NEW YORK

i didnt find a appropraite place to post this thread so i m posting it here.this thread is for those who live in newyork,ever been there to newyork or have such knowlege about newyork.

i wana know information about newyork:
resturants have tasty halal food.chinese,indian and pakistani cuise are prefered.!
nice palces to visit i mean which are worth seeing…doesnt matter what there are a garden,theather,amusement park etc…btw where u love to go in ny ?
good shopping places,shops where u can buy desi dresses ,kurtis?
places u can buy westren cloths?
good salon for waxing,hair n facials?
furniture shops specilay for bed?
curtain,kitchen thinsg like crokery and appliances ?
places for decoration items?
a good hospital or a doctor?
groccery store?

i should mention that i m not looking for branded or most expensive places ,shops and things..

i m looking for resonable,good,inexpensive places shops and things i mentioned above

but i dont mind paying much if the things place or shop is realy worth!!!
and plz mention the location of the place ,shop if posible!

Re: NEW YORK

Canal Street, you’ll find everything there :smiley:

BTW - this should be in the travel section… :snooty:

halal restaurants - NYC Restaurants - – New York Magazine Dining Guide

New York Magazine – NYC Guide to Restaurants, Fashion, Nightlife, Shopping, Politics, Movies

*(Explore New York Attractions & Things To Do | Hotels & Events)

Your Guide to New York City | NewYork.com

all the above should help.*

www.zabihah.com would help for the Hallal food…

Try Zabihah.com for listing of halal restaurants in NY and reviews.
Jackson Heights Area is good for shopping desi stuff, some at reasonable prices, otherwise Midtown manhattan has a lot of shopping opportunities.

Google NY to see places u wanna visit, like museums, botanical gardens, aquarium, broadway...etc.....you can get a city pass for 3-4 days and see everything at ur leisure.

I (HEART SYMBOL HERE) NY

u shud go shoppping in manhattan

if u wanna buy indian/pakistani stuff
either main street or jackson hieghts

jackson height is dirty though lolz i never wanted to go there

hmm thnx but i,ll appricte more post n info from ppl who r living in ny and who are been to there

i have been there but not right now

i didnt find a appropraite place to post this thread so i m posting it here.this thread is for those who live in newyork,ever been there to newyork or have such knowlege about newyork.

i wana know information about newyork:
resturants have tasty halal food.chinese,indian and pakistani cuise are prefered.!
--Jackson Heights, has kabab king, and naan king, as well as many vegetarian indian restaurants. IN queens u will also find Tangra masala (halal chinese). Brooklyn (coney island) has some restaurants too. Bukhara, Bokhari. etc . Manhattan has desi restaurants but they're not that great and a bit expensive...

nice palces to visit i mean which are worth seeing...doesnt matter what there are a garden,theather,amusement park etc...btw where u love to go in ny ?
--Bronx: botanical garden, bronx zoo..
--Manhattan: umm Museum mile, on 5th ave between 104th to 82nd street..buncha museums. Central Park. Going midtown, there's Herald Square/34th street, horseride carriages (tanga :)) in midtown (50s streets). going further downtown, you have Canal street... reminds you of anarkali bazaar in a way, cz its so crowded and there's so many jewelery/bag shops. There's city hall/brooklyn bridge, that connects lower manhattan to brooklyn.many people walk it.. Wall street, and battery park city, u have the staten island ferry , statue of lierty etc.
--Brooklyn: umm alot of pakis there :p
--Staten island: never been so cant say.
good shopping places,shops where u can buy desi dresses ,kurtis?

--Jackson Heights in Queens. There are also alot of shops in NJ, but I've never been to those shops, i heard htey are alot cheaper and nicer than the ones in JH too.
places u can buy westren cloths?
--for expesnive, there's Bloomingdale's, Lord and Taylors, saks fifth avenue and Macys. Mid-priced items can be found at Macy's, Daffy's, century 21, JC Penney, DSW Shoe wearehouse, Sears, Filene's basement
Individaul shops/chains: express, aldo's, nine west, gap, old navy
I have also heard of tanger outlets or woodbury commons, but i've never been, s cant say :)

good salon for waxing,hair n facials?
--That's a tough one. b/c there are SO MANY. **

furniture shops specilay for bed?
curtain,kitchen thinsg like crokery and appliances ?
places for decoration items?
a good hospital or a doctor?
groccery store?

i should mention that i m not looking for branded or most expensive places ,shops and things..

i m looking for resonable,good,inexpensive places shops and things i mentioned above

but i dont mind paying much if the things place or shop is realy worth!!!
and plz mention the location of the place ,shop if posible!

