Mustafa Kamal placed among top-three world mayors/FP denial (threads merged)

i guess this is a mess, there is clear editorial issue at foreign policy mag .
Foreign Policy: The 2008 Global Cities Index
in here it is clearly chows number 57.

in here it shows the rank Foreign Policy: The 2008 Global Cities Index

rest you had known.

being in khi i was also surprised to see this news piece, although much has happened in khi but to be 2nd in mayors guys give me a break.

although he talks big but somehow couldnt translate it into reality may be because of his affiliations or this city is too big to be taken care of properly.

i am also surprise to see how our media all around and newspaper had a ride on wagon without even confirming.

issue is not whether he got it, or not he should have got it but how it was reported.

Isn’t the rank 57 for the city?

Re: Karachi Nazim, Mustafa Kamal placed among top-three world mayors.

hahahahaha!!!

oops!

Karachi: The management of US magazine 'Foreign Policy' has clarified that it has not declared city Nazim Karachi, Syed Mustafa Kamal as the world's second best mayor.

'To clarify, although Mr Mustafa Kamal was mentioned in a sidebar called ‘Mayors of the Moment’ in the article, ‘The 2008 Global Cities Index,’ this mention had nothing to do with any ranking', Jina Hassan,, Media and Public Relations Coordinator Foreign Policy magazine told Online on Wednesday.

Miss Jina said that Kamal was not chosen as the world's second best mayor because the purpose of the article was not meant for that. 'No survey was conducted even in this regard,' she maintained.

'Rather, we meant to highlight the city executive innovation against enormous odds. While we applaud the mayor's (Kamal) efforts, his mention in our magazine was only a small part of a larger article that ranked the world's most global cities, and Karachi ranks 57', she added.

courtesy: www.dawn.com

“What FP didn’t say about the mayor of Karachi” … official denial

Now it can’t be more clear denial than this one.

It is so stupid how the Prime Minister level officials reacted to that misunderstood story. Don’t we have our own brain to think whether it makes any sense? … if he’d have been ranked so among past Mayors of Karachi, then sure he did better than others, but at world level!? … no way.

At least those who live in Karachi face traffic jams, loadshedding, street crimes, and several other problems, how could they believe it?

What FP didn’t say about the mayor of Karachi | FP Passport

**What FP didn’t say about the mayor of Karachi

Wed, 11/12/2008 - 5:02pm

One of my responsibilities here at Foreign Policy is manning the "FP Editor" e-mail account. It's always fun to come in in the morning and see how readers around the world are reacting to what we print. Sometimes, the reactions can be a bit strange, though.

Yesterday, we started receiving e-mails from readers and journalists in Pakistan asking for comment on reports that we had named Karachi’s mayor, Mustafa Kamal, “the second best mayor in the world.” This would be an understandable query if we had actually said anything of the sort.

At issue is a sidebar from FP’s recent Global Cities Index that names Kamal, Berlin’s Klaus Wowereit, and Chongqing’s Wang Hongju as “mayors of the moment” who have found innovative ways to globalize their cities. The mayors are not ranked, nor are we implying that they are objectively “better” than any other mayors, but that didn’t stop the Karachi city government from issuing a press release on its Web site (they’ve changed the text since being contacted by FP) congratulating Kamal for being the No. 2 mayor in the world. For the record, the three names are not listed in any particular order.

Pakistan’s biggest English-language newspaper, Dawn, then printed a glorified transcription of the mayor’s press release by the government-controlled Associated Press of Pakistan as a front-page story without ever checking with us to see if it was accurate.

According to the e-mails we’ve received, the inaccurate story has been widely reported on Pakistani TV, radio, and blogs. Most absurdly, Karachi’s city council apparently held a heated debate over whether to pass a resolution congratulating Kamal for the honor we allegedly bestowed on him. Judging by today’s e-mails, the efforts of some blogs to correct the story only seem to have confused readers more.

According to one reporter, who unlike Dawn contacted us for comment, “Karachi is riddled with banners by the local government, congratulating Mr. Kamal for being declared as second best mayor of the world by the Foreign Policy.”
We hate to rain on Kamal’s parade, and certainly intend him and his city no disrespect, but we simply never ranked him in any way. This entire mess could have been avoided with some very basic fact-checking.

Actually, magazine ‘Foreign Policy’ did not ranked him second but number one.:slight_smile:

For a city to have one of the best mayors of the world does not mean that city would become the best city in the world, as to become best city, a city has to have plenty of resources as well as good management, over period of time.

Obviously it was mistake that Mustafa Kamal was assumed as second best as he is not second best but the best. With resources that Karachi receives and the time Mustafa Kamal was Mayor, what Mustafa Kamal achieved in Karachi is remarkable and I doubt if any other Mayor could have achieved that much with available resources and time. Anyhow, there are so many thug supporters of thug leaders in Pakistan with their icon leaders getting top positions in the list of world ranking as Liars, Thugs, Corrupts, Crooks, Looters, Plunderers, Parasites, Retards, Perverts, Deceivers, Con, etc … that there could be no surprise when a Pakistani achieved ranking with positive adjectives (Mayor of the moment), FP magazine started receiving many mails of protest from supporters of these thugs and maybe complain with hefty donations by thugs themselves like Nawaz, Shahbaz, Qazi, Imran or Zardari so that the magazine backtracks their words;

Anyhow, from magazine ‘Foreign Policy’, whatever way one read it, it is obvious that from amongst Mayors of 60 top cities, they chose only 3 as ‘mayors of the moment’ clearly showing that they considered these 3 as exceptional amongst all, and thus ranked them above all.

