PAK-NZ ODI Series 2004

Originally posted by the game: *
The Game Responds**:

*Saleem Elahi has Aamir Sohail's "parchi"; he doesn't even deserve to play international cricket(and unlike you sheep, I've been saying that ever since I saw him bat). People, That Is All.* 

I am not a Saleem's fan, but who'd you want to see in the side? Younis Khan? Saleem scored 20 runs, while our Captain scored 19, and V Captain 5.

Main problem is the opening pair, there is no stability, no confidence, and they were playing like morons, stupid shots.

Imran Farhat may have played well at home but guess what? they are not playing in Pakistan and this is not domestic Cricket. Anyway, Imran was very confused/nervous (why?), he needs to clam down and play smart cricket.

I think Younis should replace Saleem Elahi, but if Javed Maindad wants to keep Elahi in the 2 ODI then he should come on #4 or #5.

1 Yasir Hameed
2 Imran Farhat
3 YOYO
4 Younis Khan
5 Inzi Fatboy
6 Moin Khan
7 Azhar Mahmood
8 Shoaib Malik
9 Mohd Sami
10 Shoaib Akhtar
11 Shabbir Ahmed

*Originally posted by earthquake: *
Main problem is the opening pair, there is no stability, no confidence, and they were playing like morons, stupid shots.....

bhai sahib, you are right, they were playing in NZ and not in Pakistan. But that problem is not limited to "opening pair", it lasted till the middle order. The real thing is that our batsmen have hard time facing "moving" balls. All of them were almost on backfoot playing NZ medium pacers.

Younis is a much better and confident player than Elahi. At least Younis is technically right. Seeing Elahi bat makes me wanna puke. He walks across the stumps and gets out LBW a lot because of this. We need someone in the middle order who can play confidently and score quickly and as of now, Younis is the best candidate. Elahi always seems to be nervous and plays extremely slow. Elahi may be satistically better, but as a confident batsmen and fielder, Younis is definetly better.

*Originally posted by ChthonicPowers: *
I couldn't agree more with Talha.

thank you :D

Come on Guys, you ppl amaze me... seriuosly. I mean Yes Imran and Taufeeq failed in this match but why blame them? Do NOT forget that these two shared the world record for four consectuve openning partnerships. And they fail in one match and all guppies are blaming them. To me the most pathetic dismissal was of Inzimam. I wont change anything form this team apart from Shoaib replacing Shabbir.

We will win this series insha'allah.

One match lost and the knives are out and suddenly our openers are rubbish (the fact that they had 4 opening stands of over 100 does not matter), we dont have a middle order, the team is in disarray, blah, blah, blah. We just lost one game after winning five and that was also a close one. Before anyone says that those five matches were in Pakistan and this is NZ, we just beat them in a test series in NZ. So give them space and time. :rolleyes:

*Originally posted by saby: *
Come on Guys, you ppl amaze me... seriuosly. I mean Yes Imran and Taufeeq failed in this match but why blame them? Do NOT forget that these two shared the world record for four consectuve openning partnerships. And they fail in one match and all guppies are blaming them. To me the most pathetic dismissal was of Inzimam. I wont change anything form this team apart from Shoaib replacing Shabbir.

We will win this series insha'allah.

I agree...But I would rather keep Shabbir and kick out one of the three all-rounders. I think 3 all-rounders r too much in one team. Malik bowled really well, same with Mahmood and he batted good too in the death. Razzaq seems like the weak link. Saleem Elahi should definetly be replaced, by either Younis Khan, or we can keep Razzaq in the team.

Couldn’t agree with u more Ehsan bhai. :k:

*Originally posted by yaasir: *

I agree...But I would rather keep Shabbir and kick out one of the three all-rounders. I think 3 all-rounders r too much in one team. Malik bowled really well, same with Mahmood and he batted good too in the death. Razzaq seems like the weak link. Saleem Elahi should definetly be replaced, by either Younis Khan, or we can keep Razzaq in the team.

Yup. Drop Razzaq and give Mehmood more chances. In fact, I would prefer Mehmood for the tests and Razzaq for ODIs but since Razzaq seems to be going through a lean patch, and he already has played in the Tests, Mehmood should be brought back in and Razzaq should be kept on the benchs for a few matches.

Yasir And CathonicPowers--- Yaar tell me would you drop Razzaq? who won us two matches recently with the bat including The second highest chase in paksitan's history? Come on yaar, i would keep boht of them in the team, Both will come off insha'allah, Give them one or two matches together....

*Originally posted by saby: *
Yasir And CathonicPowers--- Yaar tell me would you drop Razzaq? who won us two matches recently with the bat including The second highest chase in paksitan's history? Come on yaar, i would keep boht of them in the team, Both will come off insha'allah, Give them one or two matches together....

OK. But only if you insist! :D

^^ LoLsss bari meherbani :D

I feel Pakistan has a solid one-day team (and its not just because I am in an India-Pak dosti mood these days). This team is much better than the Pak 2003 World Cup team. I will put my money on Pakistan in an India-Pak One day series with the current teams.
The batting goes down to No. 9 with Azhar Mahmood who I think is a test centurion....and the bowling , ofcourse, is very strong. That said, I feel there is an unnecessary reliance on Shoaib Akhtar for everything. I mean you lose a match and then everyone goes - Oh Well, we did not have Akhtar so this had to happen. This is pretty strange...because Sami, Shabbir and I would say even Mahmood and Razaqq are better bowlers than most supposedly good bowlers in the other sides - most noticeably India.
Plus you never know about Akhtar - half the time he is out of the team because of injury or ban..... infact I will be surprised if he plays even 75% of the matches in the coming India-Pak tour.... I guess what I am trying to say is that Pak strategists should look beyond Akhtar simply because they can afford to.

Pakistan VS New Zealand

Which team do u think will win the series? Do u think Pakistan can beat India in February if they beat New Zealand in the ODI series?

Re: Pakistan VS New Zealand

mehr? whats that? :confused:
Welcome to GS :flower1:

^us ney aap sey welcome kerney ko nai kaha us ney aap ko think kerney ko kaha hey:halo::stuck_out_tongue:

does Pakistan ever follow this concept? :-| If they win this series they are actually unlikely to win the other one.. umm just a thought :-p

Mien ne uske naam par ‘think’ kar liya thora sa, baqee aap kar lein :stuck_out_tongue: