Obesity in Pakistani people

I’m not talking about obesity due to medical condition/genetics, have cousin who has those issues and have seen that struggle. But rather I’m talking about I’m fat because my stubby little fingers can stay away from the halwa.

I ask, why is it tolerated to see uncles with pregnant bellies or rotund aunties who say that “you look like you don’t eat at all”? yea lady I prefer NOT be wheezing after a short walk or climbing a flight of stairs, thankyouverymuch. I mean it’s downright abusive to be eating with no limits, and then complaining about your various heart problems and medical issues (what DO you expect?)

Why is this obesity epidemic not recognized in the Pakistani community? Sure there is stray cougar-aunty or ‘fit’ uncle who actually hits the gym to mack on the ladies, but in general we don’t discuss this very important issue as much as we should.

I wonder about this as well..people say our country is poor people have no food etc yet I see hatay katay motay taazy log, whether they be beggers or not, everywhere I look :hmmm:

Re: Obesity in Pakistani people

Only an 'aunty' would discuss other aunties (and their weights, etc.) and go out of their way to make it their business.

It is sad. Nowadays I'll see veggies alongside the dinner buffets people host and nobody eats them.

^ its because in desi mindset, eating vegies, daal and things like that are considered food for the poor.. people associate meat with being rich...

People just dont value life enough... and they should. Sure you should eat watever u want... but it should be in moderation.

we do discuss it, but in such ways that instead of making person realize the problem and try to overcome it, we mock it and we make fun of it. but again it is not just a Pakistani problem, its a world wide problem. i was reading it somewhere that "Today there is lot more food growing then ever before, but so is the hunger. there is load more poverty than ever before and it is all because of selfish desires".

but you notice this problem among Pakistani people specifically because you see the same hunger in their eyes also. here you have to understand that Pakistan is a developing nation for a reason. when the country is going through economic instability, political, and social crisis (for the past 60-70 years) then fear of losing everything is very high, and transferring it from generations, after generations.

our dilemma is we are not camels.

"pata nahi yeh roti phir kahany ko milay na milay. isleya itna khao itna khao....k phat jao :p".

ps. when Hazrat Abu Bakar RA migrating, he left everything he had in his house. the only thing he took with him was the name of ALLAH SWT. and i doubt any of us can completely submit him/herself to ALLAH SWT.
so its just not food, we have "bhoook" for everything.

jeez, people, leave the "sehatmand" desis alone.

Yaar i have seen some ppl eating like they have never seen food in their lives. They gobble it as its the first and last time they are seeing the food. Usually u find such ppl in parties n marriages functions or at any that place where the food is FREE :halo:

I love it how the auntys whinge how they dont eat a thing and still end up fat :)

We dont discuss it because food isn't abundant in Pakistan. I hardly ever see a Fat individual in Pakistan and mostly people are skinny. Also it also goes to our roots as we loved to eat before the British had to come and mess it all up and make us hit the industrial age! :(

My husband says “I live to eat, not eat to live” :smack: I’m glad he goes to the gym.

On a serious note, I’ve seen more obese people here in USA than in Pakistan… the level of obesity here is crazy.

there arent as many obese ppl in pak well i havent seen many on my visits but with the desi mentality thing i agree that mose desis see eatin daal and veggies as something bad when actaully it will do u more gud in the long run but wat do they know

I think there is lack of diet control. Our desi community is rigged with crippling medical conditions, which could be controlled or eradicated if people had a better understanding towards their well being, diet and exercise regimen.

People don't do as much labour work, as they once did. The introducation of fast food chains in Pakistan has also deviated people from the traditional fare. Processed foods are making things worse and the lack of exercise, as well a degree of laziness.

where do you guys all go in pakistan? in all of my visits there, ive seen one really obese guy, and everyone else is a twig.

MIA, Americans are not a good example to follow in this regard.

Obesity has become the pandemic of this Century !

I haven't really seen OBESE brown people. Some I believe a overweight, but for the most part i think the "fatter" younger ones (i.e. teens, 20s) are part of the upper limit of the normal BMI. I have seen the odd obese person here or there. Older people: Women- i can't blame them- they have their kids and don't know any better i.e. to lose the weight right after they give birth- it's not a matter of laziness, I think it's more something that the person doesn't realize until it's too late. Men- I know some uncles who walked to reduce their weight, but really i can't picture most of them going to the gym. I guess u have to understand that going to the gym is a relatively new cultural trend. I mean until the 80s most people were living a pretty modest lifestyle, only now people are living better.

I've seen a LOT of obese people in America- obese meaning like they're spilling over their clothes. I believe this is more of a social problem than anything else- parents both working can't really put the time to make a wholesome meal. Unhealthy food is much cheaper and filling than healthy food. It's much easier to pack a kid's lunchbox with 25 cent chips bought a month ago than it is to buy fresh celery for $2/lb, wash it, and put it in a container.

Yes, there is a certain problem of self restraint. But I think we have to consider many things- social norms (i.e. an uncle getting used to the concept of the gym), ability to provide a healthy meal (food choices, time) and knowledge of current health information.

Who says only pakistanis r fat i see really fat Caucasians mostly ladies both young n old in McDonald's, KFC n all other fast food resturaunts. Obesity is a world wide issue. Our ppl r not always fat just more relaxed n chubby :) but the new generation is getting more body conscious which is good. however i don't think Food is the real culprit here. i think its the lack of excercise. excercise is the most dreaded thing in our culture. ppl esp the middle aged group just avoids to do excercise of any kind. u hardly find Pakistanis that love to engage in biking ,hiking, swimming or skiing.

I don't think you should single out Pakistani people--the problem of obesity is rampant in pretty much all communities, but least of all Asians (south and east). Sure there may be a few overweight individual Pakistanis, but overall its a problem for every ethnicity, esp in teh US.

Anyone want donuts?