I agree, but why make huge deal out of nothing? BTw, I’m not trying to take anything away from Mr. Kamal, but to me it sounded phony from very start (kinda like too good to be true).![]()
Re: Karachi Nazim, Mustafa Kamal placed among top-three world mayors.
its mentioned on FP blog, they didn’t rank anyone!
If the people who wrote it are saying there is no difference and that there is no “ranking” so why spend energy trying to prove that Mustafa Kamal has a rank? sheesh
BTW: There is another website which Mostar95 bhai found, but for some reason he posted that in World Affairs
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/world-affairs/301810-helen-zille-mayor-cape-town.html
According to this site Mustafa Kamal was not in the short-list.
He obviously didn’t do well at ‘Lalukhet High’ ![]()
a typical MQM-wallah
Take the Karachi out of Pakistan and Pakistan will go back to stone ages.
In 60 years Pakistan hasn't build another coastal city with ports. We should have ports and establish Sonmiani, Omara, Pasni long time ago for both business and tourism. Sonmiani can become a top notch tourist destination.
Gwader will still take about 20 years to establish, especially now that Ghaddari and his cronies are controlling the government.
Re: Karachi Nazim, Mustafa Kamal placed among top-three world mayors.
**What FP didn’t say about the mayor of Karachi | FP Passport
**LOLOLOL please read this, if it hasnt been posted here! hahahaha
What FP didn’t say about the mayor of Karachi
Wed, 11/12/2008 - 5:02pm
One of my responsibilities here at Foreign Policy is manning the "FP Editor" e-mail account. It's always fun to come in in the morning and see how readers around the world are reacting to what we print. Sometimes, the reactions can be a bit strange, though.
Yesterday, we started receiving e-mails from readers and journalists in Pakistan asking for comment on reports that we had named Karachi’s mayor, Mustafa Kamal, “the second best mayor in the world.” This would be an understandable query if we had actually said anything of the sort.
At issue is a sidebar from FP’s recent Global Cities Index that names Kamal, Berlin’s Klaus Wowereit, and Chongqing’s Wang Hongju as “mayors of the moment” who have found innovative ways to globalize their cities. The mayors are not ranked, nor are we implying that they are objectively “better” than any other mayors, but that didn’t stop the Karachi city government from issuing a press release on its Web site (they’ve changed the text since being contacted by FP) congratulating Kamal for being the No. 2 mayor in the world. For the record, the three names are not listed in any particular order.
**Pakistan’s biggest English-language newspaper, Dawn, then printed a glorified transcription of the mayor’s press release by the government-controlled Associated Press of Pakistan as a front-page story without ever checking with us to see if it was accurate. **
According to the e-mails we’ve received, the inaccurate story has been widely reported on Pakistani TV, radio, and blogs. Most absurdly, Karachi’s city council apparently held a heated debate over whether to pass a resolution congratulating Kamal for the honor we allegedly bestowed on him. Judging by today’s e-mails, the efforts of some blogs to correct the story only seem to have confused readers more.
According to one reporter, who unlike Dawn contacted us for comment, “Karachi is riddled with banners by the local government, congratulating Mr. Kamal for being declared as second best mayor of the world by the Foreign Policy.”
**We hate to rain on Kamal’s parade, and certainly intend him and his city no disrespect, but we simply never ranked him in any way. This entire mess could have been avoided with some very basic fact-checking.
*p.s. for the shmucks saying taking karachi away takes Pakistan to the stone ages, go see facts on where technology actually comes to in pakistan first, and what cities and proximities have the best tech schools. p.s. karachi is ranked at 57, even dhaka and lagos fared better: *http://www.foreignpolicy.com/story/cms.php…4509&page=1
Re: "What FP didn't say about the mayor of Karachi" ... official denial
^ Foriegn Policy magazine had already named a great Pakistani named Aitezaz Ahsan the 5th best intellectual in the world a few months prior. Unlike Mustafa and his abba jee Altaf, Aitezaz is a humble guy and didnt gloat about it, nor did he ask the city council to shower praises on him.
Re: "What FP didn't say about the mayor of Karachi" ... official denial
this is what this paindu nazim wrote on his website, which was taken off finally. Look at how he thanked Allah and then congratulated his Pir Altaf Hussain. tsk tsk
*City Nazim Syed Mustafa Kamal has thanked almighty for this appreciation and congratulated his party leader Mr. Altaf Hussain who has selected the representatives from lower and middle class that represents 98 percent of the total population of the country.
So which other Pakistani cities fared better than Karachi according to FP?
Re: Mustafa Kamal placed among top-three world mayors/FP denial (threads merged)
He may not be the 2nd most efficient Mayor of the world but I guess MQM has learned over time that finally (specially for Mayor) its the work on ground that matters and Naimat Ullah Khan has his part in teaching MQM this. He did some good work and to nullify Naimat's effect, MQM (and Mustafa Kamal) is forced to do work on ground. I am happy anyway. Because of this rivalry, Karachi kee halat thoree behter ho gaee hai.
If the people who wrote it are saying there is no difference and that there is no "ranking" so why spend energy trying to prove that Mustafa Kamal has a rank? sheesh
Ehtasab, You are absolutely wrong...Saleem bhaijan is absolutely right...there was a ranking by the FP magazine and it was not second rank for Mustafa Kamal...it was the first no matter how much FP magazine denies giving these rankings....you need the right quality weed to see all this !!!
Please do not try to get misguided by some pathetically low life propagandist brothers who are ethnic bias racist and their minds are blocked because they are continuously high on Weed, Grass, Hasheesh or Gaanjja. They could not digest this fact and are feeling heat where they should not feel. Actually, their ‘Kurhna, Sarhna, Jalna, aur tarpna’ is really sad and unexpected, as instead of feeling happy that a Pakistani in public office is appreciated outside Pakistan first time for anything good, else mostly Pakistanis in public office found names in corruption, nepotism and plundering, these low life are showing their true colour, just because of their personal bias (tassub).
Anyhow, what I am saying is that, since 3 from 60 are chosen as ‘Mayors of the moment’, even though they are not ranked, they stand above the rest (57 who were not chosen as ‘Mayors of the moment’). Since there is no ranking (as the magazine claims), these 3 are equal and thus they are equally the best of the lot, that means, if ranked, they are No. 1. As for your quoting other magazines and bodies, it is silly because we are not even talking about them. No one claimed that MK was chosen or selected as the best Mayor from those Magazines or bodies. We are talking about magazine ‘Foreign Policy’. Here is something for ethnic racist brothers
:
Kurhnay walay kurha karo aur Sarhnay walay sarha karo ![]()
‘FP’ nay ‘MK First’ kah diya ab tum chahay jal kar mara karo
Re: Mustafa Kamal placed among top-three world mayors/FP denial (threads merged)
^ chalo jaldi se ye batao party kahan ho rahi hay is khushi mai? ![]()
Yaar, aab may kiya kah sakta hoon :).
Anyhow, I can give you a party if Pakistani economy recovers whoever in power, so that I gain from that, and if Pak stock market index would touch 16000 again in next one year (it was around 15700 in April this year), you can get a party from me :).
Saleem bhaijan…I want to personally thank you for providing us with free entertainment…I can not imagine what will happen to the forum without you…you make us laugh a lot…there are not too many people in the world who can pretend to be so stupid…just to make others laugh…I am sure God will reward you for your good deeds…you will find your place right next to Charlie Chaplin in heaven for doing this great service to mankind by providing this kind of entertainment…
I hope you continue your good work and keep us laughing like this for a long time…
Yazdi Bhaijaan … I never thought that truth hurt so much that a person would lose control of their head and in stupidity would start calling others stupid and jokers.:). Anyhow, I do not care what you write in frustration because when a person sees their racist and corrupt faces in mirror, it is natural that they would react and lose their marbles. Aap ka koyie kasoor nahie hay, yea tou mera hee kasoor hay kay may nay ayena dekhyea ![]()
Waisay meray bhai, may aap kee khidmat may aik choti see poetry pesh kar raha hoon jiss may aap ko jani pahchani shaklayn dikhayee dayn gee. Umeed hay kay parh kar aap ka gussa uttar jayea gaa aur aap khush ho jayain gay.![]()
Ayena yun ko dekhayea tou bura maan gayea
Racist kah kar bulayea tou bura maan gayea
Tassubi they yea Pujari choor-o-daku kay
Sach Yun ko jo batayea tou bura maan gayea ![]()
I believe thread has served its purpose, someone really thought Mustafa Kamal got ranked 2nd and Foreign Policy denied that, case closed, thread closed.