NZ tour of Pakistan

*Originally posted by Some1: *

which is the case most of the times....

If we are losing most of the time, then India must be losing all the time because as I see it we are better placed in terms of winning ratio than India. Nevertheless I am glad you brought this up. Lets get down to uncovering the face of the real loser. Shall we?

India - Statistical Overview (Test Cricket)

Tests Lost 122 (33.24%)

Pakistan - Statistical Overview (Test Cricket)

** Tests Lost 74 (24.92%)**

India - Statistical Overview (One Day Internationals)

** Matches Lost 265 (48.53%)**

Pakistan - Statistical Overview (One Day Internationals)

** Matches Lost 250 (43.78%)**

I hope this rather unpleasent awakening fom your slumber will allow you to see the face(s) of the real loser(s).

Thanx for playing.

GEO TV are broadcasting the series and have christened it
“DHAMAKA 2003”…
I think they took the inspiration of the name from all the “Dhamakas” going on in the world ;)

^^ yeaaa i knowww:D

this is the best thing GEO can ever do… oh ofcourse after Aalim Online:smack:

**Ooouuuch !!! That hurts ** :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :hehe: :hehe: :hehe:

any suprises? :hehe: Afridi, who was discarded gets a “captain” recall for A team, while Faisal Iqbal is captain no more… I am sure the “senior team” politics is having its impact all over the places.

Junaid Zia Pulls himself out of squad

BBC:

Controversial selection Junaid Zia has pulled out of the Pakistani squad to play against New Zealand citing the need to attend exams.

The national selectors say they have "accepted a request" from Zia to be excused and his place goes to Umar Gul.

Zia is the son of the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board.

He was a controversial selection in the first place, having taken just three wickets at an average of 42.33 in his four previous appearances in one-day internationals.

Those games were against Bangladesh, the weakest opposition in one-day cricket.

Before he made his bow for his country, chief selector Aamir Sohail was forced vigorously to defend Zia's place in the side.

Some observers claimed Zia's selection had been an overt case of nepotism.

Then on Friday he was chosen from outside the pool of 23 squad probables after he took 35 wickets in four matches of a non-first class tournament.

Leading Pakistani dailies called his selection "controversial" and "shocking" as he was picked over other notable performers, including Waseem Khan (36 wickets in six matches), Abdul Rauf (34 in four) and Gul (20 in three).

Revised Pakistan squad: Inzamam-ul-Haq (captain), Imran Farhat, Saleem Elahi, Yasir Hameed, Yousuf Youhana, Shoaib Malik, Abdul Razzaq, Azhar Mahmood, Moin Khan, Danish Kaneria, Shabbir Ahmed, Mohammad Sami, Shoaib Akhtar, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umar Gul.

Dekha Mujhey Peta Thaa Key Iss Key Ragoun Main Shfeer Aur Imaandaar Khoun Hay.:D

Re: Junaid Zia Pulls himself out of squad

*Originally posted by Nikema: *

he was picked over other notable performers, including Waseem Khan (36 wickets in six matches), Abdul Rauf (34 in four) and Gul (20 in three).

Man, I really wanted to see Abdul Rauf bowl. This is a tragedy. Anyone know if we'll get the Pakistan A matches to be played in India?

(In Pakistan that is)

*Originally posted by Some1: *

which is the case most of the times.... except that you dont "loose", but "LOSE".

Well, maybe the fact that india lost to kenya twice made him types those two zeroes ;)

And tell me, if we lose all the time, how come your win record is poorer than ours?

chalo junaid zia ne apni hikmat se selectors ko or apna abba huzoor ko ramadhan mubarak me na-insaafi ke gunaah se bachaa liya… :hehe:

^^ barey hi bhaiLY threads chal rahey hain ramdan main :slight_smile:

our statistical record is better… or i would say a lot better:k:

:jhanda:

Some people can’t stop their whining just becuase its in their blood. And as far NZ touring with their A team or Z team its their fault. No one is stoping them to send A or Z team its their decision.

But this will surely give some “sore grape” people to have an excuse and talk against PAK. Let the jealous people burn their feelings :wink: Let them bark :hehe:

i have no idea why was my last post deleted.... i dont remember anything wrong in my last post....i was just predicting some future results as well as presenting an inverse relationship between vegetables and bowling fast... there is nothing wrong in eating vegetables.... i myself dont like meat that much but yeah, i dont try to bowl fast after i eat too many vegetables. that is for sure....

Good man! :k:
And now Mr Some1 will dissappear like the loser he is. :hehe:

Pak selectors mark out specialists for Tests, one-dayers

By Waheed Khan

KARACHI: The national selection committee recently held a meeting with senior board officials in which number of policy decisions were taken for future assignments and on players.

According to sources close to the selectors the main decisions taken at the meeting were that Taufeeq Umar and Asim Kamal were designated as Test batsmen and it was decided they would not be tried in One-day Internationals against New Zealand or India.

**Another policy decision taken was that Rashid Latif would be considered for the Test matches while Moin Khan would be retained for the one-dayers.

“A long discussion was held in which it was felt that it would be better if Taufeeq and Asim were allowed to develop further as Test players before burdening them with the extra pressure of playing One-day Internationals,” a source said.**

He said it was decided that both the left-handers who were not selected for the one-day series against Kiwis in series starting next week, would go to New Zealand from the start but would only play in the Tests and not the five One-dayers.

“It was also decided that Younis Khan would be considered for the full New Zealand tour as he was an experienced player and his experience would be handy in New Zealand conditions,” the source added.

He said that interestingly another policy decision taken was that experienced off-spinner Saqlain Mushtaq would not be considered for the New Zealand tour until he showed better form in domestic cricket.

**The meeting also discussed the future of Shahid Afridi and given his recent good form in South Africa it was decided to name him captain of the Pakistan ‘A’ team for next month’s tour of India.

“It was felt that Afridi has had an excellent record against the Indians and he would benefit by playing in India. It was also decided that he would be asked to play domestic cricket on return to prepare him as a strong contender for the Test series against India in February-March,” the source stated.**

Junaid Zia withdraws due to Taleemi Masroofeat :D…

Umar Gul will take his place!

:jhanda:!

PCB shoots itself in the foot again…

** PTV in a fix over telecast of Kiwis series **

By Imran Naeem Ahmad

ISLAMABAD, Nov 22: With the New Zealand cricket tour about to begin, confusion continues to prevail over the telecasting rights of the series featuring five one-day Internationals.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced last month that it had sold the rights to a Dubai-based satellite channel Geo, a move that has apparently hurt the state-run Pakistan Television (PTV).

The Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (PEMRA) says that it had neither been consulted nor had it granted permission to the satellite channel in question to uplink the event.

In any case even if the uplinking facility is offered to the private channel, PEMRA said, since it is not a terrestrial set up, the Dubai-based channel cannot cover more than 10 per cent of domestic viewers.

Saleem Gul of PEMRA when asked said that the private channel had not yet applied for uplinking license. He said earlier when Ten Sports were given the world rights to telecast the South African series, PEMRA gave the channel a temporary license for uplinking which too had expired.

According to the PCB sources, both the PTV and the Dubai-based channel do not have the required facilities as per International Cricket Council’s regulations to show live pictures. Only three companies in the world are said to have proper equipment.

** Another UAE-based channel TEN Sports that had the telecasting rights for South Africa tour had filed a bid for $75,000 for the New Zealand ODI series while Dubai-based channel put in a bid for $0.5m and won the contract. (how much the General made, anyone care to guess) **

Insiders say that only a network having terrestrial rights, in this instance PTV, can show the matches to domestic viewers and not a satellite channel.

The PTV is perhaps following in the footsteps of Doordarshan that went to court in a similar row involving the telecast of their home series against New Zealand. The court ruled that the foremost right to air the matches in the domestic market was that of the national network.

** The PCB however finds itself in a cache 22 situation - if PTV and Geo are both unable to show the matches then what would it do to get the matches telecast here and abroad. **

The New Zealand cricketers arrive in Pakistan on Nov 27 and©play the first match of the tour in Faisalabad on Nov 29.

An official of the Dubai-based channel when contacted said that everything had been taken care of and that there was nothing to worry.

But when pressed for his version of the developing situation he said at present his organization was ‘playing it all close to chest’ but assured that the NZ ODIs will be telecast without any hitch.

Earlier, when TEN Sports were given the rights to telecast the South African matches, the PTV approached the PCB and told them that this was unfair and got the board to give them the domestic rights.

“But when we went into the market for sponsors we found that even Ten Sports were prospecting for the same in our market,” said Anwer Mehmood the federal information secretary who appeared to be greatly disappointed with the way the PCB had handled the situation.

“Ten Sports then went and sold the telecast to ARY a satellite channel with domestic viewers and the ARY showed the matches on their music channel,” Anwer said.

Source: http://www.dawn.com/2003/11/23/spt1.htm

• dis talk about stats' regarding losing odi's and test mathes for pak and india is baseless and totally irrelevant when one considers the fact dat, it won't bare any resemblance when the 2 sides meet in a few months time, becoz' the better team on the day will win regardless of their stats showing who is weaker and who is stronger *

:rotfl: Well said Teaser bhai…
If NZ wants to send a team that is’nt up to par, then they will get their assees kicked, who are we to argue. It is their own misfortune

Miandad eyes clean sweep of Kiwis

KARACHI, Nov 23: Pakistan coach Javed Miandad is targeting a clean sweep of New Zealand in the five-match one-day series starting next week. “We will give all respect to New Zealand as any international team demands. But we must not look for anything short of a 5-0 sweep,” Miandad told Reuters on Sunday.

A new look New Zealand squad, including seven players without any one-day international experience, arrives in Lahore on Friday for matches in Lahore, Faisalabad and Rawalpindi.

The New Zealand selectors were forced to announce the inexperienced squad after Craig McMillan, Scott Styris, Lou Vincent and Ian Butler pulled out of the tour due to security concerns. Captain Stephen Fleming, batsman Nathan Astle and fast bowler Shane Bond were ruled out with injuries.

Miandad warned his players against complacency. “We didn’t even take Bangladesh lightly and we are not going to take this New Zealand side easy either. Limited-overs cricket is very unpredictable and it takes one good performance to turn the match upside down,” he said. -Reuters

http://www.dawn.com/2003/11/24/spt1.htm