make sure u have food from this cart-wala on 53rd St and 6th Ave. He has the most amazing HALAL food you'll ever eat and living in south jersey we travel 1.5hrs just to eat there sometimes.. its abs. amazing :D

thanx sara

but where i can buy things for home i mean furniture,kitchen things and the decorations and

mysticalrain r u talking about same cart wala who is from afghanistan jis per movie bhi hai but he didnt played in teh movie.ahmed acted as him and teh movei was man push cart.whr problems of cart wala highlighted in

ikea :D

hmm i,ll appriaciatee more info from newyorkers :)

you can go to crate & barrel or pottery barn. both stores have very nice decor and kitchen items. pottery barn also has great furniture.

btw where do u live or will be living? it seems like ur moving to ny? because if ur purchasing furniture here and livign somewhere else u will probably have to ship it; if u live overseas u will have to get a container or do some air freight.

you can ofcourse go to ikea, that will be much cheaper but thats not in NYC. if you want cheap furniture from nyc go to this place near chintatown, its called Downtown Furniture NYC, Downtown Furniture - Great Styles, Amazing Prices, Free Delivery & Free Assembly. they do free delivery and assembly in the nyc area only.

**Hospitals & Doctors

**almost any hospital you go to in NYC is a great one. theres really no point in asking that question, as a patient you would wanna go to the closest one to u and u will probably end up going to a world-class hospital regardless of which one ur at.

for doctors, please specify which one ur looking for? a primary physician? ob-gyn? pediatrician? optometrist? dentist? to do ur own search i found this site extremely helpful when i was searching for doctors for myself, it gives u pretty much all of their professional background, only for doctors in NY: Search for a Physician
i think its a very helpful site and ofcourse u can also google the doctor and most likely read reviews about them.

Shopping for Western Clothes

Some of the best places to go shopping that will have a huge variety are Herald Square, SoHo & East Village, and around 59th St and Lexington.

Herald Square has the largest Macy’s and many other shops nearby.
SoHo & the east village have a lot of designer shops and high end retail shops like Club Monaco, Banana republic, French Connection and TopShop just opened there.
the 59th st area has Bloomingdales, Diesel, Banana Republic, Gap, Prada, Hermes, Tiffanys, Victoria’s Secret, Zara. they also have crate and barrel and pottery barn nearby as well as the container store.

**Restaurants

**there are many good restaurants in nyc. let us know what cuisine(s) ur looking for specifically so we can guide u better. u can also look here, my fav site for food in nyc, http://www.menupages.com/. u can search by area and by cuisine type and then each restaurant is rated and has reviews by customers. the website also has the menu for each restaurant so u know what they serve and how much is costs.

oh ok i just reread ur post, ur looking for halal food. ive never had good pakistani food outside in the nyc area, icook much better so rarely eat out, ive tried many places in jackson heights like kabab king and the sort, they are nothing special and i end up with an upset stomach. the only place i will recommend is Chinese Mirch, located on 28th and 3rd. That’s a fusion of chinese and pakistani/indian food. some of theire dishes are amazing, but unfortunately some are bland. and overtime their quality of food has really declined. but still its a good place to try. if u decide to go read the reviews online to get a better idea of waht to order. and as mentioned above already u should try the chicken and rice stand on 53rd and 6th, that’s a famous halal site in nyc. near chinese mirch u will find A LOT of other halal pakistani restaurants but i dont like any of them especially. most of their customers are cab drivers that jsut stop there to pick up food or get a quick bite. baluchi’s is an indian restaurant, they have the best authentic indian food and they claim that their meat is halal, i’ll leave that upto u to decide.

if u want other cuisines like japanese, italian, only pizzas, etc. specify and i can tell u a few awesome places.

Grocery Store

nearly one at every corner in most areas of nyc.

thanks sumorani

what places are worth seeing in ny sumorani.u ra newyorker u know it better

where would u like to go?

yep i m moving to ny very soon

i m looking for chinese and pakistani italian halal cusine

plus i m looking for halal pizza and burgers..junk food i mean

i love to eat snacks

whr i cna find crockery, kitchn aitems and decoration for home

salon for haircutting wax and faiclas

sorry to botehr u by asking all this

if u dont midn can u tell me which area u live in newyork

I already told u about Chinese Mirch which is located on 28th and Lexington. If you dont know about the streets and avenues, dotn worry about it cuz u will definitely know once u get here.

That whole area around 28th and Lex is Murray Hill but people now call it Curry Hill because its got a lot of indian and pakistani restaurants there and pretty much all of them are halal. So you can check out that whole area. Another good halal restaurant is Bamiyan, it's on 26th and 3rd, its afghan. The chicken and rice stand is a must try on 53rd and 6th. Alot of the stands that sell falafels, gyros, chicken and rice are usually halal. Other halal places are in Jackson Heights and on Coney Island in Brooklyn.

The first and only place in nyc to sell halal meat is also in the murray hill area on 30th and Lex. Its a store called Spice Corner, owned by Bengali brothers however they sell the meat for a higher price than stores in Coney Island or Jackson Heights. In the murray hill area where you see all these halal restaursnts, there are also some indian/paki grocery shops that sell paki spices so its very convenient if u live in the city.