Re: New Provinces ; Bahawalpur, Multan and Hazarah
I don’t mind Janoobi Sindh, Zaireen Sindh, bcoz they represent location of parts of Sindh as against the term ‘Interior Sindh’ used to alienate Karachi from other parts of Sindh.
I already know about quota system, thats why I used that term specifically, such “provisioning” should have an expiration date but our politicians use it to their advantage and extend it. This system has now spanned more than 50 years??
The system was modified by great leader of PPP in 70s if I remember correctly, hence the division became more significant. Karachi people cry the same, when I was seeking admission for engineering, there were only 6 or 7 students from “urban Sindh” and 6 or 7 from “rural” Sindh while I think 20+ from Punjab, very small number from other parts. Discussion is veering off too far away now.
yea, why don’t you ask those who degraded Bengalis?
Is there any Pakistani left ?
I already know about quota system, thats why I used that term specifically, such "provisioning" should have an expiration date but our politicians use it to their advantage and extend it. This system has now spanned more than 50 years??
The system was modified by great leader of PPP in 70s if I remember correctly, hence the division became more significant. Karachi people cry the same, when I was seeking admission for engineering, there were only 6 or 7 students from "urban Sindh" and 6 or 7 from "rural" Sindh while I think 20+ from Punjab, very small number from other parts. Discussion is veering off too far away now.
yea, why don't you ask those who degraded Bengalis?
They have answered to this disrespect & degradation, but no one have learned lesson from this and policy of disrespect / degrading still continues. God Bless Pakistan.
Last day, I was attending a conference where delegation from Bangla Desh was also present. Javed Jabbar (former Minister) while describing achievements and survival history of Pakistan said ' its a pity that majority of Pakistani (referring to Bengalis) disowned identity (Pakistani) and we minority (Pakistani) are now representing that identity.
One of the guy from Bangla Desh replied to this (tears in his eyes and anger in his voice), that we were made to leave this identity. He referred contribution of Bengalis specially A K Fazl ul Haq (Sher e Bengal) who move Pakistan resolution in 1940, but then he was called traitor in 1958 by the then government run by military dictator Ayub Khan and thats how the situation started changing.
They have answered to this disrespect & degradation, but no one have learned lesson from this and policy of disrespect / degrading still continues. God Bless Pakistan.
That is one of our major issue that we don't learn from our mistakes, we don't learn from our past. We continue repeating mistakes like depriving Baluchistan of its due share, ridiculing/degrading each other on ethnic lines etc.
The Pakistani people will get a chance in 2013 to vote for parties that support more provinces. My understanding is that the PPP, MQM, Q-League, ANP, assortment of Baluch and Sindhi nationalist support more provinces. The Nawaz- League, PTI and Jamate Islami oppose it. And there are the two clowns Baba Bewakofaa of Hazara and Durani Bhawalpuri who lead there own parties which have specific demands for separate provinces.
As they say, let the people decide.
For the record, according to Tariq Rahman, the expert on issues linguistic, there are fifty languages spoken in Pakistan, which could potentially mean 50 states.
That is one of our major issue that we don't learn from our mistakes, we don't learn from our past. We continue repeating mistakes like depriving Baluchistan of its due share, ridiculing/degrading each other on ethnic lines etc.
In fairness, I think Pakistan has learnt some lessons. There is now more provincial autonomy, and space to express cultural traditions. During the Ayoub, any cultural expression would have meant an instant execution.
PTI has never opposed new provinces,imran khan is of the opinion that new provinces should be created on administrative basis.
I am reading the written on the wall but who will bather. There is no one to understand. Pakistan is unable to survive in its present condition. The people of Pakistan are not ready to trust this Takht e Lahore +Boots alliance any more, I am too from central Punjab but I knew that lies and conspiracies can not keep a country united. Only way to live united even in a home is to respect others and respect their wishes. You have seen the language used by Saraiki writers and it looks that we are waiting for Saqoot e Quetta, Saqoot e Bahawalpur ,Saqoot e Hazarah or Saqoot e Multan. , You can see the people of Multan , Bahawalpur and Hazarah are more Pakistani than anyone else.
