No boxed gifts please

Re: No boxed gifts please

^lol - I think it's better to write:

We kindly request:
Lots of paisa; kam nahi chalega

this would look really good in script writing - with a beautiful touch of some fairy glitter!

yeah n a free ciggie to go wiv it yeah den ppl. will get happy yeah n give lotsa dosh

I have seen this on a few cards in UK and I think it is a great idea esp' when you don't want people to post your pics' all over the web!

One of the couples who requested no cams at their wedding gave everyone invited their website address before-hand to keep checking. They soon put up their beautifull wedding album on their website for all to enjoy. There were like a thousand photos of them, their guests and the function. There were no horrible, funny or embrassing pics of anyone. This way everyone was pleased that they still got to keep memories of the day.

I enjoyed their wedding so much as it felt so nice not having to worry about taking this pic and that pic etc.

It sounds nice..... u hire a professional anyway. so its a good idea,,,

This got me thinking. What about on the Guest Info card if you discreetly added it at the bottom after maps, hotels etc:

Bridal registry
We kindly request that no boxed gifts be gifted as the bride and groom will be relocating. MissGirl and MrBoy are registered at Amazon.com: Online Shopping for Electronics, Apparel, Computers, Books, DVDs & more blah blah blah

this way people have options. I shudder to think of the crap that ill meaning relations could ‘gift’ me all in the name of giving a gift. Plus whenever we attend people’s kids weddings we ALWAYS gift cash regardless. Cash is best in all cases, I just couldn’t bring myself to put it on the card. Plus MrFiance say’s he doesn’t want it on the card. I AGREE BUT is this still cheeky?? Is this still TACKY? And YES, I do want a gift after my parents spent thousands gifting others. :slight_smile:

^ its still impolite... even a registry is just a suggestion, its not a requirement. plus your guests might not find anything on your registry that they want to gift, or they might not be bothered to go shop there, you know? i think ultimately, the people who want to bring cash, will bring cash, and those who want to re-gift, will re-gift regardless.
telling people what you want (outside of close family and friends) is just bad manners.

info about money and registries and preferred gifts should be spread through word of mouth- through your mom, your aunts, your grandmothers, cousins, if people ask, or they can volunteer it on your behalf and say its what you would prefer. but for the host and hostess (i.e. you and your husband) to ask for it directly... that's not cool.

why don't more people create wedding websites that people can check out if they want? they're super easy, they're free, and there's tons of options to choose from.

this whole issue really irks me!

it was definitely a lot of fun :slight_smile: valima was not that fun though. i actually cried on my valima day. i was tired, hungry and cranky the whole day. i had bfast (only tea and a cookie) around 6 am, didnt eat the whole rest of the day, missed my flight to isb, ended up taking a flight to faisalabad then a 6 hr ride to isb so i can make it to my valima which was the day after the wedding (wedding was in khi) and ended up having dinner at 12 am that night. got late to my makeup appt, the woman ended up charging more, late to my photo session and then the guy took soooo much time, my SIL got an awful jewelry set made for me to wear that day, it was huge i felt like a cow specially since i was tired and i rarely ever wear jewelry and it was just so heavy. during the photo session around 10 pm i just started crying and cried pretty much the whole way to PC cuz by then i was starving and tired. i didnt even wanna have a valima. the whole day was awful, the MUA made me appear darker than i am, i had slept only like 3 hours the night before. i felt awful and looked bad so sometimes i pretend i didnt even have a valima :).

anyway the pics are still in isb and i dont even care to have them. haha. but my FIL just went to isb and i guess ill have the pics in a few weeks.

Aww! Sumorani! I am sorry to hear that! We would still love to see teh pics though. You looked so pretty on your wedding and you spent a lot of time looking for the perfect dreses. It must have been pretty upsetting for you to have to wear that set your SIL got made for you. Esp when you must have already decided what to wear with your valima dress. I hope this SIL is not the same who is your best friend.

Interesting, we can see that it irks you a lot. Thanks for your input and your point of view.

In my case it'll only be close friends and family. The bridal registry is something I think I will add to the Guest Card, also, if anyone is dumb enough to give me a prezzie I know they are being idiots on purpose, since I live in the UK, am getting married in the US and moving to Canada. Plus people from 3 diff continents are attending my shaadi (don't worry they are all loaded (we aren't)) and they will want to know the situation with gifts. Also no one in my family, friends or social circle attends a wedding without giving a gift, theydeffo want to know what the wishes of the bride are. And in desi weddings aren't the hosts normally the parents of the bride/groom?

This topic has been really interesting and the various inputs have been enlightening from the laid back to the outright rude. I hope that everyone feels free to write whatever they want on their wedding cards and ignore the people who are opposed to their point of view. As long as there are weddings with guests there will continue to be people who ***** regardless.

^ same here!

sumo, i'm sorry to hear that! at least your lovely wedding made up for it (somewhat?)

WEDDING INVITATION

Please come to my wedding. U will be well fed as long as u comply with the following:

NO BOXED GIFTS
NO CAMERAS
NO CHILDREN
NO BAD BREATH
NO FIGHTING OVER THE FOOD

Please bring with u cash filled envelopes.

Hope to see u soon...

I say this should be the new trend in invitations. Every card should have all of the following. That sounds like every desi couples’ dream so that’s how it should be done!

NO CAMERAS
NO CHILDREN

I will make those two in UPPERCASE and BOLD on my invitations!
Annoying kids running around ruining everything and stupid aunties acting like photographers.

I would love to write No Children :bummer:

NO CAMERAS
NO CHILDREN
NO FIGHTING OVER THE FOOD

I would make these as standard! I'm sorry all u parents but i get mightily annoyed at the little rascals running around pulling the decorations apart and dismantling the balloons displays...

I think SGC's idea of getting a babysitter is awesome. The kids should all be shipped off to another room.. far, far away from the bride in her lovely dress and the expensive decor put up.

No fighting over food.. lol..

i went to a wedding...but it was a palastinian...and the guests werent allowed to take pics beside the family members (or who were allowed..)

my friend and me we didnt know that..and my friend went to the bride to take a pic of her...

after few min the sis of the bride came to my friend and told her not to take any pics of her and delete plz all the pics...if somebody took out the camera...the sis of the bride came like police and controlled it...

but i think its not possible at every wedding to have a camera guard...

^lol, wow good idea.

i think if the wedding is small then it's easy to do that.

Ahh im sure u looked fantastic anyway!

that could be a good idea! I like it... but I think it would be difficult to police around - cause you don't want to be rude to your guests either.