Olympics 2004- Hockey

so far India 1 Argentina 0

IND - ARG = 2-2
Yet again IND concedes goal in the last minute!
So IND - PAK on Wed at 20:30 Greek time.
Go PAK, GO!

Told you so.. :snooty:

Why the hell they didn try to meet in Semis. :wink:

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *

Why the hell they didn try to meet in Semis. ;)

Nahin yaar medal kar dar tha. ;)

since Pakistan is out of contention for medals, I want you all to cheer for Holland in the remaining matches :hula::jhanda: I can need all the support I can get :smiley:

No Pakistan no hockey. I would like Germans to take the gold. :p

Is anyone going to webcast the PAK - IND match today? Link?

Hockey-Olympians lament future of Pakistan hockey

By Abdul Waheed

KARACHI, Aug 25 (Reuters) - Pakistan's failure to recapture its glory days in the Athens Olympics hockey cemented its place as a poor cousin to cricket despite being the national sport.

Before the Olympics there were high hopes Pakistan would be able to recapture the form that saw it crowned World Champions in 1994 and Olympic Champions in 1984.

The hopes were fuelled by the appointment of the high profile Dutch coach Roelant Oltmans and the form of ace penalty corner striker Sohail Abbas.

But a 4-0 drubbing by Spain and a 1-2 defeat to Germany as well as wins over Egypt and South Korea has led to concerns over its future and placed Oltmans in the firing line.

"The coach is responsible for Pakistan not making the semi finals. Our team was strong enough to at least fight for the bronze medal," national selector Hasan Sardar said on Wednesday.

"I fear for the future of the sport in Pakistan. When are we going to see an Olympic medal again from our hockey side," lamented former Olympian and captain Anwar Ahmed Khan.

Pakistan's inconsistent form in the last decade has seen cricket replace hockey as the most popular sport in the country, which has led to a drying up of hockey talent and problems for the Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF).

"Where are the players who can serve as heroes and role models. What is the incentive for more youngsters to take up hockey. It is natural for every youngster to want to be a cricketer now," former Olympian Hanif Khan said.

Sardar and Hanif were members of the team that cruised past Australia and Germany to win the Olympic final in 1984.

Pakistan hockey had to wait for 10 years before capturing another major grand slam title, the World Cup at Sydney in 1994.

But since then the team has failed to win any major world title and even though Pakistan ended its group matches in Athens with an 8-2 victory over Britain.

"I don't understand how a team can display such poor form after playing so well against Germany and Korea. There is something seriously wrong in the side and I don't think even Oltmans can do much about it," Sardar said.

*Originally posted by Goliko: *
Pakistan's inconsistent form in the last decade has seen cricket replace hockey as the most popular sport in the country
The guy must be smoking something potent when he wrote this. For as long as I remember, cricket has always been more popular in Pakistan. People in Pakistan would generally only took note of Hockey when we'd win something. I am talking as far back as early 80's when Akhtar Rasool led us to Asian Championships. There was never any doubt that cricket was always more popular.

^ It's Mr Waheed's Opinion & you are allowed to disagree with that...
Coming back to Hockey :
New Zealand 4 Korea 3
New Zealand into 5th-6th Position Play Offs

Netherlands have defeated German 3-2 in first semifinal and are in their third successive olympic final.

Another Final for Netherlands:
*" NED celebrate in their defensive circle. A strong and convincing game from NED, who are showing good form at the right time. A brave effort from GER, who did not have enough firepower in attack at the end of the day, and also were wasteful of their 4 corner chances. Vogels (NED keeper) played well and can be credited as a significant influence on the game. " *

chalo..atleast ek guppy to khush ho jaaye

I dont agree with Waheed Khan or whoever it was that the future of hockey is bleak. Disappointments of last decade cannot be erased in just one year or so. Pakistan have shown continuous signs of improvement under Oltmans and I would give him full command till worldcup 2006.

Spain in trouble.AUS leading 3-1

India vs Pak is at 0-0 in 2nd half.

Pakistan is leading 2-0. :bhangra:

Yahan bhi be-izzati ho gayee..I m truning Pakistani :jhanda:

PAK 3 IND 0 Full Time

*Originally posted by saby: *
I dont agree with Waheed Khan or whoever it was that the future of hockey is bleak. Disappointments of last decade cannot be erased in just one year or so. Pakistan have shown continuous signs of improvement under Oltmans and I would give him full command till worldcup 2006.

^^I don't think you read this article very carefully...I guess these are the views of Hassan Sardar **,Anwar Ahmed Khan** & **Hanif Khan ,former Olympians & Players of great regard:

"The coach is responsible for Pakistan not making the semi finals. Our team was strong enough to at least fight for the bronze medal," national selector Hasan Sardar said on Wednesday.**

*"I don't understand how a team can display such poor form after playing so well against Germany and Korea. There is something seriously wrong in the side and I don't think even Oltmans can do much about it," Sardar said. *

*"Where are the players who can serve as heroes and role models. What is the incentive for more youngsters to take up hockey. It is natural for every youngster to want to be a cricketer now," former Olympian Hanif Khan said. *

"I fear for the future of the sport in Pakistan. When are we going to see an Olympic medal again from our hockey side," lamented former Olympian and captain Anwar Ahmed Khan.

This one for the archives