Naming a muslim child

Re: Naming a muslim child

In aasaan urdu it is called:

Begaani shaadi maiN Abdullah Deewaana :hehe:

Ravage, do you read what you type? Here is one of your nuggets.

"the fact that it is the preferred religion is a matter of faith.."

Fact and faith in the same sentence to establish your bombastic validity of universality is a ridiculous angle. Of course numbers are the way to determine universality of the religion. How do you measure faith? Even if adaptability is the criteria, you are basing that on faith not fact. Will give you and example. Sikhs and buddhists and christians believe that their religion is th emost universal one from an adaptability perspective.Since you don't believe in numbers of adherents as the measure for your assertion, does the fact that sikhs say that makes it a fact?

then you go on to say

"i give you a faith based explanation for an a supposed inconsistency in our faith"

An explanation based in faith is not equal to a fact based explanation. If you look at how Faisal posts in the religion forum, he is quite deliberate in his posting. His basic premise in his posts, even in the one about the names, is based on belief and faith, without the bombast of half-or-non universal truths. Which is great. No one is questioning any one's faith. But when that is discarded for superfluous, unsubstantiated, illogical misinformation; it is properly derided.

And regarding the maharishi bit..it's ok. Hinduism will not fall apart if someone makes a crack. Been here for 6000 yrs. Much before arabs made up Islam fro cutting and pasting christianity and judaism. :)

In terms of naming convention. Arab Christians, Jews, and Muslims all have Arab names. There are Omar’s across the board, so are Khaleels, Ibrahims, Chotiyas, Tariqs, and Jameels. Naeema, Khadija, Yakeen, are female names for all 3 western religions.

Yazid is not uncommon among Suuni Arabs, but you wont find that name among Shias. A woman gave her newborn daughter the name “Intakhab” as she was born on the Election day (Intakhab means elections in Arabic).

You can be named dick or asshole, and Allah :swt: wont give an f about that. It is what you do with your life that s/he might be interested in.

:jhanda:

I am sorry the whole discussion went off track based on one little comment and incorrect assumption. No Matsui, the names preferred by our Creator are not all in Arabic. In fact, many of them are not in Arabic. For example, we are told that the names of the Prophets (Peace be upon them) are dear to Allah. Now, how many prophets had their names in Arabic?

I don't know faisal tell me how many names of your prophets are in Arabic? Infact tell me how many muslim prophets are were born in Xinjiang or China. where 1/6th of humanity lives and none of their names are preferred by a supposedly universally divine entity.

Or Japanese for that matter..

If i have more kids, I am naming all of them after my hero - Matsui.

From naming a muslim child, we are now off to discussing prophets in China? Oh well, I am sure they had their prophets. They should know. One guesstimate is that there were more than 120,000 messangers of God from Adam to Muhammad (Peace be upon them). How many names do we know? Only a few. So, safe guess, they must have a few.

Names of Prophets? Lets see... (and yeah, none of them seem to be Arab) a partial list.

1. Adam
  2. Noah/Nuh
  3. Solomen/Suleyman
  4. Zakariya
  5. Abraham/Ibraheem
  6. Isaac/Ishaaq
  7. Jacob/Yaquub
  8. Joseph/Yousaf
  9. Daniel/Daniyaal
  10. Moses/Musah
  11. Jesus/Eesa

Faisal, I think they are all Arab names… from Arab Region. I will guessj (am pretty sure) a Pakistani Musliman will name his/her son Yousef anyday over Krishan. Why is that?

Ask the "Pakistani Musliman". Uss ki marzi, bhai.. teray ko kiya lagay? Voh, beshakk betay ka naam Jamedaar Khan rakh le.

Faisal Bhaijan, that’s what we are discussing. The question is “why”.

If you really want to get into the minds of the people when they are naming their children, then there will be literally countless reasons. Some go for names of close friends and family, so go for unique names, some leave it all upto their own parents (nana, nani, dada, dadi), while some think ahead to see what name will help the child to fit in the culture he/she will grow up. If "Krishan" floats the boat of someone, I am sure they will name their child. I don't think many Indian hindus name their children Xing Lao Ping or David Tashahaki or Kamran Khan.

Matsui,the ball is in your side now. What do you say to this?

Don't give him any more balls. He already lost two on a football bet.

FG, dont tell me he bet on Phillies..even after I tried to knock some sense into him. :P

faisal bhai what u are really losing here is the logic… if u are questioning why indian hindus dont name their kids abdullah or kamran khan or deng xiaping u are making a blunder.. cos hindus name their kids in their language… they dont COPY from other cultures and societies and languages… so all hindu names are sanskrit names.. they belong to all hindus.. whereas paki muslims naming their kids in arabic doesnt fit the same profile.. show me how many pakis speak arabic or a language DIRECTLY derived from arabic?? so where does the logic of naming ur kid al-walid bin mukhatib come from??? think my friend.. i am surprised that a level-headed person like you can also churn out bakwas..

My name is Abdullah, im damn proud of it and i am a pakistan. Whats wrong with me having an arabic name. And besides, its more Islamic than arabic, its a name beloved to Allah.

Frankly im surprised YOU are so close minded desibanda...

ha my friend its easy to be defensive when u know that u are personally involved in an argument.. i bet that if ur name was somthing like sameer khan or something u wud have seconded me.. anyways, nobody said anything is wrong with having an arabic name.. but when a society does a wannabe act and pretends to be arab that deserves condemnation.. religion is different and culture is different.. if u are trying to say that just because u are muslim ur culture is arab or something, u are negating the intelligence and wisdom of your ancestors (both non-muslim and muslim who may not have mimicked arab culture)... its the equivalent of pi$$ing on the graves of your forefathers... lemme know how u feel now..

Hehe actually no, if my name was sameer khan i`d name my son Abdullah because i know its a name dear to Allah

My dada who named me was named Iqbal, a desi name, yet he named me Abdullah and my Brother Obaidullah.

Are you named Sirinath Visvananth ?

I don’t think many people in Pakistan name their kids Khaled Bin Asim. So the whole argument is a wash. Urdu is widely used in Pakistan, and urdu includes many persian and Arabic words, hence many names you see are from those two languages. If you go to NWFP or Baluchistan, people name their kids in words from Farsi or Pashtu. Punjabis name their kids in Punjabi (Allah Ditta is a fairly common name). Therefore, the whole hooplah as to why Pakistanis name their kids in a certain way or don’t name them in a certain way, is a waste of time and just smacks of ignorance.

As for pissing on my forefathers graves..my forefathers who had indian names , named me Abdullah :)

And besides....i also consider the Prophet and his family and the sahaba to be my forefathers...if not in the true genetic sense then in the ideological and religious sense. Arnt we all decendents of Adam anyways ? :)