oh this is suuucccchhhhhh a delicious recipe … i found it on youtube on vahchef channel … you just have to try it …
this is how i make it:
ingredients:
1TBSP zeera (cumin seeds)
1tsp corriander powder
1 TBSP ginger garlic paste
pinch of haldi (turmeric powder)
a bunch of fresh corriander
2 large curry patta (bay leaf)
2 long green chilli pepper
1 cup yogurt
250 or 300 grms chicken boneless
a BIG tablespoon or 1.5 of cashew nuts and almond paste, ratio 3:1 (grind together with little water)
salt as you like
oil … olive oil is great …1/4 cup
how to:
heat oil in pan
fry zeera
when you can smell the zeera, add corriander powder, mix a bit
add ginger/garlic paste, fry
add cashew nut and almond paste
add haldi, fry this all a bit
grind fresh corriander, bay leaf, green chillies together with some water and add to pan
fry well, and after 5 minutes add salt
when the corriander mixture starts letting a little oil out, add yogurt and the chicken and mix well.
cover and let cook 5 minutes
uncover and cook till the desired consistency is achieved
ahhhh yummmyyyy … iv cooked this twice already and i want to cook it again and again … yummmmmmm
eat it with roti, naan, paratha, whatever you like … i might even try it with pasta …lol
super easy, no hassle, ultra yummy ... hope you like it too :)
just be careful of the green chillies you put in ... becuz they are the only thing adding spice to it ... and i know cillies can vary in spicyness ... so perhaps you can taste the corriander paste before adding to the pan ....
I have never tried almonds or cashews in a curry, i dont know i just think it would taste odd or sweet, but dont you guys think it does taste sweet? or odd?
the nuts are the thing that add that extra taste to it ... and no it doesnt end up sweet at all .... just use plain nuts for it ... the salt and spices dont let any sweetness come through ... and once you've fried them ... phir to koi sweetness nahi bachay gi ...
nabz you can dry it down to any thickness, i keep it a bit thick curry like … not completely dry … cuz chicken aur dahi thora pani chorta hai … so you have to cook it to dry it down to however you want it …
and you can see the vdo of this actually on the vahchef channel on youtube … the only difference with mine is that i use the cashewnuts/almonds paste and he uses poppy seeds and something …
the nuts are the thing that add that extra taste to it ... and no it doesnt end up sweet at all .... just use plain nuts for it ... the salt and spices dont let any sweetness come through ... and once you've fried them ... phir to koi sweetness nahi bachay gi ...
:O I WANNA EATTTT SOME of it! It sounds delicious and it's not difficult to cook I guess? Can I buy garlic/almond paste at a desi shop? And :S bay leaf? I only know curry leaves :S
bay leaf is curry patta darling ... and the almond paste .... u jusst have to take a few almonds and cashew and grind them in a grinder with some water ... easylicious!
and yes its very easy ... just be careful if ur grinding the chilli/corriander paste in an open jar ... it can give you a little cough or sneeze! achoo! Alhamdulillah! ;)
the garlic ... you can either get this hand held thing with which u can crush it ... you know jis tarha hald held lemon squeezer hota hai ... ustarha ka ... u can get it from any shop .... aur just cut it very finely ... or use the chattoo wattaa ... is that what you call it? stomper?