Re: My problem about my wedding
how much would a nice langa cost in pakistan anyway? do you know
plz dont kill me for saying this but IF you havent been celebrating your wedding anniversaries before and then all of a sudden you have a huge party AND try to look like a new dulhan by wearing lehnga shenga tika jhoomer etc then that's gonna look kinda strange...sorry, just an honest feedback!
^ I think it's strange if someone goes all out every year. I think once in a while people are happy to join in on the celebration. Though, I think it's more expected to do something like this on a 10th anniversary or 15th -- some round number.
I don't think you should wear your wedding clothes. Get something new that's nice but perhaps isn't too expensive. You can find stuff in all price ranges, it's just a matter of knowing where to look. Then wear the tikka, jhummar stuff with that.
^ PS: I think you should get photos taken with the dupatta set on your head, but then wear it normally for the actual event. It might be too much with the dupatta.
I think a peshwaaz would be perfect for something like this -- and they're so in!
it wouldnt be a huge wedding party just a small one with close family and friends. All i want is some nice photos and video footage and that can be done in a small event...thanks for your advice anyway
i saw many weddings in which sisters wear lehngas and jewelery. if u just want nice photos then u can wear this on ur sister's wedding, get ur makeup done from parlor and have a photoshot with dupatta on your head. for the whole party u can wear the dupatta in normal way.
well u can ask someone to send u from pakk.. u can even get a lehnga for 20,000 rs. in pak.. if u order online it will cost u alot.. arround 1000 to 1200$ :S ..
ask ur sister or some friend in pak to send u..
plz dont kill me for saying this but IF you havent been celebrating your wedding anniversaries before and then all of a sudden you have a huge party AND try to look like a new dulhan by wearing lehnga shenga tika jhoomer etc then that's gonna look kinda strange...sorry, just an honest feedback!
such a hater response... whose business is it of anybody else's why they're celebrating this way? a friend of mine didn't celebrate her son's first birthday the way its normally done b/c of personal circumstances, so she's going to go all out for his second birthday. So what if it will look "strange"..too often desis are so caught up in how ur "supposed' to do things, that nobody will ever step out of thier own little box and do things a different way..evne if it will make em happy.
I got married in 1996 .
and it was a huge wedding with alot of guests ,
we have not had professional photographer and all pictures my hubby's
cousins took did not came out very good.
when I compare my wedding with my cousin's and family weddings i see a
huge different .
decoracting and dresses are better nowadays. professional photographer
is a must and so on.
but such things does not matter .
i am happily married now and alot of cousins who had better wedding's than me are in unhappy marraiges so Dont compare yourself with others .
Like others said, never compare yourself to what others have or did on their wedding. Just give thanks to Allah for whatever He blessed you with. There are many millions of girls who do not have even what you have. Im sure your husband thought you looked beautiful
Doesnt matter how long you have been married, of course you can still have a party to celebrate your wonderful marriage. Get dressed, wear whatever you want, and dont stop for a second to care about what others think of you. Those who love you will be happy for you and will be honored to share in the celebration with you. Those who dont -dont matter one bit!
i dont know what ur problem is sara…my advice was diff than others doesnt make it a ‘hater response’! I was only putting things in perspective. She’s talking about wearing bridal head to toe on her “7th” anniversary…I just didnt think it would be appropriate or go well, I personally wouldnt do it. As I said earlier, she can go all out on her sister’s wedding without having others give her strange looks. At the end though, it’s her own choice…I haven’t imposed anything on her, I only provided the opinion that SHE ASKED FOR by starting this thread. Now bugger off you hater! ![]()
hi again....have been abit busy so unable to reply...
Mehroo thanks for your comment. When you got married in 1996 I dont think many people were into have photography and digital cameras etc. However I got married in 2002 which is more recent because then times had changed... I havent been to many weddings but when did all this professional photography, lavishly decorated halls etc etc come into pakistani weddings because I used to go to weddings alot before I got married and noone did this? I was just wondering
CorruptAngel...thanks for your advice I can understand your point of view and it was nice sharing it with me..thanks
I really appreciate everyones comments and I will stop comparing myself to others from now on. :)
Can someone please reply to my last message....thanks
hi everyone....its been along time since i last came on this forum.been so busy....
I haven't had the photoshoot or the wedding anniversary party that I wanted so much. My husband is not wanting to get dressed and have wedding pics taken again he thinks its been too long for our marriage..I have talked to him but he doesnt think it is necessary. Therefore there will be no nice pictures to upload as I wont have any...I dont want to keep hassling my hubby..dont know what to do...I have even thought about just get dressed up myself and only having my photos...what shall I do??
ami123,
do what YOU want to do.
if you want to dress up and take pics, go for it!
doesnt matter if ur anybody else doesnt want to do it!
you can simply wear you wedding outfit, go to the studio or hire a photographer for an hour long shoot at your home and get some nice portraits done.
get your kids involved too if you want.
who knows, even your husband might get interested if its just a private shoot.
Good weddings dont make great marriages!
You're lucky to have a happy married life!! Ohhh .. you can do what goras do .. renew your love!! Have a small ceremony just for yourselves!
v all can understand ur feelings ami123 do waht eva makes u feel happy ...here in pakistan its like trend ,married sisters or cuzns wear their wedding outfit in any family weddnig especially when they r newly married.. tu ap apni sis ki shadi pe bhi puri tarah tyar hosakti hein outfit wohi same rakhein (if u cant afford new one) apni jewellery pehnein achse se parlor se makeup aur hairstyle karaeni aur sir pe duppatta bhi rakh lein...
n one more thing pakistan mein 5000 sey lehnge start hote hien depends on design qualty n location offcoourse..
anarkali frauq buhattt pyari lagti hein brides hon ya formal outfits ,,u can have in affordable price frm pak ,,tell me ur budget if u dnt feel cmfortble gve me private msg.
and for GOdsake 6 yrz is nt that late ..like 10 yrz or 15 yrz ,,if ur husband is not feeling ok wid this now then how he will agree later.. so do whateva u want and do it now..
aur hannnn,, photo session ap apni sis ki shadi pe bhi kara sakti hein tab tu ap k hubby bhi dressup hongey mana bhi nahi karsakenigay ;) kaisaaaaaaaa..!!!
thanks for your reply. but here in the uk sisters never wear their wedding dress as it seems like their are out doing the bride?? To be honest i would rather have pics taken on a seperate day to my sisters wedding as it wont be rushed etc....I really wishes that my husband finally gives in to me and we have a photoshoot done...If so I would have to get a photograph to come to our house ans take pics because I dont think husband would want to go to a photo studio and its going to be hard to find one that come to your house especially to do a photoshoot in the uk...I know its different in pakistan...