...Nikah vs. Engagement...

Re: …Nikah vs. Engagement…

I have a funny story on this topic again. Really. Promise this is the last one, and no more. :scouts honor vala icon:

A very close friend of mine was coming to America for the first time, and I went to the airport to pick him up. Now, this guy is an absolute gem of a person, very straigh forward, plain speaking and this was the first time he had travelled out of Pakistan. *Mausoof *had his nikah done in Pakistan, but no rukhsati date was set. Anyway, so while filling out the immigration form, he marked the checkbox which said “Married”.

The immigration officer was a friendly kinda guy, and just made an off-hand remark “sir, your wife didn’t accompany you on this trip?”.

Now, any person who had travelled around would tell you to keep your answers brief, when talking to immigration folks, and in this case a perfectly logical answer would be “No, she couldn’t come”.

Per nahi, this hazrat replied “oh, actually, we have a marriage contract, but we don’t actually live together!”

“Really?”, the officer was curious, “and why is that?”

“Well, you know we have done our nikah”, my friend explained, “but we don’t have rukhsati yet, and in our culture, unless you have rukhsati, you can’t live together”.

The officer was now totally confused “What is nikah and what is rukhsati and why can’t you live together”

Oh well… to cut a long story short, it took 15 minutes to explain the whole deal to the immigration officer, and just to understand how well he explained; at the end of the whole ordeal, the immigration officer, very sympathetically shook his head and said “Sir, I believe you have a made a mistake. You shouldn’t have checked the ‘Married’ column. Seems more like you are ‘Separated’!”

When my friend came out and told us the whole story, we were really ROTFL. :rotfl: I don’t think he ever bothered to explain this nikah-and-no-rukhsati thingy to anyone ever again.

Faisal bhai, apki shaadi tou ho chuki hai, aap tou mazey ki zindagi guzaar rahey hain. Marr tou mujh jaisay ghareeb rahey hain :bummer:

Verizon Nahi yaar, My friend had to go through this as I mentioned it on the first page. Thank God I don’t have to go through that and inshallah as long as I have situation in my hands and under control, God willing I am NEVER EVER doing nikah just to “hang out” with my wife. I will directly do the whole wedding including the rukhsati etc. That’s my promise to myself :jhanda:

r u sayin that she should evaluate the proposal after the nikah; cuz its not a proposal after nikah… its marriage.

Re: ...Nikah vs. Engagement...

hhs4462, there is really no good time to find out you are about to go live with a moron. Sooner the better, however. And if the marriage is not consummated, you are definitely better.

Aap jaisouN ke liyay hi kaha jaata hai… jhatt mangni, patt biyah.
Qadam barhao, Nawaz Sharif
Hamm tumharay saath hein!!!
:jhanda:

With Mangni one more function perhaps ?

:bravo:

Jony... tsk tsk .. burri baat. Only nikah and valima are required. Baaqi sabb buri buri rasmein hein. Gunah milay ga.

well personally I would not get married to find out if someone is right for me. i think i will stick to the isthakara method

^ Definitely. Plus, keep processing new information. If the guy who apparently seemed like a nice guy, and suddenly starts pressing you to have sex.... err... re-evaluate.

but y… hes ur husband, thats his right

O-ho.. I am saying if he asks you for sex before marriage. Will you go ahead with marriage, even if the istikhaara had come out ok? Or will you say... nah! I don't think he is quite the right guy for me.

Ofcourse, if you already have nikah and are living together (or sleeping together) have as much sex as you want. Upto you.

ohhhh sorry yaar... didnt realize u meant before shaadi. well i think that if the isthakara is good, than he wont ask u things like these if you disagree with them.

if it was me, i surely wounldnt agree to it. & yes re-evaluate as you said

Good. By the way, I am glad you have so much faith in Istikhara. I have seen some really messy situations occur, that were later blamed on "wrong interpretation" of Istikhara. Just beware. Its a bit of a dicey business, so using aqal should be the first option.

yes... its good to make sure u know what the meaning is before jumping in. & always use the upstairs room... this is a huge decision

Uh no gandi baatein please :blush:

^ Shikra, we are talking about istikhara. You think its gandi batein? toba toba. Kaisay namaqool musalman hein aak kal ke ye bachay. :(

the upstairs room means your head

Faisal bhai you have funny stories! hehehe

I thought the only reason why ppl are going for the nikkah rather then engagment is cause then they dont have to wait till the actual marriage to get the papers organized for importing their brides to foriegn land.

Faisal bhai :bummer:

HHS4462 You’ve read my questions in this thread as well as other people’s responses. Can you please ask those questions and get some answers for them when you take the classes and then maybe bring my thread up and clarify the confusion?