Not Meant to Be?

Re: Not Meant to Be?

You are 24 and worried!!! I got engaged when i was 26 and married at 27. My sister will be married at age 28. We both are highly educated and working. The trend has changed lately, now parents wait until their daughters have a career. I think 24 is a good age to start looking. Dont feel down, there are plenty of girls being married in their late 20's. Just enjoy your single life and pray that u get a good life partner. Inshallah

aunty i meant teenager.

45 years old looking for 19 years old doctor.

yeah, I agree. We have the same problem here, too. I've been told by numerous aunties that I'm going to be "too old" when I'm done with school and everyone that's been "serious" has attempted to either get me to stop going to grad school or settle for something else. :S

that's just another way for them to get you to NOT achieve your dreams so they can feel better about their status as slackers.

the aunties are bored out of their minds and love to meddle. It's their purpose in life to not let any1 b happy. If u r single u shd get married, if married then child, if One child then wens the next one, no boys arggh keep trying until u produce one, no girls but u need 1 daughter keeP trying (arghhh). Plz dnt heed their advice(for lack of a better word). In one ear and out the other

19 yr old doctor:rotfl:

after read a few posts, my theory is one you get married as soon as he or she gets a chance, with some caveats of course

marriage should not stop you from studying, marriage should not stop you from have career oriented goals etc etc

It's better to be single than married to the wrong guy.

I'm sorry you're hurting but you WILL recover and go on, and enjoy things again. It takes time. You're still young. :)

I am not agreed with you… or may be in Pakistan scenario is different. guys are getting married in their 20’s mostly in late 20’s or as soon as they settle in their life. In my own circle of friends guys are getting married or engaged.

Don’t call her your best friend if she is hurting you constantly… Stop talking to her… she is not a sincere friend.

I am 29 and still single… so what should i do now? :hmmm:… suicide because i am ancient… :naraz:

I am not saying i am happy with my status… i feel depressed too… sometimes i plan for my future what if i can’t get married… i should concentrate on my career now etc etc etc… but whenever i feel depressed i make plans with my friends…so you should do that too. Make more friends spend time with them… hangout with them… enjoy your life… because when you get engaged you will not get that much liberty so enjoy your time as much as you can. Rishty asmanoo per banty hain… so you must have some one some where… just wait for a right time… keep searching for a good proposal… but don’t get depressed.. don’t feel like loser… you have a successful career MashaAllah. Be happy what you have.

I'm a strong believer in this but that doesn't mean that the aunties/boys I've met are. It's actually a TURN OFF to a lot of aunties/sons to have the girl be ambitious. I had a friend who was turned down by a LAWYER (which means he's EDUCATED) because she was pursuing a 2 year ho-hum master's of Art degree. He said he didn't want a wife that was that ambitious. I mean we laugh about it, but...it's sad if you think about it.

thats only cause an ambitious well educated girl makes guys insecure...in their eyes and the in laws, she wont settle for average housework cooking etc duties... its an incredible shame...

I know bunch of guys who are frustrated that they are highly educated and settled but will they ever get a good girl. Should i ask them to contact you? lol.

On a serious note... 24 is still a perfect age to be single, even if it takes2-3 years for you to get married still its ok.

Now we're just generalising - yes, there's a fair share of guys who will feel intimidated by a well-educated girl but what about those who demand an equally-qualified prospect i.e. doctors?

Where are they? Tell them to PM me.

Tell that to all the guys and their families who do an abrupt 180 after feedin a girl these lies and say ok well enough studying and working , time to settle down into your housewife roles. I've seen girls frequently threatened with divorce and even kidnapping of their child of they plan on working.

Its really sad.

You know it’s odd. I’ve had the experience that the guys from pakistan are wayyyy more open minded than the families in the states. The families here who are trying to keep a traditional connection are stuck back in the 60’s and 70’s way of thinking. I kid you not. I’m a 29 yr old doc in the middle of my training and I didn’t get aggressive about looking for guys till maybe a few months ago where now I’m online on these dating websites and aggressively scanning. I continuously am turned down by guys who grew up here cuz I’m too old and ambitious per them and meanwhile the guys who are total fobs and been in the country for a few years spending most of their development in Pakistan are way more open minded about things. I’ve had Pakistani guys tell me they like the fact that I work and that I’m educated and independent cuz this is the trend in Pakistan now and meanwhile super educated guys here think I’m going to make aninept mom cuz I work and their moms are all looking for the 20-25 range.

I guess what they say is right. You can hold degrees and still be Jaahil.

PCG i can understand… we are in same age bracket and have same problem. but Masha’Allah you have bright career ahead and i am still struggling. You are in USA and thier generally girls have difficult time in finding proposal and I am in Pakistan but don’t have one suitable proposal for myself i don’t know why? :teary1: But i am very hopeful that Insha’Allah we will find our “Man” soon who will be perfect for us.

And yes Pakistani men are more open minded… They are mostly demanding girls with career. They don’t have any problem if their wives support the family with them may be because of inflation and because of higher standard of living in Pakistan… Pakistani society is changing seriously… girls are getting married in their late 20’s or 30’s as trend of love marriages increasing (this trend really favors girls :p). But still there are number of unmarried girls in their 30’s or late 20’s who are waiting for their right time… and they are even very pretty as well…:halo:

According to the analysis from one of the rishta aunties, two main problems faced by girls late twenties and early thirties these days are:

1. Large number of younger guys (23-25) as guys are more likely to start looking at a younger age and get married soon as compared to few years back when usually guys tend to get married around 30-32. Mothers these days want their sons to marry soon since they want to avoid the instances of sons choosing their own wives if they are left unmarried for too long once they are settled in their careers.

2. Older guys (30+) are not earning good because of the bad economy and thus girls in late twenties are unable to accept these proposals. As more and more girls are now working, they tend to look for guys who earn at least equal salary as themselves.

Yeah i think that’s what it is. The economics in Pakistan has gotten PRETTY BAD. I mean, I was shocked this last time I went to Pakistan. Everyone wants to live above their means, but at the same time, people aren’t making a lot and jobs are unstable. Foreign companies invest, and then pull out when things get politically unstable, so you never know when your job is gonna go.

So it makes SENSE to marry a girl with a career - means your kids will have somewhat of a better future. Those families that are set in their careers and family businesses are probably less interested in a career girl and want someone who is gonna sit 24-hrs with her baby, even though there are maasis taking care of the kid most of the time ( :rolleyes: - never understood that).

In America it’s different. Well educated guys are settled well financially, and they dont need a wife who works. Their parents are happier with a traditional bahu since they left Pakistan when that was the trend, and they’re still stuck in those ways.

I went to college and grad school with a LOT of desi boys - educated and americanized like myself. And most of them took wives from abroad, and took wives who were ok with sitting at home, and if they did work, it wasn’t anything too crazy ambitious.

Go figure. I busted my ass all these years for no reason I guess? Oh well. At least I am doing something good out there and hopefully making a difference, which I wouldn’t be doing sitting at home and cooking someone their chicken malai koftas.