Overcoming heartbreak..what would you do?

Here in life we have a lot of great threads on different relationship/life issues but I couldn’t find a general one on heartbreak so I thought i’d make this. I’ve made friends here who have gone through heartbreaking things like cheating spouses, broken rishtas due to personal/family issues. It would be nice to have a collective positive thread on how to overcome such heartbreak. What have you personally done? What have others you have known done? Has anyone had positive stories when they’ve given up hope and they find someone amazing? Do you have any words of encouragement, advice and hope for others? Do you have any songs, poems and quotes that helped you there. And most of all let us do dua/prayers for all in this situation or were in this situation. If you have any duas that have helped you please post here. Thanks in advance everyone :slight_smile: My duas/prayers for all in this situation. Just know this too shall pass…and there is light at the end of the day. There is a rainbow after rain and day after night. :slight_smile:

Re: Overcoming heartbreak..what would you do?

[TABLE="align: right"]

*This Too Shall Pass *

** If I can endure for this minute
Whatever is happening to me,
No matter how heavy my heart is
Or how dark the moment may be-

If I can remain calm and quiet
With all the world crashing about me,
Secure in the knowledge God loves me
When everyone else seems to doubt me-

If I can but keep on believing
What I know in my heart to be true,
That darkness will fade with the morning
And that this will pass away, too-

Then nothing in life can defeat me
For as long as this knowledge remains
I can suffer whatever is happening
For I know God will break all of the chains

That are binding me tight in the darkness
And trying to fill me with fear-
For there is no night without dawning
And I know that my morning is near.

...Helen Steiner Rice **

heartbreak can be overcome if you hibernate for a good SIX months! :slight_smile: my observation is based on how the bears take it…they sleep it out and when they wake up, they are ever ready to start a new fling! :stuck_out_tongue: :smiley: :cb:

Only one thing...........time....

haha true. i’d probably listen to sad Bollywood numbers or sad songs throughout..lol but also some happy ones like this. with no contact with the outside world I will soon resemble a bear. in the end we are alone. lets remember the good memories..forget those who don’t deserve our time and throw out the gham till we find someone who values our tears ..someone you can grow old with and love unconditionally Such a love is worth waiting for as it makes the love/rishtas before pale into insignificance.

truer words were never said BUttsb. Time heals all.

D2LK, bringing change to GS.

There is no actual right answer for this. You can over-come heart break by focusing and re-shifting your heart and energy into yourself. Most of us..find comfort in spirituality. Now..yes..as humans..these emotions bother us..but we have remind ourselves that..now we need to be better. Learn from it..and make sure..not to repeat negative stuff..

Overcoming heartbreak..what would you do?

Chocolate chip cookies and tall glass of cold milk works wonders

roll around in achar

Repeat the above step until contentment and solace is reached.

Have a few mooli wali parathay on stand by

Lol at achaar.

Praying. Driving in the dark. Crying. Thinking and reliving it. Until your mind gets numb and finally moves on.

Learning from your mistakes, Taking positive steps in future, and remembering Allah more & more. At the end its only HIM.

haha thanks yaar. :) bringing change one city at a time from delhi to Lahore then Karachi. phir uske baad Dhaka and katmandu. jk.

wow such a genius idea. never heard it before but its worth a try. im jk. :)

Thats a good thread. Some of you might remember me from my posts few months back when i broke up few days before marriage. At that time, i got very pessimistic and yeah it was a really hard time. Hardest things were feelings of humiliation in my social circle, feeling of being betrayed and many other things. At that time i used to think that if my life will not change drastically soon then i ll definitely need psychiatric help. But things got better eventually. I started learning a new language, i excelled more in my work and i started feeling more and more better.

Now, i think i am much more confident and happier than before. Most importantly, i am again in a relationship (got nikkahfied :D) and at times i feel like this was the best decision i ever took and my heart is filled with nothing but happiness.

So moral of the story IMO is:

1: Make yourself respectable in your eyes (you think low of yourself, you can never achieve happiness)
2: Make your own happiness priority (ofcourse without getting mean to others)
3: You cannot achieve success without taking some risks in your life.

Play video games. Everything except wii. Work as a volunteer on charities, nothing can top the satisfaction you get when you see a smile on someone's face. You forget about everything and it makes you feel better.

Good ideas. I find doing things to help others makes you think less about your own problems. There is always someone worse off than you who you can help. what’s wrong with wii? I was thinking about this thread and thinking heartbreak isn’t just something you get with marriage/romantic relationships. People can feel heartbreak when they have disagreements and things don’t work out with parents, relatives and even friends. Online long distance friends are easiest to give someone most hurt. They can also be most rewarding because you can talk to someone you might never meet in your real life. You can easily make friends online, spend time, get to know them well, invest time in them and care about their lives but in one moment they can delete you/cut you off without any reason or explanation. Unlike real life you can’t even really contact them. With some female friendships you may not even get a real explanation. Like meri ek dost thi jo Pakistan mein rehti hai and we met online, acchi dosti hui and she told me about her life and I told her about mine. despite time differences we made time to talk to each other and she told me she doesn’t have many close friends in real life and when she would have problems I would try to talk and help her. She promised me that when I came to visit her we would travel to Lahore, Karachi and Muree. We got to know each other over a long period of time and we shared our fav songs and all that. Then just randomly she said her family weren’t happy with the time she was spending on the net and this friendship. Maine socha theek hai we can cut down talking but we can still be friends and one day I can visit her in Pakistan. She said her parents were arranging a rishta and she was sorry but they wanted to stop contact but she appreciated my friendship. Similar situation happens with online female friends I make from India. I wish desi female friendships were more like desi male friendships. I don’t think guys ever give up on friends not even after marriage. I think she was maybe too scared of what others would think. I have Pakistani/Indian male friends online aur unke saath aise kabhi nahi hota. So you have to cautious with online friendships as well. lol I blame Bollywood for giving me unrealistic expectations. aise sirf movies mein hota hai

I don’t regret it though. I got to learn about her life and her dreams even if only for a few moments. even if it didn’t last forever I hope and pray she is happy and successful in her life.

:hayaa:

Thanks for replying dreamMerchant and sharing your story. I read your story few months ago even though at that time I was not a member. I am very happy to hear that you got through that rough patch, that you persisted and that you didn't give up. congrats on the nikkah. I wish you all the best and I agree completely with all 3 of your points.

Let me just sprinkle some water on you to wake you up :slight_smile: im sure you feel very special getting such a long message. you deserve a good friendship song for reading all of it. :slight_smile: