Over-done/cheesy Wedding things

Re: Over-done/cheesy Wedding things

nahi nahi, the molvi’s said it can happen :smiley:

Plenty of bollywood item song numbers with the same message that people already dance to :halo:

Lets all promote local talent then… **Meri phullan vali kurti.. hoyi bakhiyan tun tang ve **:stuck_out_tongue:

O… I should stop watching those stage dramas! o_O

So you’re saying no to “You may halal-kiss your bride?”

considering how traditional nikkah is done where the brother/dad takes the permission from the bride for the haan, does that mean the groom would kiss the bhai and that kiss would be passed on?? :eek: :hayaa:

It would be better if everyone can kiss the molvi for solemnizing the marriage

Does that song talk about her shirt is tight at her underarms? :smack: (yes I get what the song’s implying, but still :smack:)

and yes…maybe you should :hehe:

Don’t think Mrs Molvi would appreciate that

I think Bakhi means the ribcage.

I also think sometimes people bring to the forefront stuff that should be in the background. Slideshows (unless there's some speech/sound portion to it), singing songs at a mehndi, feeding the bride/groom sweets and various rasams like that, etc, that stuff can happen WHILE people are doing other things (like eating their dinner). Performances, speeches, they require focused attention from a central audience, but then people need to be conscious of the time.

@ekumung Ooh ok!

Wait, I’m a bit lost on this concept of “entertaining.” I wasn’t aware people went to weddings expecting to be actively entertained as in “stage show” type entertainment. I’ve actually never come across this at the weddings I’ve attended.

Isn’t getting together with people you don’t see on a regular basis and talking and mingling entertaining? :confused:

That’s what I thought as well, the wedding in itself is the entertainment of the night. But some posters have raised the point that they expect to be entertained/entertain their guests at the event.

I think it’s a lovely idea to keep the slideshow playing in the background, even if it has to be on repeat. But from what I’ve seen personally it’s something that you have to pay attention to. It’s the 10 minutes of entertainment, and then moving on to something else.

I apologise if my post came across as rather hostile! This was not my intention at all but I was busy with something else (decided to give making french macarons a try) and wrote it out rather quickly without rereading it. Lol. :D

The reason for my comment is that lately I’ve heard several comments regarding lavish weddings on here (not in this thread) that I found rather extremely negative and bordering on put downs. One would think that these individuals (the ones complaining) had a gun to their heads and were forced to attend these weddings, which I found a bit distasteful.

No one has made any comment of that nature in this thread but I guess I had that in mind since I read some of those prior to reading this thread.

I do!!

first of all plz differentiate between enjoying and being overly bold… and yes… being overly bold On her nikah/barat day seems odd to me. My opinion..!

I don’t agree. I have seen a lot of love marriages (& even mine is a love marriage too), being haydaar doesn’t make them look sad. Brides with eyes down and less tslking also seem beautiful!! The OP has asked for everyone’s opinion and thats mine!!

^ I think "fake sharmeeli" and "center-of-the-universe-princess" bride are both annoying. Brides should be at ease to behave as they feel most comfortable on their wedding day, nervous, excited, confident, happy, anxious, etc. As long as it's sincere, it's endearing. If it's all a show, it becomes very obvious, and it's annoying.

My cousin when she got married smiled and chatted with people and still looked very beautiful so don't get where the beauty comment came from. And she is one of the most, if not the most, hayaadaar woman I have come across.

Hayya doesn't come into it. Some people are more comfortable smiling some aren't. Calling either group shameless isnt correct, even if that's your opinion.

[quote=“S02ink “fake sharmeeli” and “center-of-the-universe-princess” bride are both annoying. Brides should be at ease to behave as they feel most comfortable on their wedding day, nervous, excited, confident, happy, anxious, etc. As long as it’s sincere, it’s endearing. If it’s all a show, it becomes very obvious, and it’s annoying.[/QUOTE”]

Agree.

[quote="“Shak, post:101, topic:316311"”]

My cousin when she got married smiled and chatted with people and still looked very beautiful. And she is one of the most, if not the most, hayaadaar woman I have come across.

Hayya doesn’t come into it. Some people are more comfortable smiling some aren’t. Calling either group shameless isnt correct, even if that’s your opinion.

Seriously? Yehi samajh aya bss?? Jo likha hy wo parho naa bhaai… kahani ka doosra rukh samajhna zaruri hy?
I never said anyone shameless. If thats what you have perceived then I can’t help. All I wrote is what I feel.

People wrote xyz and you responded with your opinion. I read your opinion and responded with my own. Or am I not allowed to dispute your opinion that anyone who smiles is shameless?:konfused:

LOL! The previous commenter’s remark reads like - ishq karnay ke liyay hayaa ki zaroorat nahin he, bas shaadi ke stage pe hayaa yaad ajaata hai :rolleyes:

I totally agree - fake sharmeeli-pan looks contrived especially when the couple’s pictures of when they were dating is playing in the background :smiley:

I find pretty much everything at weddings these days cheesy, but that's because I'm probably old and can't relate to anything :D.

What a salty thread.

You didn't come off as hostile at all! Or at least I didn't take it as hostile...I just meant that as a guest of these OTT and lavish weddings, you end up feeling like a prop in a staged production, not a guest lol.

Your post just reminded me of a couple in my family who were dating for years but at the engagement party they refused to even sit at the same table.. There was no physical contact and barely any acknowledgement of each other.. It was really bizarre and we sat there thinking ‘who are they kidding’ :smiley: