Nands- Evil/ Thieves/ Mean or Nice/ Friendly/ Sisters?

And there are some brides who are good actresses too!

My point is, there is nothing inherently evil about inlaws, I am tired of reading comments that suggest something like this. Yes some people have terrible experiences with their MIL or SIL ---but some people also have terrible experiences with their husbands --or with their sisters---or with their brothers ---or with their mothers--- or with their fathers ---or with their best friends ---or with their neighbours ----------doesnt mean ALL husbands and all sisters and all brothers and all mothers and all fathers and all best friends and alllllll neighbours are bad!!!!!!! A relationship is a relationship, it needs thoughtfulness, compassion, good intentions, effort and time, and it is possible with all people inshallah!!!!!

Re: Your things stolen

Dear Lovely Ladies,

I think we have derailed from the topic, into a discussion about, yet again, mean nands vs pyari dulhans.
Please let’s keep talking about fashion and in this case, how a bride-to-be’s stuff gets stolen before her big day (which in all seriousness is a REAL bummer).

Signed,

THE evil Nand

:sheyn1:

^lol. im sure ill be the awesomest nand ever! when the time comes.

I'm sure u will! iA!

It is so funny how only MIL and SIL are being ridiculed, there can always be a third person, maybe an outsider... Comon ppl...give MILs and SILs some break!

yes its true my mums suits got stolen from her nands

im a sil n i love my bhabi loads and we get on so well n we share everything hair clothes make up shoes the lot

it is true that your mom's suits got stolen from her nand but when you became a nand, you didn't steel your bhabhi's suits. So lets not ridicule MILs and SILs because all of them are not evil monsters.

I'm not talking about every body, owh pleasee do i say every body ?

It is not necessary to have a nand, yeah i have strong opionions because i think so? and so what ? if yu don’t like than don’t read it :smiley:

Re: Nands- Evil/ Thieves/ Mean or Nice/ Friendly/ Sisters?

Ah, I don’t have any nands.. and my hubby only has two cousin-sisters. One’s half white and christian but despite of that and not having met each other, she’s really sweet and stays in touch through facebook and emails. She’s my age too so we have bonded well so far.
The other one lives in Pakistan and is very young.. only 13 years old but she’s soooo cute. She’s the one who started calling me bhabi and all of hubby’s other cousins in Pakistan followed. She has become very attached to me in just a few months and always calls, emails.. infact I was the first person she called when she had a baby sister last month :cheegum: I can’t wait to meet her when I go there.
The only issue I had after wedding was with my youngest devar who’s 14 but that was only because he was very shy and wasn’t used to having a sister or a girl around. He loves playing videogames and basketball with my husband so he was sad thinking that his ‘bhaijaan’ wouldn’t do that anymore after getting married.. lol. It was kinda cute but of course soon he realized it was nothing like that. Infact I would sit and watch them play, he would even tell me to videotape him beating my husband. After a while, he too became very attached to me.. and now is my self proclaimed ‘best friend’ :hehe: I am now kind of like those new species to him.. he watches me do makeup, he criticizes my clothes, my hair.. I wore capris with a long kamiz once and he couldn’t understand why the pants were short.. :omg: We have our pilow fights, always picking on each other and arguing but he still insists on sitting next to me in the car and puts his arm around me and says, im sitting with my sister :smiley:

I don’t believe in this all SILs, MILs, BILs, etc etc are evil types. I believe that if you give respect, you will get it also. Yes there are some who have an agenda as soon as the wedding takes place but not just nands, even bhabis do that. They can be really good friends and like sisters if you can bond with them. I feel like I have found two new brothers after getting married.

^yeh i completely agree, it could be nands, bhabis or any other person for that matter.

i do agree with rani mafia on the fact that nands can never be like sisters. but i dont think they are evil and out to get u. haha. but thats just my perspective and its probably because i have a sister who i love to death and my relationship with my sister in laws would never come close to what my sister and i share. and this is even after the fact that 1 of my nands, the youngest one is one of my closest friends, shes my age and ive known her from wayy before i knew my husband.

Stealing is wrong no matter who does it, be it a nand or whoever, people think its part of in law bashing but its not.Its a serious matter. In our culture people get away with it because of the "in law" tag and because sadly enough the boy's side is accorded more power. Not everyone does it but it happens often enough.

This happened to my Mom. My Mom was my Nana's favorite and he gave her the world and more for her Jehez. She took cash, jewelry, bedroom sets, TV, etc etc etc when she got married (as was the tradition back then). It happened after she got married though. After the wedding, she was living with inlaws (dad has 4 sisters) and her Jehez things started to disappear. Her sarees that she got made from India, her shalwar kameez suits, jewelry and perfumes. She started to get really worried because my Nana had give her the most beautiful jewelry and she cherished it. Finally, she put a lock on her things because she had no choice. Of course, inlaws minded to no end but what else could she do?

Anyway, she was only living with them for 3 months...moved to the US after that.

P.S. - My future SIL seems like a really nice person and I refuse to judge her negatively.

hey chikas...... bs yar... dnt take it seriously.. v r here js to share our view points... n everyone has freedom of speech janiz.... v mst respect each other and otherz point ov view... rest the term Nand is realy been treating in bad manner .... but dnt forget grudgs are waste of perfect happiness...
all r nt the same.... give ur best to have best ...

u r nt desi nand … if u cant fight :chai:

I have three nands...i was in pakistan only for 10 days n spent maybe a total of 6 hours with them. v get along just fine...i call them all the time, n v also keep in touch by mail. i love his sister and since i dont a have a sister i really would like to keep my relationship nice n sweet with them. i hope n pray that it stays that way (inshallah).

^mashallah =)

I have one nand - since she was raised up with all brothers she is not a very girly type. I have tons of sisters and I am a girly type.

We don't have much in common so we are not super close but we are always decent to each other and get along.

I think it's easier to get along if you don't live under one roof. That's just my observation.

Me and my bhabhis are super close.

I have no complaints about my nands whatsoever.
My bhabhi.....let's just say that's a whole other story.

^ lets hear the story :)