Observations in Lahore....

Re: Observations in Lahore....

ponca city oklahoma is cleaner than NYC, chicago, LA and miami. does it make it a better city?

bangor maine, has less crime than sanfrancisco and honolulu, does it make it a better city?

aik toh log personal barri jaldo ho jatay hain, just goes to show they dont have any real reply. thanks for proving that :)

i am not interested in the claims, it has a rich history and has been a part of so much, from old royal trysts, to wars, to literature, to certain important resolutions.

character and personality..something that rome has, london has, paris has, new york has, chicago has, but not milton keyenes, or milwaukee, or ponca city oklahoma.

if u cant understand that, then I guess it explains why u think islamabad is some great city.

it is a nice, clean, well organized, convenient, qasba. that much I can buy. and for a qasba that size it is a moderately fun place. i will even give you that

i knew you will eventually wisen up :)

By any chance are you from LAHORE

no seriously, it has become a repetitive anthem to call islamabad out and paint it as some sort of a place to stay away from. Its probably one of the few places in Pakistan, where everyday Pakistan actually DOES WORK! Traffic flows like it should. Most cops actually follow the rules. Katchra isn't just thrown in the back alleys or in drainage ditches. Its civilized as it should be. What is it then? Jealousy? that would be my best guess. but its the fact that lahoris and karachiites are too proud of the laurels of their cities, and they tune out the current state of affairs...hence the denial and jealousy!

character and personality..something that rome has, london has, paris has, new york has, chicago has, but not milton keyenes, or milwaukee, or ponca city oklahoma.
no no i insist, what do you mean by character and personality. Enlighten me yaar.

What are you talking, Desi's don't like all this stuff

Relatively, all those cities, big and small have some sort of a cleanliness standard. A standard that all those cities are already well above. Your argument is irrelevant. Standard doesn't even exist in pakistani big cities. It only applies to rich areas.

wtf? YES!

lol exactly! thats why lahoris and karachiites hate isloo it seems.

Actually, this is not only true in case of whole city but also even case of a whole neighborhood. I remember I went Defense in Lahore to visit someone and he told me that they've been living there for over a year and the only one they know is the next door neighbor...that too out of perchance otherwise no one knows the next door neighbor just like USA.

Every few times I went to Defense I got the same sort of feeling that you get from a apartment complex in USA: No one knows the next person living. You've shopping stores and fast food chains like McDonald's etc but no human touch. I can't imagine living in Pakistan and not knowing my next door neighbor...or 5th door neighbor on 3rd street over for that matter!

nope, never even been to lahore or islamabad :D

well the suburban sprawl phenomenon is the same everywhere. in my home in US if i dont want to talk to my nieghbours I dont need to, get in teh car in garage, drive away, no need to see anyone, but we make an attempt. in comparison you go closert to teh city with hgher population density, ppl will know thwir neighbours more. thats the case with areas like defence as well.

suburbs for the most part are bland..i say for the most part because that is not always the case.

and cities without a vibrant commercial, entertainment, arts, entertainment district are basically a collection of suburbs and thus mostly bland and boring.

lol then i can also participate in this debate

there is a huge diff between general cleanliness of NYC vs lets say des moines iowa. standards or no standards, thats a fact.
but NYC is a btter city than ponca city can ever hope to be.

there is less crime than islamabad in chuk#42. does that make it a better 'city'? :)

PS: wa' alaikum wtf

Re: Observations in Lahore…

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=265107 after seeing this i agree that LAHORE has good looking girls

bhai sahab, you are stretching the argument to irrelevancy once more. Things are not chaotic in Islamabad, and the ideal everday street level pakistan WORKS like it should in its streets. That never happens or won't anytime soon in lahore.

atleast those are my basis for my dislike of the big cities in subcontinent.

yep so its an organized, well maintained, clean, efficient, boring, qasba.

we are talking two diff things, u are talking about better organization and cleanliness, I am talking about history and traditions and fun and culture.

i dont like big cities or small cities of the sub continent. they dont reach the standards of global cities anyways in fun nor in infrastructure.

you are talking about the past then, as I am about the present. What happened centuries ago does not help pakistan in functioning on a basic level. To me, what good is lahore when the basics are not reliable. i mean you can't even get water, let alone clean water in most niebourhoods on a regular basis for starters. what is so great about that?

no no..but wait. there is the shahi mosque in lahore that was built a few hundred years ago.

alig, you’re dumb as a door knob. you deserve to live in islooooo the great. :smack:

and youre as dumb and ugly as lahore. hooray i win the kindergarten slugfest.