*Originally posted by funguy: *

This one for the archives

I know...How sad one life could be that he has to become a pakistani. :p

Shame on me !!
Cant take so much of humiliation.

*Originally posted by Goliko: *

^^I don't think you read this article very carefully...I guess these are the views of Hassan Sardar **,Anwar Ahmed Khan** & **Hanif Khan ,former Olympians & Players of great regard:

Many former greats have been given the chance to stremline hocky affairs but they messed it up. It is tragedy that all former greats do is criticize. Yes we couldnt do justice but IMO we belong in top for but unfortunately have nothing to show for it.

Sorry i missed that thing. I actually read this article in the news today, anyways.

Australians drubbed Spain 6-3 in second semi to reac final.

Spain ko sirf humaray khilaaf hee full form dikhaani thi.

*Originally posted by saby: *
Sorry i missed that thing. I actually read this article in the news today, anyways.

Never mind....Yes it is from 'The News'.

Final score - ESP 3 AUS 6
**An impressive display from AUS who completely outplayed an in form ESP team. AUS have hit form just at the right time, and NED will have a tough time in the gold medal match. ESP will play GER for the bronze. * *

WOW, Pakistan beat India yet again. Way to go! Congrats. New Zealand is next.

okee, ppl, thanks for ur support against Germany…i now need ur prayers against Australia.

Come on Holland, show them you are the best hockey team of the last decade!!! :jhanda: :smiley:

Womens Hockey Final:
Germany Beat Holland 2-1......
Germans were the 7th Ranked team before entering the tournament & they finished at the top.

PAK beat NZL 4 - 2 to finish fifth overall. Some consolation for PAK team.

:jhanda:

Todays matches:

India beat Korea 5-2 (7/8 Playoff )

Argentina beat Egypt 4 -2 (11/12 Playoff)

Pakistan beat New Zealand 4 - 2 (5/6 Playoff)

South Africa 1 - Great Britain 1~ Great Britain won on PSC 4 - 3 (9/10 Playoff)

Positions from 5th to 12th:

5-Pakistan
6-Newzealand
7-India
8-Korea
9-Great Britain
10-South Africa
11-Argentina
12-Egypt.

At least something.

Pakistan had all the ingredients to finish in top four and two convincing wins in classification games shows that. Too bad we screwed up our match against Spain.

Well done nevertheless :k:

Pakistan's performance in Olympics Hockey 2004.

GROUP MATCHES

[thumb=H]group_matches12750_6664567.JPG[/thumb]

CLASSIFICATION MATCHES

[thumb=H]classification_matches12750_6664567.JPG[/thumb]

A medal would have been great but nonetheless not a bad performance I would say. Just one bad day and we were out from tourney.

Men : ABBAS hat trick leads Pakistan to fifth place 27 Aug. 2004

ATHENS 27 August - Pakistan beat New Zealand 4-2 on the final day of the Men's Olympic Hockey Tournament securing fifth place in the final ranking. Pakistan's Sohail ABBAS became man of the match scoring a penalty corner hat trick.

It was an evenly played match in the end, with New Zealand in control in the first 35 minutes and Pakistan coming back to dominate in the second half to take the win.

New Zealand opened the scoring in the 16th minute when Gareth BROOKS netted his first goal of the tournament on a Wayne McINDOE pass. In the final minute of the first half, ABBAS levelled the score by converting Pakistan's fourth penalty corner. However, New Zealand were 2-1 up at halftime as Darren SMITH scored from a penalty corner with time expired in the half.

After the break Pakistan took full advantage, scoring twice when New Zealand's Dean COUZIN was sent off for 10 minutes at the 46th minute. ABBAS scored his second penalty corner goal just one minute later making it 2-2. Pakistan increased the pressure and took a 3-2 lead when Kashif JAWWAD scored from open play in the 55th minute on a Rehan BUTT pass.

ABBAS completed his penalty corner hat trick in the 68th minute to make the final score to 4-2. It marked his 10th penalty corner goal of this tournament. ABBAS now tops the top scorer list with 11 goals, leading Korea's LEE Jung Seon by one goal.

For the Kiwis sixth place marks their best performance at the Olympics since they won the gold in 1976. Pakistan's fifth place was slightly worse than their result in Sydney four years ago when they finished fourth.

==========================================

Men : Classification 5th-6th Match 38 / NZL 2-4 PAK 27 Aug. 2004

ATHENS, 27 August - Comments from Oltmans ROELANT (PAK), Sohail ABBAS (PAK) and Mitesh PATEL (NZL), following Pakistan's 4-2 victory over New Zealand in the Men's Classification 5th-6th, Match 38.

Oltmans ROELANT (PAK) - Coach

On the match:

"It was very difficult for us to play these classification matches. We were disappointed because we wanted to be in the semifinals. In the second half we played better, more like the level that is needed to win medals."

On the future of the team:

"I can't answer this in a few words. It's a big discussion. We have to see what happened here and we have to improve our game."

"We have two to three very talented players. This team has quality and it can reach the highest level."

Sohail ABBAS (PAK) - Defender

On the match:

"We expected to be on the medal stand, so fifth place is a little bit disappointing. We played well in this tournament."

On scoring three goals in the match against New Zealand:

"I feel very happy, but the main thing that counts is that we won."

Mitesh PATEL (NZL) - Midfielder

On the match:

"This is our best position in the Olympics for more than twenty years [since New Zealand won the Olympic Games Hockey gold at Montreal in 1976]. We trained for six months, living in the same town, and we have been away for two months."

"It was a long preparation. Now we will participate in the Champions Trophy and we hope to do something good."

On the team's expectations:

"We were aiming higher and we are disappointed at not being able to achieve something better. But such a success has not been achieved in twenty years."

Germany takes bronze after beating Spain 4-3

Last goal came in extra time, exciting finish indeed :k:

Australians have clinched the gold medal for the first time in their history. They beat the Netherlands 2-1 after a golden goal

Thouroughly deserving win. They dominated This match but their abysmal finishing let them down. They wasted 8 penalty corners before converting one for the golden goal.

Netherlands have missed the hattrick of gold medals but their strategy in this match was inexplicable, either they were forced to defend or were sitting back, didnt work.

:eek:

:crying:

Holland lost 1-2 to Australia…and only take silver

Chalo.. chutti hui. Warna Nescio ne hamaray kaan khaa jaanay thay. Aussies phir bhi shareef log hein.

Anyway, well done Australia and Holland and ... who is third??? Germany, right? Well done all.

PakistaniyouN... waapis te puhncho zara... tuada vi haal chaal puchiyay.

saby: Holland knew that how bad they are at penalties in football, that expert they are in hockey…

Faisal: ur right…ab to koi mazza hi nahi aana :bummer:

Good thing you didn’t pick up the rest of my urdu. Jaan bachi sau laaknooN payay.

Cheers! :k: