Pak V England - First test Match

Re: Pak V England - First test Match

I am sure the coaches are doing their work and their so much they can do, however it's these superstars players who have to go out and execute the plans on the field. This is the problem the plans planned are not being executed properly.

Inzi's captaincy not being good yesterday. Is that something new and enough has already written and discussed about this previously and I agree Farhat should have been replaced in the slips.

Come on Saby, be reasonable, if it wasn’t for those drop catches and that umpire decision, Pakistan would have bunddled England cheaply and Sami would have taken those wickets.

BTW, we have been in this position before, down but not out. This what makes us better. Coming from behind, there is no reason why we can’t do this again - Pakistan forever :jhanda:

See below.

I also alluded to the above issue earlier before the start of the initial proceedings of the match. Inzamam should have managed a bit more responsibility on his crying shoulders and at least have either have sent out one of the most senior players in the side Yousuf to bat, or he could have come himself. Faisal has always been a consistent run-scorer in positions starting from #4, and it was a mistake for Inzamam to send a less experienced batsman up the order in a situation where Pakistan needed to save the day with the most amount of wickets possible.

Hopefully, this is not the end of the road for Faisal. He has been a vital player for Pakistan in recent memory with very useful knocks, and I do hope that he continues to be a part of the team in future stages of many different games as well, but strictly and only to strengthen the middle-order spine.

Its a well known fact that the senior guys used to hide behind these new lads when it comes to go out to face the new ball. Things haven't changed as yet. Yousuf has clearly disliked going in before #4 quite openly in the past and same applies to Inzi. They tend to send in the new comer in before them to face the red cherry and things changed a bit when Younis Khan came into the calculation.

He changed that norm and also during the fielding, the captain & the rest tend to stay away from the close catching positions whereas Younis takes the challenge head on!

Agree don't think this is the end of road for him especially as Pakistan doesn't produce any good batsmen and players will always be tried, tested, dumped and broght back. However, Dhobi Bhai I don't like him as a batsman - he is really boring to watch especially in the ODI's.

Pakistan management is probably regreting not including Asim Kamal - in the tour squad. He would have been better choice in this match then someone like Faisal.

No no. That was a comment in a different context.

To his credit, Sami did bowl with a lot of heart today in the first spell. He got one wicket and should have had one more but for Taufell. Lets hope he starts doing it more often unlike his past.

I think Faisal was not at fault for his dismissal today. He was unfortunate that Harmison bowled a jaffa and it was his second ball, he could only fend it away.

It is down to the old firm and the lower order to get us past the follow on taget of 329. One feels that if they can achieve that, they may, may save the game.

Assalam O Aalaikom brothers and sisters,

Sad to see losing our top order batsmen. As we can see we still have plenty of batsmen. We have Kamran Akmal who can play in the pressure. It is actually great that Mohammed Sami has sent with Muhammed Yusuf. Muhammed Sami can save the wicket while Muhammed Yusuf can play his own game.

Take Care,
Allah Hafiz!

Walikum Assalam SuperMe Bhai.

:slight_smile:

Nope your comments were about his performance in this match not previous ones. Remember Sami is there becuase others are not available, he is not there because of 50 odd innings getting out in the same slip position. :p

Who's missing Younis on the field? I personally do since he is ever so present in the field. And he would have given a bit more stability to our batting order.

Pethatic reply by Pakistani openers. Farhat sahab dropped 3 catches and scores 33 runs. Wah ji wah. Litarr maro sub nu line vich khalar kay. Butt sab ki to kya he baat hay. Iqbal sab nu salute. Let's hope Inzi and Yousuf stay at the wicket for another 500 runs (not 500 seconds). inshallah. :)

Lolz; you made a good analogy for Farhat.:D In any case, we can't deny the fact that Yousuf and Inzi are still there and 3 days of play is left. Hopefully, we can make a game out of nothing if Pak batsmen do enough hardwork to stay on the wicket for a while rather than just showing up and going back like the first 3 did.

As many of you said, it's quite hard to fathom the fact of sending young players like Iqbal on top of Yousuf. Yousuf should've been sent in #3 rather than Iqbal since he's a experienced lad. But oh well, Inzi jee ko kon batata. Let's hope for the best and keep our fingers crossed.

Umer

Pakistan will have to follow on.

There is no such thing as “will have to”. Likely yes but will have to :nono:

Trust me we will have to...I've seen plenty of games..and I know where this one is heading...is it me or do Pakistan make sucky teams look good quite frequently.

i wonder where's Yasir, and Asim Kamal? The two players played well for Pakistan and couple of times saved pakistan's butt. You can't take out players just because of their poor performance in couple of matches or a series or two. Did Ausis took out Gili when he scored only one 50 in a year? Le't get this straight, Faisial Iqbal, Imran Farhat can't play. There's no point if they score runs in an inning or so but techinically are not strong. Butt's techinques are way better than Farhat but he hasn't been to fix his flaws. Why do we forget that Saeed always got out when he went to play his favourite through cover. Farhat boy can't catch, he catches like those guys who are new to cricket. His technique is totaly wrong!

I am a passionate and dedicated viewer and follower of Pak cricket since my childhood. We are as inconsistent a team as has ever been seen. Of late we had gotten over this, or some sterling efforts had papered over the cracks.

This team has the weakest pace line up Pak have fielded since the mid 1970’s. A look at the personnel will show this. We always had one quality quick, now that isnt the case.

Will we follow on. It depends entirely on the morning session tommorrow. If MoYo and Inzi can score, we can get 330, to avoid a certain inngs defeat. We lack players with the mental toughness of Dravid and Laxman to stay competitive AFTER following on.

Let us pray that Inzi and co eek out enough runs to stay in the game. One has to feel that with such an attack, winning any game this series will be a hard ask, less we bat 1st, pile up 500 and allow Danish to attack on day 5.

This is a great opportunity for players like Afridi, Akmal & Razak to score and try to save the match for Pakistan. However, I feel that the key partnership will be between Yousaf provided he doesn't get out early and Inzmam both being Pakistans best batsmen and hope one of them at least makes a big score. They are the backbone of the Pakistan team and really the first three are waste of time.

If they can get a decent partnership together and I can't see any runs why they shouldn't be able to then they will put Pakistan in a strong position to avoid the follow on as they will have capable player s like Afridi, Akmal and Razak.

However, worrying thing is that both dopey Inzi & Yousaf are such a bad runners between the wickets - one may get the other out.

Imagaine the Pakistan team without Inzi & Youhana, the Pakistan batting is likely to get even more more weaker once they retire. Pakistan batting may be ok on the flat tracks on the sub-continent but when they will travel overseas especially to places like Australia, South Africa and England they will struggle. Batsmens batting ability and technqiues will be exposed and will be a indicator how good a batsman some really is.

I don't think at present Pakistan has a batsmen apart from Inzi and Youhana who has the mental ability and technique to consistently score overseas especially on testing conditions and places.

When a new player emerges and scores plenty of runs in Pakistan, people tend to get really excited that we have found a new Saeed Anwar, Javed etc however when they go overseas they struggle. A prim example of this is Yasir Hameed, Imran Nazir etc and I am sure there are plenty of other names people may be able to think off.

My opinion is NOT based upon the the Pakistans batting display in the first test match but I have always maintained this opinion.

There is a long way to in the present series and there is enough time for the players to prove themselves, whether they will we will have to wait and see.