NZ tour of Pakistan

*Originally posted by Zoab_Khan: *
Aamir Sohail should be fired. He's only good for creating problems. I don't know if you guys remember but he was bashing Javed Miandad and the coaching in one of the games vs South Africa ODI. He did the same acouple of times and one of the Pakistani writers wrote an article about this cat. He's weak. He really pisses me off with his low blows at everyone except for Tauqir Zia.

Saleem Elahi should not be included in the team. He hasn't done anything to be included in the team. Plus i heard his brother had some business relationship with the sponsors. As usual, pakistani's will be pakistani's.

just 6months ago PCB is talking about how Younis Khanwill be groomed to be the next captain. And now he is dropped? Imran khan, PCB all talk about consistency. I don't see any consistency in this team when they take out one of their best batsmen. Everyone struggles. Herschelle Gibbs was struggline too. But he didn't get benched over a long period of time.

You guys need to get off Imran Farhats jock strap also. He hasn't performed in any ODI yet. Shahid Afridi should be included in the team. He is a better option than some of the monkeys included in this team.

I think you should be included in the team ...

It is about time Sohail started behaving responsibly: Miandad](http://www.jang-group.com/thenews/nov2003-daily/08-11-2003/sports/s1.htm)

The captain and coach are involved and responsible in team’s performance and should be consulted in selection matters, says former skipper

Pakistan coach Javed Miandad admitted candidly for the first time on Friday that he was not happy with the insistence of the chief selector to bypass the captain and coach generally in selection matters and particularly while finalizing the pool of players for the One-day series against New Zealand.

“No. Neither was I consulted nor Inzamam-ul-Haq by Aamer Sohail or any other selector when they finalized the 22 players for the series against New Zealand. We didn’t know about it till it was in the press,” he told ‘The News’.

Miandad, under whose guidance and coaching the Pakistan team has shown good progress since the World Cup and the results of which could be seen in the recent 1-0 Test series win over South Africa, said he would be speaking to the Chairman Tauqir Zia upon his return from abroad on this issue.

“I think it is about time the chief selector started behaving more responsibly and stopped indulging in such things. Even if the selectors have the authority to select probables for any match or series without taking our views, logic and practice demands that they should atleast talk to us. After all, it is the captain and coach who are practically involved and responsible for the team’s performance and daily training,” he pointed out.

**“We have been working with the team and with several players under a long term plan and have designated their roles for the coming series against New Zealand. And then we learn that we are just given a pool of players who we have to start working afresh with. What sort of selection logic is this.” **

Miandad said he could not understand the logic of having four openers in the side after the superb performance of Taufeeq Umar and Imran Farhat against South Africa.

"More importantly, for one-day matches we have decided to give Yasir Hameed an extended run as a opener so that we could strike the right balance in the team. What are we supposed to do with four openers? he asked.

The former Test captain who remains Pakistan’s leading Test run-getter in 124 matches said if the captain and coach were not consulted by the selectors how could they work out a long term plan.

“I know which player has made how much progress and where he is headed for. I spend hours out there early morning and everyday making them train and work hard. And we are seeing the results slowly. **What is the harm if the selectors sit down with us and take our views and than finalize the list of probables. That is my main complaint.” ** * tututuut, i think Aamir does it on purpose, jsut to stamp his authority *

He pointed out that there was no use having 22 players in the camp for the New Zealand series. “If a fast bowler or spinner has performed well at the domestic level he can easily be sent to the national academy and judged further. But by constantly changing players the selectors are undermining the confidence of the players.” Miandad also made it clear that he had come to work as coach on public demand and for the sake of Pakistan cricket. "My knowledge of cricket is far greater than many others put together. And no one can question my commitment or sincerity. I know the masses are happy with my appointment as coach because they know I am sincere. But if this is the way the chief selector is going to behave then I will have no second thoughts about resigning." *For Godsake , NO :smack2: *

He also made it clear that he had no problems with any of the players including captain Inzamam-ul-Haq and things were progressing well in the team. “Things have settled down and there is a good communication level between myself and other players. Inzamam has been very cooperative.”

“The way the probables have been announced without consulting us has upset our preparations for what is going to be a tough series against New Zealand.”

“New Zealand are a very good one-day squad and their bowlers have improved a lot in one-day cricket. We have to be very well prepared against them.”

Miandad also expressed amazement at statements made by some former players that it was expected that Pakistan would beat South Africa at home as not many teams had achieved this in Pakistan. This was an obvious reference to a recent interview of former captain Imran Khan to a foreign newspaper in which he said Pakistan’s true test will come against India.