I am in touch with their most web sites and pages, they are Pakistan loving. Only my Baluchs are very angry but they are great people and they are in habit of forgiving. If we can beg a whole hearts pardon I still hope some better and I assure you that Baluchistan is in position to feed whole Pakistan. I am doing this job with heart and hope a result.
Three new different reports on different issues but everyone is related some way.
And these two are related with above
&
No comments by me, This is their way.
People living in South of Punjab are given the old message.
PML N is totally un clear about issue of new provinces. Great Javed Hahmi is supporting new provinces. Khawajah Saad Rafiq is also realizing some way.
http://pkpolitics.com/2011/08/02/news-night-with-talat-2-august-2011/
ISLAMABAD: Creation of Seraiki province is fast turning into a major election issue, as leaders of the two main parties of the country seek to capture seats in the region.
Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani on Tuesday held in-depth discussions with parliamentarians and ministers from Multan, Bahawalpur and Dera Ghazi Khan. If the proposal for the new province gets materialised, all these regions will be merged.
Punjab Governor Sardar Latif Khosa, Minister for Textile Makhdoom Shahabuddin and Minister for Foreign Affairs Hina Rabbani Khar also attended the meeting.
According to an official press release, **the meeting was meant to focus on the ongoing and new development projects for southern Punjab. It said the government wanted to bring about a major change in the lives of people through a series of development projects in the area.
A participants of the meeting told Dawn, the prime minister had asked party leaders belonging to the area to organise the party’s rank and file because it was foreseeing a cutthroat competition with the rival political party in the region.
**He said the prime minister also asked participants to increase the frequency of their visits to their constituencies so that by the next elections the PPP could perform well in the area.
The participant said since the PML-N was running the show in Punjab, the PPP would match its development schemes through federal government-sponsored projects.
**The prime minister who in the recent past has inaugurated a number of development projects in south Punjab, according to the release, was keen to see that these deprived areas get the much-needed attention and the people get all modern facilities at their door steps.
He said that his focus was on health, education, water supply, roads and communication networks. He said that measures were also afoot to address the chronic issue of loadshedding.
**The parliamentarians discussed with the prime minister possibility of launching new development projects to bring about a positive change in the lives of people.
**Most of the projects dealt with construction of new roads and bridges to link the far-flung areas and to shorten distance between southern Punjab and rest of the country.
**There was also a demand for swift measures to curb loadshedding and to strengthen existing river banks to protect the people from any flooding.
On the other hand, Pakistan Muslim League-N chief Nawaz Sharif this Monday formed a 15-member party committee to formulate suggestions relating to demand for new provinces.
Moreover, the Punjab government in this year’s budget has given considerable increase to budgetary allocations for the development of southern Punjab.
Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif has also started mobile hospitals in the region. A 40 per cent share has been earmarked for the people from the south in the provincial government’s yellow cab scheme.
Earlier, it was the PPP which announced its plans to support formation of new provinces in the country. Now both the PPP and its new coalition partner the PML-Q supporting the idea, the PML-N is left with no other option but to support creation of new provinces.
With the idea of Seraiki province picking up momentum, both the parties have started paying special attention to the south which in the past had been ignored by the provincial government.
*aaj Javed Hashmi saaHib jo sabhii kii nazar meN qaabil-e-aHtaraam haiN unhoN ne ML-N ko mashwarah diyaa hai k Punjaab ko 2-3 sooboN meN munqasim kar diyaa jaaye. *
Though Javed Hashmi was also groomed by dictator Zia-ul-Haq, but after doing politics for many years he has become one of the best poltician in Pakistan history. He should have been PM or President of Pakistan. PML(N) is lucky that politicians like him or Khawaj Safdar are in its ranks.
i duuno much but i've been watching him on Pakistani TV for the last month or so and, to me at least, he seems to be genuine who has 'dard for the qaum o millat" ... Allah kare aise leaders aur bhii hoN aur har party men hoN taa k scoundrels aren't in the forefront ... aameen
Whilst creating new provinces maybe a good idea it is important to remember that under the present constitutional stipulations (article 239 [4] ) it would first need an existing provincial assembly to back a new province (within it’s borders) by a 2/3 majority, then only could the Federal parliament consider it.
