My impressions of Pakistan have changed

Re: My impressions of Pakistan have changed

Islam is a universal religion, it's not just an Arab thing, Arabic is the universal language of liturgy for all Muslims but that doesn't make us Arab.

Arabs are our brothers but we're not Arab.

PS. I've met people who confuzzle Arab and Muslim, they think wearing a dress makes them more Islamic, bad taste in clothing is what I put it down to, I'm not a great of SK/KP either..

Thanks, I think the reason why Indians get so bitter about Pak and our Islamic identity is because they believe Pak is a breakoff from India whereas we Pakis don't see it like that, we see Paki independence as freedom from the British rather than secession from the Republic of India, the Republic of India and the British Indian Empire are two completely seperate entities, we never were part of the Republic India because it didn't even exist till after a day after our independence, before 15th August the term "India" was a regional name synonomous to "South-Asia" today, it didn't describe any country. Before the British arrived South-Asia was part of other (usually foreign) empires, an empire and a country are completey different things, even today India is not a natural country (and neither is Pakistan for that matter), at most Punjab state/province was broken in half as other than religion it was ethnically homogeneous, India was never broken in half because it was never a natural nation-state, it's always been multi-ethnic, on what basis was all of South-Asia (or India as it were called then) ever one country?

I feel an affinity to Indian Punjabis because my maternal family is Paki Punjabi and I feel some affinity to Hindi speaking people because it is the same tongue as our national language Urdu but I don't feel any similairities with any other Indians unless they are Muslim, most Indians might as well be Mexicans or Chinese, our similarities with Indian Gujaratis are negligible and our similairities with South Indian Keralites and Tamilians are non-existent.

We Pakis don't neccesarily need to play on the anti-India/Hindu sentiment to be patriotic about Pak, we share simialrities with them (Punjabi, Hindi/Urdu) and we respect them but our country has it's own identity.

My grandmother spoke Punjabi in a funny way, and as kids we used to laugh & giggle trying to mimic her.

She actually came to India by train with the kids (without any male members), since my grandfather was way on business (Sept / Oct 1947), and the killing had started in their area. In panic she had to leave.

When she reached Delhi - there was riots taking place outside the Old Delhi Station, and she was warned by a kind hearted porter, who told her that the way she spoke & was dressed, they would all be murdered becuse they looked like muslims.

After days at the station - she took another train to go to Jhansi. Such were the stories of survival we heard and grew up with. Grand dad come back later via Kabul in 2 months, having no idea if his family had survived or not?!!!

^ wow
no wonder why u come in paki chat rooms
You have history with us

I ever hated Indians...even when my friends told me all the stories of how they ill treat muslims in India and stories of Partition and even my teacher had moved from India to Pakistan and she said she moved there because the Indians/Hindus never let them i.e. the Muslims there practice their religion properly or live in peace..she said that the mosques there aren't allowed to say the azan loudly, on the mic and other stuff like that...I always believed that i would only criticize people when i see it with my own eyes for some reason i always believed that not knowing about anything and yet blaming and hating people of the other country is the reason why these countries have so many issues and such people from both the sides just show their ignorance nothing else since you can never know how its like in the neighboring even if we watch each other channels,movies, news etc (which can be misleading sometimes) we can only know if we interact with each other directly and erase misunderstandings or go and see how its like in the other country ourselves..but yea it ticks me off and makes me say things totally opposite to what i think when i see people blaming Muslims and Pakistanis or Islam being the reason of every other nagative thing happening in their lives or anywhere and some people are still like that even here on gs..i hope that changes as well :)

I used to hear about the bloody events that took place before and during the partition, I still hear about the fresh mass graves of muslims in India.
It gives me a fright whenever I read/watch the condition of muslims in India who once chose wrong.
Discrimination in that country is something that I heard most about and today I find it true. Take job discrimination for instance, I used to hear that it was a problem for muslims before 1947 but when I look at the situation today, people from India confirm that it's still the same.
Apart from these internal matters of India, the brutality of Indians in Kashmir is one huge source of my bad impressions of India.

Okay for a while, forget about the big bitter realities that everyone knows much about and let me confirm something else for my own information. I have a friend who has some relatives in India. A few days back I met one of his cousins who is from Ambala. He told me that while walking in a bazaar in his town if you see your muslim friend/neighbour and say 'asalamo alaikum' then everybody (hindus?) around you looks at both of you as if you are some aliens from another planet.

Not going through its finest time at the moment though Pakistan has achieved a lot and I am truly grateful to the great wise people who chose right and saved me from humiliation. They laid down their precious lives to give me a country of my own. I am usually least interested in discussions like whether we got freedom from gora or pandit. I am happy as long as I'm sure that I live in a country where there is no discrimination and that no fanatic hindu can kill me here for a lousy cow.

I wish a miracle changes my impressions of India soon.

I wish a Pakistani Hindu would join Gupshup just so we could get his/her point of view on certain issues. Was there ever one on here before?

I have one pakistani hindu friend :)

why?? u want see us fighting?

^no yaar, I just feel like we all know that Pakistani Hindus exist but i've personally never met one or seen one on gupshup so I would just like to know his/her experiences. Like a lot of the Indian Muslims have cleared up some misconceptions that people on gupshup might have had and i'm glad that they are on here. I just wish more minorities from Pakistan would voice their opinions.

It's always nice to have diverse points of view on issues. It makes it a nicer world to be in.

There was one Pakistani Hindu here couple of years ago, some guy on a student visa in US, who did not post but talked on chat off and on, I cant recall the nick.

Zobia - my impressions have changed dramatically about male & female Pakistani's.
PCG, Sara15 are girls with a spirit. Pak Patriot, Fraudia etc are balanced and fair.
I now look forward to one day visiting Peshawer, which could have been my city of birth, if things would have been different...

Hopefully the new generation of Pakistani's & Indian's will not carry the bitterness of the past.

Fraudia is the the king of comedy on gupshup :biggthumb

i dont know how many ids i ve made on gs in past 4 yrs,each time i get banned permanently.but i m besharam enough to come back.

btw is there any indian memeber who is only from india joined gs without going out of india other than me.i think nooooooooooooooooooooooooo.most of the indian ppl go out of india on work or for study in usa or europe its where they come in touch with pakistanis and hence they come to gs.but im the one person who joined gs 4 yrs back without ever coming in touch with any pakistani personally.quite an achievement lol.

the starter of this thread cunnigny blammed the 1947 bloodshed to peshawar muslims.....blammed hem with rapists ..and sadists.....jesus...

its sad that how we people so easily have forgotten the bitter history....

the malhot is giving the peshawar incidents....

malhot...plz.. i request you ..to come to Lahore...and i will welcome you and personally take you the the Lahore Railway Station Wasing Lines...the area under the Garhi Shahu Bridge...connecting the G T Road ..to the Garhi Shahu....

Under this bridge...from British era...the washing line residenrts live...washing line is a department of every railway where the train after having a long journey...brought to wash...and cooling the heated engine..and bogeys....

Its the pre partition area..with british made 1903 old houses..and many old men ..who have worked into the 1947 in wasing lines ...i will personally ...take you to some of them...

and then ...plz..ask them ..the how they wased the completely slaughterd ...7 or 8 ..completely... trains which came from Eastern punjab ..like Jalandhar...Amratsar..Ludhiana...Feroz Pur...Karnal...Patiala...Sirhind shareef...Gordaspur...Batala...etc etc.....

When these trains reached the Lahore Raliway Station Platforjm No. 1...the whole platform was flooded with the blood..there was not even a single man ..alive there...cutting handsv were seen from the windows....the choppped children..the chopped breasts of muslims girls..the chopped bellies of pregnant muslim women...and pre mature child weer ...clinged on Kirpans....

I am not telling you exageratted stories..plz...come to Lahore ..and ask all this from the old railway sewrvants of wasing lines....

In Patiala...MNaharaja army ..killed atleast 300,000 muslims......imn Amratsar ..Kaucha Rangraiza..the famous area ..the muslim women were brought naked ...totally..into the streets in a procession...raped ..killed and chopped hier bodies ..and then burnt them..on the ve of Eidul Azha ..in October 1947....

If you want te horrible detail...more ..read Chaudry Muhammad Ali ..the former PM of Pakistan...Zahora-i-pakistan....

if you not belive in this...read Maulana Abul Kalam Azad;s famous book..your own leader...about how Walib Bhai Patel..the first interior minster of india...was the biggest figure behind all anti muslim bloodshed...even in your own city..Delhi...like Pahar Gunj...Qarol Bagh..Chandni Chowk...Lodhi Colony..even Safdar Jung Hospital..the barbarans not spared...Darya Gunj..etc etc....

when Gandhi Jee...protested about it ..and took Maran Bharat...Patel killed ..him..his own bapu....

Right at this moment of 60 years..with 2 generations have passed ..we cannot blame each other for what those people did...but i wrote all this just for setting the records staright.....better for you to rewad sme history..then blamming the rape..and sadist muslims of 1947....40,000 wome were remained in sikhs houses ..aand latter became ther children's mothers....

more than 10 lakh mulksims martyred in this era....

justr have a look on the cruel facts nd figures ..and have some insight of history ..before prooving muslims to be ...rapists etc....

and someone here was saying that pakistan will eventually become secular...LOL..what a joke....

we can now hve good realtions....after 60 years ....if we want to live as a sensible neighbours....not like bhtan ..bangladesh..and nepal etc....

Remeber my all indian friends....

• these partion is done never to be revesed back....mind it...forget about ever in the history ..that you will ever be able to re unite pakistan to come your dream true of Greater India....

just vist the most dirtiest cities of the world...Mumbai...and Calcutta....plus also vist Mumabi Metro Railways lines in morning where thousands of peple have made the railway lines as permanent bthrooms.....this is the picture ..of **Shining India*...huh....

Ask your government to spend money on these poor people of india..instaed of usinfg them to building arms ..and military budget..why india is collecting so much..India can never reach the foot level of china....and regarding pakistan..afgains i repeat..we are nuclear power..so respect us as equal state....pakistan and india are equal states..in every aspect ..militarily....

thirdly....stop killing and butchering the innocent muslims in india...for 60 years ..infinite anti muslim bloodshed have hapopened..recently in Gujrat ..where the butcher** Moodi** killed 3000 innocents muslims....and people again made him CM ..peopel balat kar 7 7 years innocent girlks what a shame....

Give 20 crore mulsims of india ..their right of free land inside india..which are living as 3 rd grade citizens there as depiceted from Sachhar Report....some parts of Maharashtra...Rajishtan..and Andhra Pardesh is an ideal place ..for 20 crore muyslims..with borders meeting with pakistan....so that ..we can guard them militarily...they should have comlete freedom...jobs..and businesse there..no fear of hindu majority.....

If all points ...indian government and hindus and sikhs can take....then pakistan ...can think of the better realtions with india..plus kashmir pronblem also be slolved...

without all these efforts...Pakistanis will not like to have good realtions with india...plz..keep this thing in mind...

regards
wasalam...

divine tum ny tu mera dil dukha dia

if you proove me a single anti hindu riot in past 60 years in apksiatn..belive me ..i will send lanat on pakistan ..and will shift to india ...for the rest of my life....

if you prove me a single hindu girl organised rape by muslims ..crowd.. i will accept hinduism immediately....

if you will proove me a single anti hindu atmosphere in any city of sindh where hindus are large in no... i will never look back at pakistan.....

for your kind information....the most powerful man of pakistan today is a hindu ..his honurble Justice Rana Bhagwandas ..whose one scratch of pen ..can kick the Gen Musharraf ..out of his Presidency !!!!!

how ???

Good post.