“Pakistan in the last five years has lost at home to many teams and has generally struggled for different reasons. We only won against South Africa because we are now managing to form a combined and effective unit and a lot of hard work has gone into the team and young players after the World Cup.”

Aamir Sohail is abusing his authority. There are no two opinions about that. He can criticize anyone (including the coach) and gets away with it, he selects players and if they perform (Imran Farhat) its because of him and if they fail (Mohammad Hafeez) its because of Coach (Mohammad Hafeez)?? What kind of stupid logic is that? If you take credit for success of a player then you should to that for a failure as well.

Aamir Sohail has been a favorite cricketer for me and his outspoken approach was something many pakistanis liked but he is turning into a sorta politician who would do anything to remain in Ge's good books. Just like someone reminded me a few days ago i.e. 'Power corrupts'

i dun knwo why they have included taufeeq umar into the squad.. he isnt a one day material… :smack2:

amir sohail.. ko almost har koi hi dislike karte hian… to phir wo abhi tak selecting committe main kar kya rahya hian.. is thr anyone on his top that can fire him :hoonh:

Aamir Sohail is a good for nothing. Uneducated piece of crap.

yeah drop Imran Farhat, Taufeeq Umar, Yasir Hameed and include M Hafeez, Shahid Afridi and find someone whose performance is of that calibre (Hafeez and Afridi) :k:

If for once in my life I could kick somone's butt I would kick Amir Sohail for sure. I wish Rameez takes the place of Gen Zia, he is perfect for that job.

Kiwi players can opt out](BBC SPORT | Cricket | Kiwi players can opt out)

New Zealand Cricket will allow its players to make personal decisions over whether to tour Pakistan.
They are due to arrive later this month and play five one-day internationals.

Officials have acknowledged, however, that some may feel uncomfortable about returning after their 2002 tour was cut short after an explosion in Karachi.

“I don’t expect many to opt out, but I can understand if one or two are doubtful,” said NZC chief executive Martin Sneddon.

They are satisfied with security arrangements for the tour, which will be restricted to Faisalabad, Rawalpindi and Lahore.

But a number of players were left traumatised by events in Karachi last July when 11 people died after a suicide bomber drove a car into a parked bus close to the team hotel.

It happened just three hours before a Test match was due to start and prompted the New Zealand team to return home.

Captain Stephen Fleming said at the time that the incident would “haunt” him for the rest of his life.

“I saw things people shouldn’t see,” he said.

The New Zealand team are currently in India where they are taking part in a triangular series, also involving Australia.

If any player decides to opt out of the Pakistan trip, the clear indication is that it would not be held against them when future squads are selected.

Who would you guys pick as a replacement for Shoaib Akhtar in the first two games?

I would like to see Abdul Rauf given a chance.

Sami
Shabeer
Rauf
Danish
Shaoib Malik/Razzaq

These guys should be bowling in the first two games,IMO.

NZ can still opt out? What's wrong now.

*Originally posted by a1kashur: *
NZ can still opt out? What's wrong now.

NZ is not opting out, they are giving their players to opt out if they so wish.

General Tauqir Zia Stops Over In Miami

Nov 08 (PNS) - Lt General (retd) Tauqir Zia, Chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Friday made a stop over in Miami en route to London after attending an ICC sponsored meeting in Kingston, Jamaica.

At the Miami International Airport, the PCB Chief was received by Javed Fatemi, a local Pakistani community activist and travel consultant along with this writer.

The retired general, in reply to a question about holding of the next World Cup Cricket Tournament in the Caribbean said that there was still plenty of time and accordingly the West Indies would make efforts to hold this mega event in a befitting manner. He said the Caribbean folks were looking forward to this as it would also bring huge tourist money in the area.

In reply to a question that there were rumors some matches would also be played in the United States and in particular in South Florida, Tauqir Zia said there were some discussions in this regard also at the ICC meeting but no final decision has yet been taken adding that Houston was also among the US cities in contention to host a World Cup match.

When he was informed that a 22 probables have been named for the home Series against the visiting New Zealand without wicket keeper Moin Khan, Tauqir Zia said, “What, they didn’t include Moin?”, I think they should have at least included him.

Tauqir Zia went on to say that new faces were very talented and by the time of the 2007 World Cup they would be blended into a very good team, “we had enough time for the next Cup,” smilingly claimed the former General, who has recently retired from the Army, and would now take care of the Cricket Board affairs on full time basis in Lahore at the Gaddafi Stadium PCB Headquarters.

After a brief stay for a couple of hours at the Wyndham Miami Airport, Tauqir Zia left in the evening for London. He thanked Javed Fatemi for taking time to receive him at the airport in the vee hours of the morning.

http://www.paknews.com/sports.php?id=1&date1=2003-11-08

I predict more drama when Tauqir Zia lands in Pakistan. i hope Aamir sohail is booted out this time.

Sohail likely to be in firing line at meeting with Tauqir

It is not a happy situation for the Board and the communication gap between Sohail and others should be removed: Rameez

KARACHI: Chief selector Aamer Sohail is likely to face some embarrassing questions from the Board chief executive Rameez Raja, the Pakistan captain and coach and even two of his fellow selectors when the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman returns from abroad in the next few days.

“The News” has learnt that Raja has scheduled a meeting with Chairman Tauqir Zia in attendance to clear unrest generated by Sohail’s decision to arbitrarily announce a pool of 22 players for the one-day series against New Zealand without consulting the captain, coach or selectors Saleem Yousuf and Shoaib Muhammad.

Sources confirmed that apart from coach Javed Miandad and captain Inzamam-ul-Haq who were unhappy with the chief selector’s decision to ignore them completely while finalizing and announcing the pool of players, even selectors Saleem Yousuf, Shoaib Muhammad and Farrukh Zaman were upset that they had not been consulted properly.

“Saleem and Shoaib in particular were even willing to resign after Sohail didn’t bother to consult them while finalizing the probables,” said a source.

According to him Saleem had informed Rameez that although Sohail initially had general discussions about the players for the New Zealand series with them, he didn’t bother to get in touch with them while finalizing the pool.

“Rameez has advised both the selectors to remain patient and wait until the Chairman returns home. Javed also called him up and complained about Sohail’s arbitrary decisions,” the source added.

Sohail has said that it was not necessary for the selectors to consult the Pakistan captain and coach everytime they announced a squad or pool of players and this time they were not consulted since only players for the national camp had been announced.

When contacted Rameez admitted that it was not a happy situation for the Board and it wanted this communication gap between Sohail and the others resolved.

“It is a problem of communication and we will sit down when the Chairman returns home and work it out. We can’t allow such issues to hamper our preparations or performance against New Zealand,” he said.

Miandad has already hit out at Sohail in the press after learning about the pool of players through the media. He has confirmed that Sohail didn’t consult him or Inzamam while finalizing the pool of 22 players.

The source said even Miandad had made it clear to Rameez that Sohail needed to be told to treat others with respect and dignity or he would not hesitate to step down rather being insulted in this manner.

Sohail had also put Tauqir Zia in an embarrassing position recently when he went and announced Junaid Zia as captain of the Pakistan A team that went to Sri Lanka for the Emerging trophy without consulting anyone. Tauqir the very next day had to overturn his decision and announce Qaiser Abbas as the captain.

But sources in the board said that Sohail might escape again this time with just a reprimand and may be the chairman even back him up because the chief selector was in the good books of the chairman these days for various reasons.

But they stressed that this time not just Miandad but even Inzamam, Rameez and the two selectors were very upset with Sohail’s arbitrary decisions and wanted the issue settled by the Chairman.

**Just read on Jang that Moin khan has been included in the camp **on the insistence of Tauqir Zia. Aamir Sohail is surely in trouble.

*Originally posted by saby: *
**Just read on Jang that Moin khan has been included in the camp **on the insistence of Tauqir Zia. Aamir Sohail is surely in trouble.

what the hell? He's reversing one of the very few good decisions by Aamir Sohail.

I think next Tauqeer Zia should replace Abdur Rauf with Junaid Zia to cap off another productive day at the office. Moron.

Allah Kere aamir sohail apna boria bistura thupay aur ghar chulay
gudhay ne aik kaam bhi seedha nahein kiya hai..

crap...
they have included Moin in the 22(now 23) probables for the upcoming series...

what is this yaar.. series against NZ aint htat tough or aint that important, we can easily groom one young guy in that spot... we should look forward for the Pakistan Tour of NZ and India Tour of Pakistan...

its always good to groom guys at there home grounds,so that they gain more confidence.

hum sub ki duayen aap ke naik khayalat ke saath hain:D

:smack: Tauqeer Zia nai kuch na kia

What the hell! Tauqeer has included Moin Khan in the team which was not the point here. Point was the behaviour/conduct of Aamir Sohail not his team selection.