abhee bachay ne ek hi game khela hay aur usay drop kar do, shabash, tum cheetay log ho :k:
^ LoL.
Seriuosly yaar, suggestion of dropping Rana based on his looks? Thats a new one. Kya ho gaya Elahi dear :-D
rana naveed ul hasan isn't a good bowler he got lucky against india taking 4 wickets. he is a ordinary bowler but still someone like's him so much that he makes the starting 11
^ I know there are choices better than him. But as long as he is taking wickets (doesnt matter luckily or deservingly in one's opinion) he should make the team. We should give the credit where its due.
^ rao ifftikhar is bowling better than him in domestic cricket but he doesn't get a chance?
^ How can you compare domestic cricket with International One Dayers?
i just want to know y isnt younis khan dropped ![]()
*Originally posted by demitre: *
^ rao ifftikhar is bowling better than him in domestic cricket but he doesn't get a chance?
Rao Iftikhar was always going to get his chance sooner or later. He got one now. Hope he delievers.
skhan rana was chosen for national side for his apparently good domestic record. was he taking wickets at international before selection???????
rao was better @ the time rana was chosen for pak team?
skhan rana was chosen for national side for his apparently good dopmestic record. was he taking wickets at international before selction???????
Of course not, but now that he has done his debut and has been successful at the Int'l level, it will be hard for new comers to enter the team solely on the basis of domestic performances.
*Originally posted by skhan: *
it will be hard for new comers to enter the team *solely on the basis of domestic performances. *
??? so how do u expect new comers to break into the international level. wat more can ppl like rao do then play well @ domestic level.
There is nothing more they can do except wait for a lucky break. That's how Rana got in: Gul and Shabbir's injury. Right now, unless we drop Sami or Akhtar (not going to happen), there is no need for another pace bowler. Now if there is a really exceptional prospect like a left armer or an express bowler like Akhtar...then that's a different story.
This has been the norm in Pakistan Cricket. We throw youngsters in the water and see if they can swim rather then waiting for them to learn how to swim first. Several youngsters were wasted in their teens and never got another chance when they were more mature. (Shadab kabir, Shahid Nazir etc )
But we got lucky in some cases like Youhana (who played only 9 first class matches when he was chosen for the national team). So there are pros and cons for every practice, sometimes it repays and sometimes it wastes a talent.
In Rana's case, he got one or two good matches so far so it would be hard to drop him. Lets see if he can hold his place when Shabbir and Umar Gul come back.
^ good point i remember watching shahid nazir play. + i don't think unless rana really shines he'll be a regular in the starting 11 when shabbir and umar gul come back.
he has been lucky in so many occasions!!?
then we MUST keep such a player who is that lucky, if not performance of others, his luck might bring us the match ![]()
Does Pakistan has any "mardana" tournament in the near future :p
or they want to stay busy in improving their Bangali accent.
^ worry not rain pakistan can show their manliness against the world champions in december IN australia
*Originally posted by saby: *
But we got lucky in some cases like Youhana (who played only 9 first class matches when he was chosen for the national team).
and Sultan of Swing too !
Captain1
I would drop Rana mostly because his style of bowling will not be successfull on the Pakistani pitches, his first spell against India in the Samsung Series was literally painfull for me to watch. The looks comment is just BS to attract ur attention-which it did...... P.S I still say a guy 50 pounds overweight can't play international cricket. I don't think you understand the game if you think differently.
also Captain sahib, before you cry for Salman butt getting dropped there are enough guys in Pakistani domestic cricket who have been opening batting in years and years without getting a chance to play on the national team level and this kid gets his shot at 19....... smells of safarish to me, lets hope he proves me wrong.
rana is expensive no doubt but he takes wickets... against india in the samsung series even though he gave up 70 odd runs in his 10 overs... he took 3 wickets.... those of sehwag who was on fire at the time... ganguly and singh... sami was more expensive and didnt bowl much better.... i think dropping rana would be a bit harsh, and a blow to his confidence considering his performance in the icc trophy.... i think they should play rana, shoaib and rao as the 3 specialist pacers, and take sami out for the first match....sami needs to add more variety to his bowling, i dont think he has a slower ball.... pitch conditions in pakistan aren't really going to suit any bowlers to tell you the truth... swing usually comes into play in day/nighters, but theres only 2 being played... although i remember the peshawar match where shabbir was swinging the ball all over the place.. .that pitch had some grass on it....