my career is not compatible with marriage

there are no other married desi diplomat ladies?

the challenge is that diplomats tend to move about a lot and due to that how can a diplomat's husband or wife build and maintain a career. but there are female diplomats. maybe their husbands are also diplomats or are in careers where they can be very mobile.

Re: my career is not compatible with marriage

**blah blah blah
I did certain things in life, I had to sacrifice certain things.
let me spell it out for Miss.

PICK ONE!!!**

girlsssssss pick a succesful career or a healthy marriage!! both things dont come along ...those who say that lie!!!

you mean it ?
hmmmm

yeah and i have done my MBA worked for like 3 yrs ....and now getting married and dont really plan to WORK even if i do work ....family comes first......am not career oriented though i was at one time but now i know how important it is to be a better wife ...daughter and most of all a better mother which am sure u cant be with a career!

Thus I select you A mentor for al ABCD girls.
You have a brain.

THANKYEWWW :)

She aint no ABCD, so stop dreaming and dont run to buy calling card to call your ammii jaan tonight

I ain't ABCD = I do have a BRAIN. = I know she is from Islam ABAD

And nor should you have to let go of it.

I think your career choice is amazing and I bet your brilliant at what you do to.

If I were in your situation, which is a tricky one to be in. I would enjoy what you have now and inshallah hope that after a year your guy will be willing to move and commit. When you get to our age, time flies, so one year isnt really that long a period of time is it?

Your lifestyle is quite different and not very suitable to married life so I think you should carry on being a single but keep your eyes open. Who knows you might find someone who is compatible with you. All the best to you!

There s no god but only Allah :D And I believe you should leave it 'to Allah swt
Makes life so much easier :) Dont worry catty, InshaAllah all will work out for you

Waise, a little thing I noticed :D You want a guy whose willing to sacrifice everything for you, yet you are not willing to do so yourself (yet). I do understand your sentiments but remember that what you are asking is completely the opposite of what is practised in the desi culture (which is far from perfect btw :D ) I would suggest you think about compromising aswell :) In the end both husband and wife have to do so. I do not mean to discourage you. In your case it would be easiest (I think) to find a soulmate whose living in the same city?
Waise do always remember the saying, sabar ka phal meetha hota hai. Dont ever feel discouraged. Have 100% faith in Allah swt and all will indeed work out for you InshaAllah :)

Firstly you enjoy the single life? Odd. I liked it for my first year or two, hated it afterwards. Coming home to an empty apartment, eating alone and none one to talk to after a long day at work is something I will never ever miss. The single life is great for a year or two in my opinion.

As for your marriage situation, most female diplomats marry other diplomats. In their own country our outside. Pakistani Foreign Service has what 7 or 8 such couples. Majority of them working out very well.

It is also common in the US state department for couples to meet in the service. Mind you they normally handle different issues, like one is an economic expert the other a security person etc. Also most foreign services are very accomodating about posting both husband and wife close to each other.

The current Pakistan Ambassador in Switzerland is female. Her husband is in Paris. The Ambassador in Denmark is female and her husband is in Norway I think. However there are Pakistani foreign service women who give up their career for the sake of a family.

I think its good to have a healthy dose of it all...you have a great career Cat-woman. When the time is right and you WILL know it...settle down with the right guy. You may feel a bit apprehensive, scared, maybe even terrified of letting go of your single-dom. Just make sure the man is one you can DEPEND on with your eyes closed. Only then will you not feel the absence of a career.

sounds like a catch! pounce on him what you waiting for?

My dad was a diplomat and i have lived in many countries. 2 years here in one country and then 3 years in another country.
Growing up, I saw only two female diplomats. One was unmarried and the other was living alone while her husband lived in the India.

One thing I must mention is that living in a new country every few years in hard. There is utter boredom and my mom used to be really bored all the time, especially if you don't have any friends and the locals speak a different language.
Most social activity for the 'women' was kitty parties.
Is your future husband willing to be a kitty party person? or are you willing to spend years apart in different countries?

Guess here u cant have both but have to decide what u WANT! even if you think you want to have a husband with a great career, no one will sacrifice his career for a wife's career. Atleast I havent seen anyone doing it. Well good luck and if u think that u have found the 'one' a non pakistani then marry him soon make some babies and go back to work.

this remind me of a couple who i met during a cancelled flight, the guy was travelling from US to India, his flight was cancelled at London. so we all moved to hotel for a night. He called her wife who teaches in a UK university, so they can spend time together from this oppertunity.

He is from India, lives in New York. She is from Kenya-Indian and work in UK. they both married for 13 years, and since 5-7 years they living apart flying across Atlantic to be with one an other, and they said they are happy, both dont want to hinder each others careers.

that was amazing couple i met.

there are many guys who would be happy to be OK with this situation, who like to see different countries and people for few years, i dont see its a big problem , I would have been ok with it too, but I am married now!

My wife is a medical doctor and looking to start work soon, but as NHS setup here, doctors have to rotate to different hospitals in a wide area, I am prepared for that as long as i can travel to london for my career. surely it will be a strain but both has to put effort in a relationship.

a natural person who love travel and explore will be fine with this, and they will be able to find they want to do , you will not be moving in months but years so it should be ok, many of us change job even few years anyway.

stay positive, look for a person with natural passion for traveling around, someone who is not going to change everything because of you.

Hmm how is this different from let say, men and women in the military? Alot of times the spouse has to move every 2-3 years because of the other but it still happens. Granted mostly women are the ones who have to move and sacrifice a career for the husband but i am sure a lot of husbands do the same for their military wives. This sounds the same to me.

And Jimmy Kimble you sound like this other guppy that i shall not name, who is very bitter and you are thinking that the notion you have of a perfect wife, every woman should become that. My friend, it doesnt work like that. Everyone has a right to choose their own, just as you choose for yourself.