Only "one" child please

I have noticed a recent trend in desi families that they have decided to limit to have just one child.

I have heard:

1. In this day and age, 1 child is enough

2. We can afford to send one child to Ivy league schools - versus two children to average schools

3. Siblings don’t play an important part anymore

4. Just have time for one kid - soccer practices, karate, quran classes etc

5. One kids does the job for furthering the generation. Don’t have a desire to have more kids

For those of you who have decided to only have “one” child and don’t plan to further expand the umma (that’s a joke) - and don’t plan to have more children - what’s your reasoning behind it?

Re: Only "one" child please

aik bhee bohat hay - like that honda cd 70 ad :D

^ explain why? are you also an only child and you were content that way?

We're planning on having 3 :D

Thats what I used to think too, after my first...that aik bhi bohut hay...hehe, but now that the second kid has come along , I've just started to realize how good it is for both of them.

I remember taking my older child to parks etc, and him looking for play-mates, watching other kids play, but now, its just the two of them.they really dont need anyone else to have a good time.So having a play-mate is one of the biggest advantage I think.

Also , they are learning how to share -toys, parents, the spot-light?

Now that both of my parents are gone I can't imagine living life as an only child. What would I do without my siblings?

I was just kidding!

My 3 are the best of friends. I wouldnt want it any other way. Sure it was really tough in the beginning and sure they have their fights and arguments but the brotherly bond and love for each other will be there for the rest of their lives. They have their own best friends right in their very own house.

Thenumber of children to haveis an extremely personal choice. But if you're having a child - esp just one - to have a brilliant successful Ivy Leager then you're doing that for your own exaltation, not for the benefit of your child.

Re: Only “one” child please

One of the many reasons why i didn’t only have one child. I don’t want them to be alone… they can seek solace in each other… no person can replicate the bond between siblings.

Beautifully said Mama! :k:

I understand in this day and age that the pressures of society and personal financial situations can make people feel like one child is enough for them, but i honestly believe that siblings can bring so much to a child, that another relative, friend or even parent cannot.

I remember at school/college/Uni, you could sense the *einzelkinds *from a mile off… total “Little Emperor Syndrome”…

I used to want to be an only child. Sometimes at school I used to pretend I only had 2 more siblings as all my classmates only had 1 other sibling. I would'nt be alive if I didnt have my 4 siblings. Im SO proud to say that I have 4 very annoying, yet much needed siblings.

However, its better not to keep procreating if you are only going to end up resenting that child because they are not a Ivy leauge educated.

I think it's great to have more than one child. I have no further comments.

I have 2 and I like 1 or 2 more children :D
Because first of all ALLAH bring rizq to any child who is born so I don't care about affording it but I do care about woman's health.
And siblings are gift even they annoy you.
Unless you have a medical problem there is no reason to have just one child.

I'm tired - I can't make the corporate world turn and prosper; the house work pay the bills and be a good mother.

I want to spend my attention and time on ONE kid properly rather then have two equally neglected kids.

Sounds lame - okay then; I know my limits and I'm pretty close to have reached them.

Muniya, it doesnt sound lame at all! You are blessed to have your 1 child and be able to do all that you do! Knowing your limits I think is one of the most important parts - or actually the most important part - of being a great parent.

The only reason I would consider another child is because of what muzna said; what would my son do once hubs and I have passed on.

Re: Only “one” child please

The reasons anyway are always more emotional. So emotional :hinna:

Muniya your case is defferent so don't call yourself lame

^^ umm thanks I think...

this is why the thoughts of adopting are so dominant in my mind these days.....

I'm one of four. I can't imagine a life without siblings and I want three inshaallah. But if having one child is what a couple wants and feels they can handle best, I say go for it. I see so many people around me having children mindlessly without being ready for the awesome responsibility that it is. So in a way I appreciate that parents who want only one are so serious about the amount of time, energy, and responsibility that should be invested in a child.