hello everyone. please tell me exactly how to go about doing this. me and my family don’t knpow exactly how you do this. how many people you need as witnesses. do you need to consult with a lawyer. how many pictures to take. do you have to be in full make-up or can you be dressed simple? what about at the other end?
if anyone has done this please any girls and you live in GTA and the guy was in pakistan then how did you and your family go about this exactly. how do you do it so that it is most successful and takes the least amount of time?
actually u dont even need to make a fone call, from ISNA mosque or any other islamic center u collect nikah lawyer form, fill it up and chose a "wakeel" could be any of ur relatives and he signs on ur behalf over there and then u can talk on fone, and all the vitnesses and stuff u dont need em here in canada, u need em in pakistan with the groom.
and yes u have to look like a rear bride, all dressed up and stuff, and u need almost 20 pics with all the guests and all the food, basically u have to show that there was celebration/ function at both venues.
^ like mine, I was in Pakistan, my hubby was in USA, so he made his father wakeel of himself and did the nikah, no phone calls is necessary. My papers we made thru this and when he came for wedding, there is another nikah with duaa in marriage lawn just to feel the essence of our culture.
thank you so much for the information so far Ecoshan and Jias! :)
but isn't the wakeel a 'lawyer'? so how can i make a relative of mine a lawyer if there is no relative hwich is a lawyer? we have a famliy friend who is a lawyer but he is not muslim.
and is it okay if only my immediate family is at the function or do we have to call 50 family freinds and relatives that i hardly see in my daily life?
In Nikah there are to witnesses and one lawyer is required, this lawyer(wakeel) is not as a professional wakeel, just a common relative, like in my nikah my wakeel is my father and his wakeel is his father, my mamoon and cousin are witnesses, and his brother and cousin are witnesses.
thank you so much for the information so far Ecoshan and Jias! :)
but isn't the wakeel a 'lawyer'? so how can i make a relative of mine a lawyer if there is no relative hwich is a lawyer? we have a famliy friend who is a lawyer but he is not muslim.
and is it okay if only my immediate family is at the function or do we have to call 50 family freinds and relatives that i hardly see in my daily life?
no arezoo its not the advocate lawyer, here lawyer is any person who u chose to represent u in pakistan, any guy, preferably ur family member.
and no, u dont have to call a huge amount of ppl at ur place, just call few but all of should be dressed like a wedding, there could be like 20 ppl. cuz u r gona convince the embassy that there was a celebration/function at ur place.
waise i didnt know u had to get dressed up for a nikkah on the fone... when I was planning my nikkah (with him there lol) my mom wanted me to be dressed in plain ol crap =/
Please don't do this as I'm REGRETING having done this. Nothing against wifey, but against **NIKKAH ON PHONE. **What has the muslim world come down to? I don't even get that people justify that. It's a special day and Nikkah on Phone? I never thought of having such a Nikkah, but it's my own fault. I had dreams, but it's ok, because I insha'allah fulfill the other dreams I have with the help of Allah.
I should've hit my head against the wall when I did that!
Please don't do this as I'm REGRETING having done this. Nothing against wifey, but against **NIKKAH ON PHONE. **What has the muslim world come down to? I don't even get that people justify that. It's a special day and Nikkah on Phone? I never thought of having such a Nikkah, but it's my own fault. I had dreams, but it's ok, because I insha'allah fulfill the other dreams I have with the help of Allah.
Depends on circumstance. What do you think is worst?
Having Shadi in Pakistan and then living apart for months (and some times years) and paying to god k visa of spouse get approved
OR
Doing nikkah on phone, completing the paper work and then live dream days of your life together?
why do you say this numb bhai? please tell me.
and can you tell me how exactly you and your family did this nikkah with regards to my questions in my original beginning post?
You basically need a power of attorney which either you can have someone in pakistan draw up for you in Pakistan through a proper lawyer and then send it to you or get a lawyer here in the USA to do it for you. Desi lawyers here in the USA probabay have done this many times. In this power of attorney you will have given the power of attorney to a person to accept the nikah on your behalf eg your father or any male you want who is in Pakistan when the nikah takes place,(its valid in islam and many sahaba-e-karam did this too). Then you get your signature notorized by a notory public here in the USA (eg a bank where you have your account), then send it to the Pakistani consulate (check out the pakistani embassy in USA website to see the fee required and other details), they will send it back to you duly attested and then you send it to pakistan, show it to the moulvi sahib who will be there at teh nikah. The moulvi will ask the person something like this do you accept the bride so and so on behalf of your son/ brother/ friend named so and so and then that will be it. Be sure to get a lawyer in paksitan to get a copy of the "Mohammaden law" which allows this sort of nikah to take place. It can be pages photocopied out of a law book and keep them with you. They may ask you at the greencard process time or such.
As other have mentioned, the "nikah on phone thing" is just a word for this. Sometimes people do have the actual bridegroom say "qabol hay" over the phone at the ceremony, but that really is an extra and the real nikahwill occur when the person who is accepting on your behalf (called a wakeel here) says yes and signs on your behaf. If only the bridegroom says qabool hay over the phone the nikah will not be valid.
certain folk in the fam have done this, with the bride fully dressed up on the other end of the line sitting in the middle of a party, and the whole shebang on speaker phone. there was an imam on the other end, i believe, and he gave a little speech and the guy said qubool hai here, and the lady said it there and since it was speaker phone, there were plenty of witnesses. so yeah, do a conference call- it doesn't have to be one on one with the imam.