before.

There was an interesting article in the news on sunday yesterday... Unfortnately it was not available on the online version of the news. The article was based on the history of the hockey world cup, and I was surprised to see that it was Pakistan who first presented the idea to start the worldcup, and it was the EME guys who designed the first ever hockey world cup trophy, in Quetta. Ill try to OCR the article and paste it as its impossible for me to type it here as its very long.

Damn! I cant wait for Pakistan vs Germany, March5th!!!!!