For those who would like to argue, they can expose themselves if they give answer to following simple question.

Question one: Out of 60 Mayors representing 60 cities, magazine ‘Foreign Policy’ chose how many as ‘Mayors of the moment’?

Question two: Did magazine ‘Foreign Policy’ chose Mustafa kamal as amongst ‘Mayors of the moment’ or not?

If the answer to question one is ‘3’ … and to question 2 is ‘Yes’ … than it is obvious that Mustafa Kamal was chosen as top 3 Mayors of present time amongst 60 Mayors representing 60 top cities of the world (as ‘the moment’ means ‘present time’). One can check all sources and they would find that Foreign Policy chose 3 out of 60 mayors as mayors of the moment (or Best mayors of present time) and Mustafa kamal is one of those 3. Now since they have not ranked the mayor, and since Kamal was working in most hostile environment with least of resources, certainly he is the best Mayor of the moment (or No 1 … the best).

[Actually, it is really sad that some people because of their racist, bias, and pathetic attitudes could not appreciate anything if it is not from those they like, and would condone every thuggish behaviour of their parasite heroes, then join together to bark on all who would mention the truth about their misgivings and reality about their thug leaders.]

Re: “What FP didn’t say about the mayor of Karachi” … official denial

:frusty:

Saleem bhaijan!
Maan gaye aap ko...you take some really high quality weed!!!
Always keeps you high...nasha tot ta hi nahin!!!

Waisay aap ke angraisee grammar say bhi aap ki high education ka andaza ho ja ta hai...

Achcha :bizz: … Yazdi Bhai jaan … Is it you writing or your nasha built on chamak from Nawaz? :hehe:

Reading your post, it seems that either you are supplier of weed or wrote high on Gaanjja. Lagta hay aap nay Lahori daru peena shrou kar diay hay :slight_smile:

As for English, obviously I do not write in English people of Lahori Peela school use, so it is not my fault what you understand out of what I write. Aap kay liya tou woh English chahyia jo Ganja Nawaz, ishaq Dagga, yea Ahsan Thugga use karta hay … no problem.:smiley:

As for ranking, I am sure that they have never taught such subject in Lahori Peela School, so you would not understand. Obviously, you do not need any teaching as it needs lot of brain cell to understand things. But then, since you showed ignorance of ranking method and that is obvious from your standard of education, I am explaining here for those who may have similar misunderstanding and may be surprised why I put rank of Mustafa kamal from that magazine as No 1. (I am sorry that I do not know English taught in Lahori Peela School, so you and most from ‘Lahore Peela School’ may not understand what I am writing :))

When 3 out of 60 are chosen as best without particular ranking for any of them, than all 3 are equal and takes the rank of No 1. If ranking is done than also top 3 with equal ranking would be considered as No 1 and next would take the ranking of No 4. As the magazine claimed that they did not ranked any mayor, still they chose 3 as ‘Mayors of the moment’ who obviously stand above others as far as magazine is concerned, then when we talk about ranking of mayors, all 3 would be considered as No 1. Since Magazine considered Mustafa Kamal as amongst those 3 ‘Mayors of the moment’ without ranking, Mustafa Kamal rank amongst 60 Mayors would be No. 1 (shared by other 2).

Re: “What FP didn’t say about the mayor of Karachi” … official denial

ay lo..An other image on maple leaves. :smack:

Oh well. It was good for few days.

Pakistan cannot get any recognition, so it seems.

Should chacha Altaf return the "mubarak badi" messages now? Or these messages will disappear in MQM coffers like all the bhatta collected in chacha's name?

to ye kia hay? http://www.paklinks.com/gs/pakistan-affairs/301700-what-fp-didnt-say-about-mayor-karachi-official-denial.html

It is surprising that we have two threads on same topic and Mods did not join them together. :). Anyhow:

:rotfl: … Yar, dil aur demag per say ‘tasub aur nafrat’ ka niqab utthao bhai phir aqal bhie achchi tarah kaam karay gee. :slight_smile: … Actually I read the news you posted … and because of that news I promoted Mustafa Kamal from position 2 to position 1, as that is what the news you posted says. :). Please read below.

#46](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/6139640-post46.html) (permalink

Anyhow, to make your life easy and make you understand better, I am putting few easy questions. Once you will go through the questions and would answer them, you will know that what I wrote is true, that is, Mustafa Kamal was ranked No. 1 ‘Mayor of present time’ by FP without even declaring that … as calling him ‘Mayor of the moment’ is same as calling him ‘Best Mayor of present time’. :slight_smile:

Question one: Out of 60 Mayors representing 60 cities, did magazine ‘Foreign Policy’ chose some better than others by declaring them ‘Mayors of the moment’?