The PPP + PML Q combined have nowhere near a 2/3 majority in provincial assembly of Punjab, so until the PML N backs it any new provinces would be a non starter, and all just empty political rhetoric. Of course the governing coalition could try to amend the constitution to remove this stipulation, but that could involve a whole host of other issues/demands from smaller parties, and be quite long winded.
JAVED HASHMI IS MORE WISE
He has asked for four provinces in Punjab.
http://www.dawn.com/2011/08/04/hashmi-wants-punjab-divided-into-four-provinces.html
Hashmi wants Punjab divided into four provinces By Amir Wasim | From the Newspaper (7 hours ago) Today
New provinces have become need of the hour with the increase in population: Javed Hashmi.—File photo
ISLAMABAD: Senior PML-N leader Makhdoom Javed Hashmi has asked the leadership of his own party to announce division of Punjab into four provinces.
Taking part in a debate on the Karachi situation in the National Assembly on Wednesday, the veteran leader from the southern Punjab city of Multan rebutted a statement of Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif that the demand for creation of new provinces was a ‘gimmick’ by the government to hide its alleged corruption.
“I have great respect for Shahbaz Sharif, but I do not agree with his statement in which he linked the demand for new provinces to the government’s corruption,” said Mr Hashmi, who in the past had openly criticised some policies of the party and decisions of its leadership.
Answering a question about new provinces at a gathering of supporters in London, Mr Shabaz reportedly said it was the government’s habit to come up with new gimmicks whenever it was criticised for its corruption and lack of accountability.
Mr Hashmi, who reluctantly accepted the office of senior vice-president of the PML-N last month and is also part of the 15-member special committee constituted by Nawaz Sharif to formulate suggestions on the demand for new provinces, said he wanted his party to take the lead and announce “creation of three to four new provinces” in Punjab.
Mr Hashmi, who had almost been sidelined by the leadership because of his open criticism of policies of the party, said that new provinces had become need of the hour with the increase in population.
He did not elaborate geographical locations of the new provinces, but it is believed that he was referring to the ongoing debate in media and political circles that Punjab should be divided into South Punjab, Bahawalpur, Central Punjab and Potohar provinces.
Earlier, taking part in a debate in the National Assembly on the presidential address to parliament in April, Mr Hashmi had proposed to split the four provinces into 16 for good administration.
His call for more provinces, especially in the most populous province of Punjab, is expected to cause unease in the PML-N which constituted a committee on the issue only recently because of fears of a political isolation when almost all major and small parties are openly supporting the calls for new provinces.
Mr Hashmi called for framing an easy mechanism to create new provinces and said the process should not be delayed until the next assembly “lest you find the country’s map changed”.
In an interview to the official news agency on Tuesday, Mr Hashmi said there was no harm in creating new provinces; this would help ensure better administration and improved governance.
i duuno much but i've been watching him on Pakistani TV for the last month or so and, to me at least, he seems to be genuine who has 'dard for the qaum o millat" ... Allah kare aise leaders aur bhii hoN aur har party men hoN taa k scoundrels aren't in the forefront ... aameen
Fakhta,
Do you think Telengana will ever get statehood. I understand that there are some 10 statehood movements in India, including Awadh.
As I have said eralier, if the political parties need to come out clearly in favour or against more provinces. But I would opose a Karachi province, because of the disruption that it would cause.
I dont want to see any more provinces :nahi:
But PML-N Disagrees with me