Olympics 2004- Hockey

waisay even a draw between two teams is not bad for us.

^^How?

If Germany has an edge on all other teams and GBR, ESP and PAK have equal points than it will be decided on the goal differences, I guess. Or not ?

And a draw it is... 1-1 result. According to commentators, Spain has no chances of making it to the semis now with 2 draws and pakistan to play. Very interesting.

^ Commentators dint say that spain has NO chance.

*" 70:00 Full time. A top class game of hockey played at enormous speed and skill. GER struggled to create in attack which is a surprise, and ESP were as potent as ever in attack. ESP`s medal chances are not quite over with 2 draws, although they have PAK still to play. " *

Results of all the matches played today :

Korea 3 - 2 Great Britain
Argentina 2 - 2 Australia
India 4 - 2 South Africa
*Pakistan 7 - 0 Egypt *
Germany 1 - 1 Spain
Netherlands 4 - 3 Newzealand

*Originally posted by smooth_guy: *
^^How?

If Germany has an edge on all other teams and GBR, ESP and PAK have equal points than it will be decided on the goal differences, I guess. Or not ?

yeah Pakistan has an edge on goal difference over all teams so far. The thing is, the draw against Germans have hampered Spain's chances because they could not beat Korea. Tu acha hai ke it is out of the race as early as possible. Dont forget to mention Korea though, they have made a great start to the competition.

Spain 1- Germany 1

Well here is the table

after today’s matches. We have 3 tough matches ahead of us (GBR, KOR, ESP) so only EGY is out of the running really. All others could still qualify for the semis.

The other group is also at an interesting stage with IND still in the hunt after today’s win over RSA.

Holland wins two out of two. The semis are close now :k:

well done to Pakistan as well

sorry saby bhai, didnt realize u had such a soft corner for spain... certainly didnt mean to hurt ur feelings :-) Just joking, on a serious note, they DID say that for a few seconds, although they changed it to the comments u quoted later. But u r right, the way results r coming, it is still pretty open.

*Originally posted by Jayzee: *
sorry saby bhai, didnt realize u had such a soft corner for spain... certainly didnt mean to hurt ur feelings :-) Just joking, on a serious note, they DID say that for a few seconds, although they changed it to the comments u quoted later. But u r right, the way results r coming, it is still pretty open.

Aray nahi yaar, I have NO soft corner for Spain. I wish they were out already :D They are a dangerous side. I just wanted not to be in a comfort zone

Organizers are really pleased to see large number of hockey fans filling the stadiums. Specially Pakistanis who showed up in thousands in Pakistan-Germany match.

[thumb=H]pak-ger12750_5027548.JPG[/thumb]

holy smokes. Pakistan 7-0. Good Job, mashallah!

Bring us Gold!!

and pakistan will beat korea for sure…

:mudhosh: :mudhosh: :lahol:

Good win for PAKISTAN.

:jhanda:

Half time result :eek:

South Africa 2 - 1 Netheland

NED- RSA = 3 - 2
DARN!!!
RSA was winning 2-0.

*First half score: Pakistan 0 - 0 Korea *

Kashif Jawad missed an open goal and shakil abbasi hit the post. Though its a very fast-paced game with Korean defence is as tight as ever.

Rehan Butt scores for Pakistan. Beautiful goal. Pakistan 1 Korea 0

Yeh huii na baat!!

Rehan Butt scores the first goal - Pak 1 - Kor 0