If your answer is ‘No’ than you are fine, but if your answer is ‘Yes’ than obviously those who were chosen as ‘Mayors of the moment’ are above in rank to those who were not chosen as ‘Mayors of the moment’. Now, if your answer is yes, please answer next question.

Question two: Did magazine ‘Foreign Policy’ chose Mustafa kamal as amongst ‘Mayors of the moment’ or not?

If your answer is ‘No’ than you are fine as Mustafa Kamal is out of ranking list, but if your answer is ‘Yes’ than please answer next question.:

Question three: Did magazine ‘Foreign Policy’ gave ranks to those exceptional Mayors they chose as ‘Mayors of the moment’?

If your answer is ‘Yes’ than rank of Mustafa Kamal is what FP gave to him amongst ‘Mayors of the moment’. As for those who are not chosen as ‘Mayors of the moment’ stands below chosen ones in ranking. Anyhow, if ‘Mayors of the moment’ are not ranked as the clarification of ‘FP’ says, than obviously all who are chosen as ‘Mayors of the moment’ stand equal in ranking with each other, and share the rank of ‘No 1’ above other Mayors who were not chosen as ‘Mayors of the moment’.

Since your referred news says that 3 out of 60 were chosen as ‘Mayors of the moment’ and there was no ranking between these three, than all these 3 stand equal at ‘best Mayors of the time’ and ranked as No 1.

I hope that you would be able to understand this simple fact, but if not, please let me know ‘why?’. :smiley:

Example: Just imagine that after going through posts of all members, management of ‘Gup Shup’ declares that ‘members of the moment’ are A, B, and C. Obviously, management in this way would not be ranking the members, but indirectly they would be, and by declaring some members as ‘members of the moment’ they would be making them ranked above other members.

From the link:
What FP didn’t say about the mayor of Karachi | FP Passport

What does that mean? Think Saleem think, try harder :wink:
and read further

Now its YOUR turn to take of glasses of undying love for all MQMists and read the words of the very own people. Now try even harder :cb:

And if you have any little memory and search capability left you can search how I have appreciated Mustafa Kamal’s work for Karachi before you accuse me of

save it for some other day.

phir bhi agar aap samajhtay ho ke Mustafa Kamal top per hay to aap yehi soch ke khush raho :chai:

Bhai, aap khafa kewn hotay hou? :slight_smile: … Just do a favour and tell me, what you understand from distinction of being ‘Mayor of the moment’? … plus, is ‘Mayor of the moment’ to you has same rank as those Mayors who are not ‘Mayor of the moment’?

You will be disappointed to learn I was born and educated in Karachi and most of my school and college life was spent in Karachi...

Aap ko Nawaz Sharif ka bukhaar/phobia ho gya hai....instead of spending your time on these hate long posts....have a life...

[Quote]
As for ranking, I am sure that they have never taught such subject in Lahori Peela School, so you would not understand.

You should blame my educational institutions in Karachi for my jahiliyat...as I was not lucky to go to Lahore peela schools...

quote)

Unfortunately I am not from Lahore Peela schools...but I do see your racist mentality....being the darling of mods only you can get away with these racist remarks...

When 3 out of 60 are chosen as best without particular ranking for any of them, than all 3 are equal and takes the rank of No 1. If ranking is done than also top 3 with equal ranking would be considered as No 1 and next would take the ranking of No 4. As the magazine claimed that they did not ranked any mayor, still they chose 3 as ‘Mayors of the moment’ who obviously stand above others as far as magazine is concerned, then when we talk about ranking of mayors, all 3 would be considered as No 1. Since Magazine considered Mustafa Kamal as amongst those 3 'Mayors of the moment' without ranking, Mustafa Kamal rank amongst 60 Mayors would be No. 1 (shared by other 2).

Who cares about the mayor rankings....

Yazdi Bhai, aap ko bukhaar kewn aa giya? Did I say anything bad to you? Is Lahore Peela School bad? :)

Waisay, it was you who started questioning my education so why feel bad when I felt the same about your education and wrote truth what I felt about your angraisee grammar and text both? Hope you remember what you wrote. Here it is to remind you.

Who cares about all these rankings....

If ranking is because of good work than it deserve appreciation and only those would not appreciate who do not value hard work and good deeds. :)

I started appreciating your English grammar composition skills from the following post:

[Quote]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sa1eem

Actually,** magazine 'Foreign Policy' did not ranked him second but number one.**
[/Quote]

This sentence is not only a genius example of your claim regarding the rankings of Mayor despite explainations coming from FP magazine from different sources already posted on the forum which made me quite sure about the quality of pot you are using....it is indeed a fantastic example of your composition skills as well...

Re: Karachi Nazim, Mustafa Kamal placed among top-three world mayors.

Mayor Mustafa Kamal did good job for his city and he should be aplauded, regardless of whether magazine rated him or not. We need to appreciate if something good happens in our ranks :k: