NZ tour of Pakistan

Craig McMillan, Scott Styris, Lou Vincent and Ian Butler are all mediocre players anyhow. The fact that they are sitting at home crapping in their pants is immaterial. Fleming, Astle and Bond will be far bigger misses.

Wreck them and send them home with their arses on fire like the South Africans.

JM - South Africans won the ODI series 3-2. If that's what you call wrecking then NZ should be a happy bunch. :)

It's the state of mind on completion of their tour that I was referring to Asif. Thus having been drubbed in the test series, South Africans went home arses ablaze. I expect a similar outcome for NZ, hence the analogy :)

:eek: junaid Zia the great takla is back!!! :eek:

WAH WAH AMIR SAB…AFRIDI IS SITTING HOME AND U’VE SELECTED A TAKLA…

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
JM - South Africans won the ODI series 3-2. If that's what you call wrecking then NZ should be a happy bunch. :)

One day series was close and Pakistan should have 3-2, but once against Asif_k's limited knowledge about various sports makes him the laughing stock again.

What matters most is test matches, and Pakistan too won it comprehensively in Lahore and drew the last with slight scare.

Pakistan was the better team of the 2.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

One day series was close and Pakistan should have 3-2, but once against Asif_k's limited knowledge about various sports makes him the laughing stock again.

What matters most is test matches, and Pakistan too won it comprehensively in Lahore and drew the last with slight scare.

Pakistan was the better team of the 2.

At full strength we might have just beaten them in the second test too!

Umair316 questioning others’ knowledge is like Junaid Jia questioning Wasim Akram’s bowling skills. :rotfl::rotfl: . If Pakistan was the better team then how come they lost the series. :rotfl: . Pakistan lost last two games by 6 & 7 wickets and you call your team a better team ? They lost the series despite being up 2-0 and you brag about being the better team ? yeah right.

Are NZ coming to play the TEST Series ?? We are talking about the ODIs because NZ are coming to play ODI series not TESTs. Close or one-sided, What difference does it make ?? At the end Pakistan LOST the series 2-3.

wow…a big claim asif… so r u suggesting that u r as good as wasim akram and Umair is just like Juniad Zia… ooohchh…umair can explain it better but to me u r “apnay moon miyan mathoo”…now do u guys understand urdu?..

Nothing but the sheer desperate attempt to have atleast something to cheer about since ur own “best batting lineup in the world” couldn’t score a mere 200 againsta depleted Aussie Attack in the subcontinent … Koi baat nahi Asif_K ji … in a few days u’ll have more to cheer about once the 1st test downunder is over … although i hope the outcome is other than what most Aussies will be rooting for but then it’s only Hope against Aussies :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

i know nowadays u’ve nothing else but the recent PAK-SA ODI series to cheer about so keep on … what about the recent Test-Series against NZ … Since ur Bhajjo was upbeat about the prospect of having a easy go at NZ … it turned out to be a disaster … Kissi pa moun pharrnay say pehlay apnay ghar main jhaank kar dhekhna u wanna be cricket-guru …

52:30 in ODIs and 9:5 in Tests … so much for ur knowledge … i know it hurts but next year u’ll have the chance to get it to 52:37 and 9:8 but then it’s India we r talking about … the best batting lineup in the world right ???

*Originally posted by phoenixdesi: *

wow....a big claim asif..... so r u suggesting that u r as good as wasim akram and Umair is just like Juniad Zia.... ooohchh...umair can explain it better but to me u r "apnay moon miyan mathoo"....now do u guys understand urdu?...

The fact that this guy doesn't know the proper names of player (JIA) shows his limited knowlegdge about cricket.
These are the kind of people in India who label Zaheer, Nehra, Agarkar, Pathan as the next Wasim Akrams.
I don't mind his ignorance about cricket.

If Pakistan was the better team then how come they lost the series.

Using your own logic, if Pakistan was not the better team then how come we WON the test series?

Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Are NZ coming to play the TEST Series ?? We are talking about the ODIs because NZ are coming to play ODI series not TESTs. Close or one-sided, What difference does it make ?? At the end Pakistan **LOST
* the series 2-3.

Scroll back up and read what Judge^MentuLL said. Thats where the whole argument started and he wasn't talking about ODI's. He was talking about the whole tour. So YOU may be talking about ODI's (or may only want to concentrate on the ODI's) but I can assure you rest of the participants in this thread were talking abt the whole tour. Secondly, if you read the newspapers you'd realise that Pakistani team was elated at winning a Test series against S.Africa, and South African press was filled with lame excuses from Mr.Smith. Does it give you any indication of who got thrashed? The fact is that S.Africa went home losing a test series to Pakistan for the first time, that Pakistan drew the second test with a bowling attack which was only marginally superior to that of India, that we did not lose our nerves when historically our team has been susceptible to it during these crucial moments, that our team bounced back from the ODI loss to clinch the test series, and those my friend, were reasons enough for the us to celeberate. And that is exaclty why the coach and the team are in high spirits. OTOH, I bet you can't name one achievement worth its salt for south african team from this tour, other than having Akhter banned. There simply isn't any.

“Shoaib will test our top order batting” New Zealand’s Sir Richard Hadlee](BBC SPORT | Cricket | Sir Richard Hadlee Q&A)

New Zealander Sir Richard Hadlee is one of cricket’s all-time greats.

In part two of an exclusive interview, the Kiwi chairman of selectors talks to the BBC Sport website about the forthcoming one-day series in Pakistan.

Q. Pakistan fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar is always a threat, how do you think your batting line-up will cope with him and the rest of the home side’s attack?

Probably with some difficulty. When Shoaib is on song, he is one of the most potent fast bowlers in world cricket. The extra pace he generates will severely test our inexperienced top order batting.

Late in the innings with his fast reverse inswing deliveries, he will make it difficult for the batsmen to score fast runs. If the tail order batting is exposed, survival will be difficult.

It will be important for an experienced batsman or two to be in when Shoaib bowls late in the innings, otherwise he has the ability to blitz and terminate the innings very quickly.

Shoaib will be motivated because he missed the tri-series in Sri Lanka due to a suspension where NZ beat Pakistan in the final. Perhaps it is payback time.

Q. Shoaib’s new ball partner Mohammad Sami is an exciting prospect. Have you seen much of him and how highly do you rate him?

I rate him highly. He has very good pace in excess of 140 kph, he runs in, tries to bowl fast and is deceptively quicker than he looks.

Being slightly smaller in stature than most fast bowlers, sometimes the ball will skid through a little lower but he is still at the batsman creating pressure and gets wickets.

Q. What do you see as the strengths and weaknesses of New Zealand’s seam bowling newcomers Tama Canning and Matthew Walker? Will you be offering them any words of advice?

The only contact I have had with both players is to advise them of their selections and wish them all the best.

They, along with Hamish Marshall, Kerry Walmsley, Michael Mason, Craig Cumming and Richard Jones see this as a tremendous opportunity to advance their careers.

The coaching staff now take over and mould the players into a successful team and try and get the best out of every player in such a short period of time.

Tama is a talented cricketer who has performed admirably at first class and one-day level for Auckland. He is a medium pace bowler who swings the ball and he has the ability to bat well towards the end of the innings.

He has the ability to get wickets and break partnerships. He is potential match-winner but is untested at this level. He may be used bowling ‘at the death’ which has proved to be a weakness in our game.

Matthew Walker has been a consistent performer with the bat and ball for Wellington. He is another medium pace bowler who has performed year in and year out.

He bowls straight, he has a big heart and tries very hard. In the State Shield competition last year he took 18 wickets in 11 matches at an average of 19 conceding 3.6 runs per over. He also scored 241 runs at an average of 27 with a strike nearing 70. He is a similar player to Canning.

Q. Do you have any particular thoughts about playing against Pakistan which stand out in your memory?

I recall playing the third test at Karachi in 1976. We were 2-0 down in the series and probably looked like losing 3-0. Warren Lees, our wicket-keeper, scored a career best 152 and I managed to get to 80 odd to help save the match.

A young Imran Khan was bowling to me at lively pace and proceeded to bounce me four or five times in one over.

He was warned by the umpire and Imran, who must have been frustrated for some reason, persisted with this tactic only to be removed from the attack by the umpire for persistent short pitched bowling.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
These are the kind of people in India who label Zaheer, Nehra, Agarkar, Pathan as the next Wasim Akrams.
I don't mind his ignorance about cricket.

And then there are some knowledgeble people in Pakistan who think Afridi is next Vivian Richards. So Vivian Richards of Pakistan is leading the'A' Side now a days.

Originally posted by ChthonicPowers: *
Using your own logic, if Pakistan was not the better team then how come we **WON
* the test series?

Arey yaar - Baat mere aur JM ke beech me thi, he explained what he meant and it was over. Do you see me replying to him after his 2nd post ? NZ is playing ODI series and Pakistan played full strength in ODIs against SA and LOST. No one cares about MORAL Victory. No one remembers that.

Pakistan did win the TEST series and yes SA was running for cover after the first test and no one denies that ??

Zero_one - Yaar aapne to pura ka pura fasana bayaN kar diya. Bhai mere aap aisi posts ko seriously na liya karo. Woh post sirf Umair316 jaise bandoN ke liye hai.

NZ is playing ODI series and Pakistan played full strength in ODIs against SA and LOST.

So...?

No one cares about MORAL Victory. No one remembers that.

Maybe you don't but we in Pakistan do. Case in point: Pakistan drew the second test against S.Africa but ask anyone in Pakistan and they'll remember the test as if pakistan won. Even though the record books say other wise but the fact that we played under strength and still managed to draw the test helped our players develop character more than it did for Saffies. Watch the video tapes of the match and notice the Saffies walk off the ground with a body language thats reflective of a team that just lost the match. Observe Moin and Shoaib and you'll notice that they walked off as though they had just won the match.

*Originally posted by ChthonicPowers: *
So...?

Well You lost the Series at HOME and still claiming moral Victory. There was no Moral Victory after the ODIs. If at all it was there, It came only after the TEST Series. I hope you are not looking for similar kind of moral Victory against NZ.

BTW - Tell me if you have a choice to chose one from these two :-

1. Moral Victory in the series
  2. Series Victory in ODI,

which one would you choose ?

Well You lost the Series at HOME and still claiming moral Victory.

Be a sweet heart and tell me exactly where i claimed moral victory for losing the ODI series?

Let me put it into context for you. This is what you said:

Pakistan lost last two games by 6 & 7 wickets and you call your team a better team ? They lost the series despite being up 2-0 and you brag about being the better team ?

And I said :

Using your own logic, if Pakistan was not the better team then how come we WON the test series?

The whole idea was to prove the obtuse logic behind the point you raised.

There was no Moral Victory after the ODIs.

Once again, you're negating something nobody claimed.

If at all it was there, It came only after the TEST Series.

There was no moral victory after the test series either. The moral victory was primarily for drawing the second test. We won the test series fair and square. We don't need moral victories for something we actually won.

I hope you are not looking for similar kind of moral Victory against NZ.

once again...the point?

BTW - Tell me if you have a choice to chose one from these two :-

1. Moral Victory in the series
  2. Series Victory in ODI,

which one would you choose ?

I would choose not to waste my time on such stupid questions.

Acha ji ??? … seriously ??? :hehe: :hehe: :hehe: :hehe: :hehe:

*Instead of discussing the past to death and trying to outdo each other over trivial matters, can we just focus on the matter in hand and discuss the upcoming series. *

OK!

Pakistan should thrash New Zealand and make their good players regret that they ever pulled out.

As Pakistan is a much better team, and thrashed South Africa in the test series and was better then full strength South African side. :nahnah: