Re: My impressions of Pakistan have changed
^^:mocking: nice pic.
My impression is that are still a lot of fanatics in Pakistan.
wah ji wah ...bare hale gule wali thread hai ji...i like it!
Ind aur Pak ek hi jaise hain ...log bhi ek jaise hain.
Zobia - No personally, I have not. But it show's how things got twisted in our minds, especially after partition.
Partition horror story I heard as a kid - Hindu Ambala Station Master's head was slit and salt rubbed in it and that he died several hours later in sheer torture - such were the sadistic stories we were fed with. No wonder, it is taking so long to reconcile.
You just heard stories, may they were fabricated.
10 membersof my family were killed by rioters during partition.
My impression is that are still a lot of fanatics in Pakistan.
My impression is that there are more fanatics in India. The likes of people in sangh parivar are not seen in Pakistan. These are the people who thrive on anti-muslim sentiment.
British Pakistanis try to enforce Shariah in England by force.
example?
Zobia - No personally, I have not. But it show's how things got twisted in our minds, especially after partition.
Partition horror story I heard as a kid - Hindu Ambala Station Master's head was slit and salt rubbed in it and that he died several hours later in sheer torture - such were the sadistic stories we were fed with. No wonder, it is taking so long to reconcile.
lol...then meet some women (outside of india). ur perception about muslim women gonna drastically change. :)
p.s. i dont wear burqa.
I have heard equally harrowing stories from my grandmother. Whole trains of Muslims were slaughtered and girls raped and tortured while on the way to Pakistan. I am pretty sure we all were capable of that. From time to time, we both show, unfortunately, that we still are.
p.s. i dont wear burqa.
stop lying other day I saw you in shuttle-cock burqa
To all my Indians and pakis
Those are just not stories THAT actually happened during partition.
All the rapes, murders, kidnapping every thing from both sides.
Why It seems so unreal to you ppl now??????????
Have we not seen state sponsored genocide by our neighbors.
I haven't said any thing wrong please don't remove my post
yes let's bring out all those open issues that we never get tired of bringing up on gupshup:
Kashmir, Gujarat riots, genocide of Bangladeshis and minority treatment in either country.
yes let's bring out all those open issues that we never get tired of bringing up on gupshup: Kashmir, Gujarat riots, genocide of Bangladeshis and minority treatment in either country.
No I didn't mean that.
But pleople died on both sides lets just not call them stories
Nice to hear you’re from Peshawar, was your family Pashtun or Hinko-Speaking?
Muslims have similar stories to tell about Muslim women jumping down wells to save their ‘honor’ from Hindu/Sikh rapists, and trains of Muslim men, women and children being slaughtered and burnt alive by Hindus/Sikhs…
There was criminals and victims on both side.. Emotion took the better of them, that’s why patriotic feelings should be kept in check otherwise they blind people, unfortunately even today Muslims are not willing to see the other side of the coin and neither are the Hindus, both only see their own kind as angels and the others as demons, it is this kind of biased ignorance which causes more wars, it’s like a never-ending cycle…
In real life most people in both Pakistan and India are decent and just want to get on with each other but the media and politicians over exaggerate things and distort half-facts, they only show one side of the coin, and we South-Asians are emotional people so we eagerly lap up whatever is thrown at us especially if somebody adds a nationalistic or religious touch to it.
I think overall Indians have a worse image of us than we have of them because we watch Bollywood movies which glamorises Indian culture so the negative propaganda we’ve been fed is somewhat neutralised, whereas Indians only see us through the negative propaganda they hear on Star/Zee, newspapers, rightwing-politicians etc.
Most Indians I know are decent people (all bubbly and happy) but there are a few who say bad things about Muslims/Pakistanis behind my back to English people (at least they say I’m an exception), especially at times like these they’re eager to jump on the anti-Pak/Islam bandwagon with everyone else and it hurts the most when it’s from people you think of as apne.
Like I said most are decent though, I know a Sikh guy and he feels like a brother, he even looks like me (everyone says we might be far-off relatives).. we eat the same foods (we love to mock the rice-munching dietary habits of our Gujji and Bengali friends), we have the same sayings, folk-songs (tappey), folk-tales..
No I didn't mean that. But pleople died on both sides lets just not call them stories
Isn't it time we put them behind us?
Both Pakis and Indians suffered and both also caused suffering, but it's our past, world'd be a nicer place if we respected our differences but concentrated on the similarities..
Isn't it time we put them behind us?
Both Pakis and Indians suffered and both also caused suffering, but it's our past, world'd be a nicer place if we respected our differences but concentrated on the similarities..
I don't know man.
I do respect indians no question, I have few indian friends too. But other things are still there .
I am not talking about the past now, for some reason indian youth have a terrible image of pakistan and muslims.
But I liked it when indians were exited about becoming friends with pakistan(musharaf era).
Jokes apart, I do not know how many years it will take, but Kashmir cannot stop India and Pakistan to join hands eventually. We are the same people, and I strongly believe in the importance of region over religion. And the people of the sub continent are not like the people of mid east. Many of you might not like it, but I do think that Pakistan will become a secular nation eventually; that might invalidate the reason for the creation of Pakistan, but that's the way to go.
It's this kind of thinking which puts Pakis off..
Some (not all) Indians only talk of peace and friendship when it's to fulfill their imperial amibitions of a Greater India, I find that offensive, Pakistan is a nation in it's own right and you need to respect us as such, I'm up for friendship and even an EU like SAARC (if that's what you meant then I apologise)...
Also Pakis are generally religious people, it's a an intrinsic part of us, like it or lump it Pakis wont give up their religious identity, we'd rather be accepted for who we are, it's not an impediment to friendship or peace between us..
I don't know man. I do respect indians no question, I have few indian friends too. But other things are still there . I am not talking about the past now, for some reason indian youth have a terrible image of pakistan and muslims. But I liked it when indians were exited about becoming friends with pakistan(musharaf era).
They're brainwashed by both the secularist elements as much as the right-wing Hindutva brigade, both play on anti-Pak/Muslim sentiment to arouse nationalism and pride amongst Indians.
Same thing happens in Pak but they have Bollywood to their advantage to neutralise that perception, our media is useless on an international level.
Also Pakis are generally religious people, it's a an intrinsic part of us, like it or lump it Pakis wont give up their religious identity, we'd rather be accepted for who we are, it's not an impediment to friendship or peace between us..
Too bad they won't give up their Arabi charade.
It's this kind of thinking which puts Pakis off..
Some (not all) Indians only talk of peace and friendship when it's to fulfill their imperial amibitions of a Greater India, I find that offensive, Pakistan is a nation in it's own right and you need to respect us as such, I'm up for friendship and even an EU like SAARC (if that's what you meant then I apologise)...
Couldn't agree with you more