Pakistan team for the Hockey World Cup.

Well, I dont know how you accuse me of that, I have never shied away from accepting that Indian Teams are a bunch of losers when it comes to Cricket and Hockey.

Sambri Bhai - There is no question of like or dislike. I always take it sportingly when the mesg is conveyed in appropriate manner and not in a insulting way. For god’s sake we are talking about a game (win or lose they are part of it) why to insult a player, they are on the field trying their best according to their talent ?
About my post on this thread - I didn’t post a single mesg - until Spock posted a mesg about How India should learn from Pakistan(1st mesg on page 6) and I pointed him the fact Pakistan isn’t any better, so you see I stayed away from the discussion and didn’t insult any player or Spock’s religion.

I would recommend you to read others view also Here is a report ‘Either Holland or Germany will win’](http://www.hockeyworldcup2002.com/news/current_news_details.cfm?articleID=145)

Hell, If I had trusted Indian newspapers - the amount of hype they created before the Tourny begin, it seemed like our team is the best, but in reality it is one of the worst. I think same goes for Pakistan team also - Lot of hype was created and thats why expectations were high.

Sambri Bhai - You make a comment, argue on it - But do not insult, dont call names - and you will never have any complain with me. About Pakistan Team - I admire Pakistani players for their talent, you can see it in my postings.
Pakistani people - I have many friends and all of them are nice.

AK

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited March 08, 2002).]

whatever, I give up!

Atleast pakistan won the 5th spot…good luck to them next time

[This message has been edited by tipz (edited March 08, 2002).]

zakhmooN par namak chrak lo app! :stuck_out_tongue:

DIL KAY BEHLANEY KO GHALIB YEH KHIYAL ACHHA HAI.

Germany 2 Australia 1
Germany wins the well deserving 2002 Kuala Lampur World Cup.

tou why r u shouting at me? Don’t u know Caps are against rules

j/k

KUALA LUMPUR, March 9: Germany won their first World Cup title with a hard-fought 2-1 victory over Australia in front of a packed National Hockey Stadium here this evening.

Skipper Florian Kunz, with an equalizing goal, and Oliver Domke who scored the winner five minutes before the end were the German heroes on a night to remember.

As the final seconds ticked down, the German players who had possession of the ball began spontaneously jumping for joy. At the final hooter, the entire contingent rushed out to join in the celebrations.

Twice Olympic gold medalist, Germany had never lifted the World Cup despite their consistency over the past two decades.

Going into the tournament, they were most people's favourite although the Aussies came into the final in terrific form after destroying the Dutch 4-1 in the semifinal.

The final was played at a consistently fast pace with both sides trying to dominate by employing the press on the opposing defence. Players were regularly substituted to maintain the pace throughout the match.

Several players, however, stayed on the field for the full 70 minutes. One of them was Australia's Brent Livermore who greatly impressed with his tremendous workrate in the heart of the midfield.

The boys from Down Under had the early running, troubling the Germans with pace down both flanks. Only some excellent defending by the Europeans in one-on-one situations prevented Australia from taking an early lead.

Even so, Troy Elder gave the Aussies the lead in the 31st minute with a penalty corner conversion that should have been stopped by German keeper Clemens Arnold.

The lead did not last long as Florian Kunz, with another of his fast and accurate short corner flicks replied at the other end in the last minute of the half.

After the break, both teams continued at breakneck pace. Australia continued to earn penalty corners but failed to execute their variations with enough accuracy.

As the second session progressed, the Germans on numerous occasions stole the ball inside the Aussie half.

One of these resulted in the winning goal. Sascha Reinelt created a turnover in front of the D and hit a reverse stick pass onto the path of Oliver Domke who couldn't miss from one metre out.

This is the second final for Australia. They lifted the trophy in London 1986 while Germany lost in their only other final to Pakistan in Bombay 1982.