Re: Naming a muslim child
what makes u think i will tell you my real name??? ![]()
i am not abdullah-the-namiac oops maniac :guffaws:
what makes u think i will tell you my real name??? ![]()
i am not abdullah-the-namiac oops maniac :guffaws:
well said.
buddy, now dont get into some smart wordplay here.. i may have been wrong in that that not every pakistani is named al-bashar bin faisal.. but u dont seem to address my argument on why indian hindus dont name their kids edouard matambanandzo..
because they have their own culture and religion ?
Follow them if you wish.
and maniac bhai if u think i am close-minded appka observation app hi ko mubarak ho.. i dont really care what u think of me.. my only concern is why desi muslims (at large) need to copy other cultures.. height of wannabeism.. now both u and faisal dont gimme that **** that a muslim's only identity is islam and hence he prefers to adopt names that sound islamic... look at 80% of non-arab non-desi muslims.. what kinda names do they have??? look at south-east asian muslims.. they are a huge chunk of the ummah... look at turkish muslims.. look at central asian muslims... they all have a deep regard for islam and they also love their culture.. they dont see a need to please their non-existent mughal -arab masters by naming their kids in arabic or persian.. then why should desi muslims try to chipakaofy to arabic/farsi names?? granted that allah (swt) likes some arabic names.. then why go for persian names??? afghans and balochs keeping persian names is understandable (in fact laudable cos they respect their heritage as former persians) whereas pakistanis and north indian muslims are essentially only indians.. pakis may have a sprinkling of arab/turk genes but ultimately we all are desis/indians.. phir why that extreme love for the middle-easterny names????
Faisal, No one is questioning what someone names their child. To me Mohammed is just as beautiful as Arjun. If God has favorite names then he needs to open his mind a little bit and be less exclusionary otherwise he sounds not as UNIVERSAL as many claim his word to be. Hope you can think laterally.
Desibanda, why does it bother you so much that msulims use Arabic names for their children? Bahoot zada keera ho raha hai aap ko? You tell me why does not a Hindu name his child Sulatn Tipu or Muhammad bin Qasim ? Remember the ones who whopped on Hindu asses? Why not after all Muslims specially with Arabic and Farsi names ruled over Hindus in style for over 600 years. So Why cannot a Hindu start naming his children according to his old masters?
^ Kaleem, yeah you are right. And they had a lot of b@stardss that became muslims of the subcontinent. : omshantiom: Those that didn;t bend over, stayed to be Murgugappan jalebivaala.
Matty this more like it. See you dont have to use that other nick my brother. I wanted to get you to come out and play.....:). Anyway, like they say..What's in a name? You can name your child anything you want, its just that most desi muslims choose Arabic names. I will tell you that most of the people in our family pick their names from Quran. There is nothing wrong with that. I am sure there are some people in India who name their kids after Hindu religious figures. Don they?
Kaleem you can come meet Desi banda and I. Compare our peepees and see if it is the same person. I think that is the only way you will satisfy the madness that consumes you.
As far as coming out and play...I will give a fitting response when asked to do so. :)
Again..read my comments from the very beginning. I have nothing against peole naming their kid..ullu ka paTha, if they want. But As long as people from any religion feel that their god prescribes preference to certain names which exclude the multiude of humanity, at the same time proclaiming the universality of the words of the same god, I will base that as faith not as fact. Which your brother in arms Ravage was arguing against. Now if you want to discuss it further then go ahead. Otherwise you can start the sectarian debate and I will duly oblige.
thanks,
Mat
This is for those idiots who are crying that why Pakistanis and north Indian Muslims name their kids after Arabic and Persian names. There is a simple reason for that and Faisal already discussed it. But let me tell you again. Pakistanis and north Indian Muslims speak Urdu and Urdu has 90% words from Arabic and Persian. So all those names are not just Arabic or Persian but they are also in Urdu names. It is just that simple. THEY ARE NOT JUST ARABIC NAMES BUT ALSO URDU NAMES. What part of this you morons donāt understand?
Urdu is 90% Arabic and Persianā¦thatās kinda news to me. What was the last Arbi or Farsi movie you saw in Lahore? Even on DVD.
Madhanee I know what you mean. It's hard to understand farsi or Arabic for a Pakistani becuase of the grammer and pronounciation of words. I am just talking about the words in Urdu NOT about the way these languages are spoken. If you pick up a Urdu dictionary and look at the root of the words almost all of them are derived from Arabic and Farsi.
^^ Thanks AS I feel better, my kids dont speak urdu they speak english so I named them Joe, bob and lenny.
It must be so hard for people form punjab to understand punjabi over urdu or arabic. I hear ya.
Yeah is Dalla a punjabi name?
can you suruvive speaking only punjab in pakistan?
Not in NWFP you dont nor in Sindh or Baluchistan.
Alright so weāre mucking up two issues here. That Islam is the preferred religion is a matter of faith, and whether Islam is adaptable is a matter that can be ascertained through fact.
We believe Islam is the preferred religion in the eyes of Allah because there is a verse of the Quran that specifically says so. And I maintain that Islam is universally adaptable because it encompasses a lot of cultures from arab to russian to european to asian. It doesnt have to be most numerically superior to be considered adaptable.
scoll up to your original question. you questioned Allahās choosing specific names in Arabic when Islam is supposedly adaptable everywhere. i start from the premise that Islam is the preferred religion, a faith based premise which is perfectly valid if its a question about faith, and say thereby preferred names have Islamic significance (all of Faisalās names are Islamic and not arabic).
Wheres the misinformation?
quite lame.
Faisal..kindly close this thread. It served its purpose and now it has degenerated into a bunch of bs.