Nawaz sharif refuses to give time frame for ending load shedding

Sharif brothers should keep this in mind that they have won the elections on the promise of ending the load shedding within an year. Most of us on the forum know that it would be an impossible task to immediately end the menace, but it would be very difficult for them to pacify the ordinary people on the ground who have suffered a lot during the past five years.

Re: Nawaz sharif refuses to give time frame for ending load shedding

promise started with 6 months, then 1 year, then 2 year at the end, last advert of PMLN said 3 years. promise "grows" just like their hair. awam will be stupid to expect load-shedding to end within a year.

but on the other side, i believe there are plenty of projects in line, both by govt and private sector. if no one stops them, or process gets slow down due to incompetence or corruption or other external factors, load shedding will be minimal if not completely over by the end of next 5 years. irrespective of who rules. Even if it were PPP to win again, provided that they do not stop or slow down the stuff, it would still be the same case. but if by the use of some magic wand, sharifs managed to shrink the time needed, they will again take the bigger piece of cake next time

What 'Friends of Zardari' (some of whom are abroad now) have done to WAPDA, OGRA, PSO, 'ESCOS' and NEPRA, I don't think anyone can stabilize the financial situation of these organizations in even 15 years. Last five years have been a nightmare as far as governance is concerned.

^ I know we know the facts not easy to explain to the folks on the street who have been rendered jobless due to load shedding. People will get restless soon if they don't see any visible difference within an year.

It is not a matter of additional projects. It is the cost of running the existing ones that is troublesome. We simply do not have the funds to pay them according to the contracts signed by Rani Shaheed and her hubby.

Nawaz sharif is saying that Shahbaz sharif has given the deadlines in "josh e khitabat". Would they really blame the people if they ask deliverance from them within the deadlines promised?

Bhai jaan, ab awam Bahaney nahi sunaiN gay.

Wo result maangeiN gay. They will ask from Sharifs; If you knew you can not fullfil promises and can not overcome the problems, then why did you ask us to give you a chance? Phir dafa ho jaatey pehlay hi kahiN aur....

For me, most of it is linked to establishing rule of law. We can see some difference even if electricity theft is reduced by 70%.

A relatively easier solution is to have the 'ESCOS' pay the cost of electricity to WAPDA upfront. Any shortfall in revenue collection should be the responsibility of the Chief Executive of relevant ESCO (who might get a pay cut if theft crosses a certain limit). Empower the ESCOs to use Police, Rangers or even Army for crackdown on electricity theft.

In the short term if the government wants to pay off the circular debt it's in the tune of 870 billion rupees (as per media reports). I don't know from where they can arrange this, keeping in mind another 5 billion dollars need to be paid as debt retirement. More loans from international institutes and more inflation.

i agree with you on that one.
but i read somewhere in news/ article etc which i cannot recall. the new projects are mostly coal based, also there is a program in place to convert existing furnace-oil-run power houses to coal, or at least add a second fuel option. this will of course not rid us of the IPPs, but it will somehow reduce our dependency on oil imports. couple this with fuel purchase on delayed payments (from N$'s arab friends, if they really brokered the deal, there must be something to make it run) all this may improve the situation a bit. but over all i agree this crisis is not easy to overcome

Electricity theft is more in fata, balochistan and Karachi. It would take some time for the government to address that.

i agree with the second part of your post.

i though there were no electricity bills in FATA to begin with. theft comes later.

The problem with IPPs is that we have to pay them even if we do not buy electricity from them. :(

any idea how long this contract will be valid?

http://jang.com.pk/jang/may2013-daily/20-05-2013/topst/main1.gif

Not sure. As far as I can remember one or two of them were 30 years.

Shariff Inc. will probably ask to buy from India's power Grid and pay hefty fees for it to make a 1 month commitment happen.

Aakhir according to NS India aur Pakistan tau aik hee hain..

Even the cheaper furnace oil (on deferred payments) is a short term measure, because we don't know for how long Saudia would be willing to do that and what kind of strings would be attached (Iran Pakistan gas pipeline and Pakistans foreign policy?). Another initiative could be to divert the gas from captive power plants to ipps, but for that the government would have to take on powerful fertiliser mafia. Don't know yet if the government has stomach for that.

He cant do anything can only reduce it 2 3 hours nothing more

I think the extra ordinary load shedding in Punjab these days is for a reason, after Nawaz sharif takes over and reduces the duration to 12 hours this would be taken as a relief to the masses.