Re: Mustafa kamal announce new party
Sorry if sound stupid but could anyone plz elaborate how is this drama going to benefit the establishment?
Doesn't Anis Qaimkhani have several murder cases against him, including involvement in the Baldia fire? Now that he is with Mustafa Kamal everything is forgiven? When will the establishment give up its games?
Yes, and Mustafa Kamal is also involved in many murders and corruption.
The same MQM killers as Altaf - just a different face.
PTI doesn't care about karachi as in imran personally and I don't blame him as the path to power lies through Punjab with KP as icing on the cake. It is all the math.
As it being vulgar, disgusting etc about the case of identity politics in karachi, you have to remember that Karachi was electing national parties when KP, balochistan and later sindh as well were electing nationalists cum separatists. I think that the disgust with national parties started to develop when Bhutto launched two pronged urban vs rural warfare with nationalization and quota system after many karachiites were the founding people of PPP just as you have mentioned wrt to PTI leadership. They voted for islam / "pakistan" with jamat-e-islami but jamat's biggest achievement is introducing ghunda culture in karachi universities (still well set in punjab from what I read here). In fact, there was a joke about a molvi elected on JI's karachi seat that he only spoke once in national assembly and that was to open a window because it was hot inside. Probably broke Clarence Thomas's speaking record there.
Unlike PPP, which has proven to be criminals themselves with uzair baloch and Dr. Asim being tip of the iceberg, MQM did deliver in the ex-MQM mayor's era. I think that PML-n has better chance of getting seats in karachi as they delivered with the Ranger's operation. Maybe it is the karachi skeptic in me that is the reason that I didn't vote for Obama in 2008, though I would have given a chance to PTI in 2013 just for trying them out. In another sense, PTI wouldn't form an alliance with PPP, so even if they won in karachi, they would still be an opposition and we know how karachi has been treated once MQM was out of power sharing deal with them. The city doesn't even get scraps.
The sad part is, Karachi is now inhabited by a generation who knows nothing but ethnic/identity politics - 40 years of most organised propaganda and brainwashing.
Look at Moonstar, he uses words like 'invaders' to describe non Muhajir parties, his attitude and mentality is not any different from Sindhi nationalists or PPP extremists who use the same words like invaders and outsiders to describe Muhajirs. It's a vicious cycle. The institutionalised discrimination, territorial mindset and ethno-nationalism cannot be defeated with one or two elections - so yes, PTI came and tried, but sadly it was not enough. When it comes to Sindh - PTI will always be in a limbo. They will never say the things that will hurt the sentiments of the Sindhi populace but will get them the Karachi votes - the division of Sindh. Only a tiny informed minority will appreciate their mid way solution.
Karachi/Muhajir electorate has this paranoia that if PTI comes to power - Karachi won't get anything. Ironically, it is PTI that managed to get KPK a breakthrough on its Hydel and Gas profit that all proudly Pashtun and nationalist ANP couldn't. You had PMLN supporters here calling IK/Parvez Khattak racists when they asked Punjab/Centre to give KPK its rights. They took the major risk of openly calling out Punjab on discrimination against KPK despite the danger of upsetting the ethnic sensibilities of their major support base in the country.
So really - 'outsiders' are under more pressure to deliver to prove their loyalties. It's unbelievable to see zero political competition in Pakistan's largest city with so much diversity and high literacy rate. Something is really not right!
Healthy political competition and change of turns is a life and soul of modern democracy - the fundamental purpose. Otherwise, the dictators in Middle East too were holding the elections.
[https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/691963430518013952/8WGVne8f_normal.png
Jibran Nasir [COLOR=#697882]@MJibranNasir](https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir)
Mustafa Kamal & Anis Qaimkhani cant be absolved by a simple press conference. They were MQM members for years. Must be accountable in Court
12:22 PM - 3 Mar 2016
Break the bargaining (or blackmailing) power of MQM. When they are dealing with their own breakdown they wouldnt even think about making a city or govt hostage for wutever reason
He was part of the same system for many years. yeh achanak zamir kyon jaag utha. He was involved in killing his own uncle Azim Tariq when he opposed AH. rama rama kya hay yeh drama yeh drama
perhaps 12 jamat pass ka drama lagta hay, kala shah kaku ko hatanay ke liay ![]()
sab topi drama hai...
mahool bhai meri ajrak ka design buhut purana aor behtar hay :)
He got *** done and that's what matters. As a mayor, he accomplished a lot for the infrastructure of Karachi. Good on him.
Sad choice for a partner though. That guy was involved in the Baldia town factory. Aur koi nai Mila?
He got *** done and that's what matters. As a mayor, he accomplished a lot for the infrastructure of Karachi. Good on him.
Sad choice for a partner though. That guy was involved in the Baldia town factory. Aur koi nai Mila?
Some one who knows working of MQM inside out can expose the party better
Karachi/Muhajir electorate has this paranoia that if PTI comes to power - Karachi won't get anything. Ironically, it is PTI that managed to get KPK a breakthrough on its Hydel and Gas profit that all proudly Pashtun and nationalist ANP couldn't.
But, PTI is in power in the province and PPP would do vindictive politics if PTI would replace MQM in karachi which is the only path I see for them now. I really doubt if imran has a strategy for sindh; he is waiting on getting in power in center and then jokeying for influence like how FATA senators always end with the ruling party there.
You had PMLN supporters here calling IK/Parvez Khattak racists when they asked Punjab/Centre to give KPK its rights. They took the major risk of openly calling out Punjab on discrimination against KPK despite the danger of upsetting the ethnic sensibilities of their major support base in the country.
You never know as PML-n might win more seats in 2018 barring some crises. PTI has been damaged with improper conduct in dharnas, not having decency to apologize for lying about penti puncture and also that orange lines, roads does sway punjabi politics. Who cares about macro issues like if Pakistan is taking out huge IMF loan packages as they haven't come to collect yet. It is like a gambler who only gets a reality check when the bookies come to collect, as it is all heaven before then.
Look at Moonstar, he uses words like 'invaders' to describe non Muhajir parties, his attitude and mentality is not any different from Sindhi nationalists or PPP extremists who use the same words like invaders and outsiders to describe Muhajirs. .
I forced to repeat Bhains key aagee been Kon bjaye.
Where I used the word mohajir. I used the word khians. Even I try to elaborate ppl like u who r having blinkers on their eyes ( hrose eye cover ) that it can be a good platform for all ethnic groups .
Establishment will not let mqm be a national party or for instance any party other than from punjab. Wat happen with nap or awami league many remember.
I forced to repeat Bhains key aagee been Kon bjaye. Where I used the word mohajir. I used the word khians. Even I try to elaborate ppl like u who r having blinkers on their eyes ( hrose eye cover ) that it can be a good platform for all ethnic groups . Establishment will not let mqm be a national party or for instance any party other than from punjab. Wat happen with nap or awami league many remember.
Did you or did you not use the word 'invaders'? So who are the invaders and how do they look like? Go on, explain. Let readers get to know about your pathetic ethno-nationalist territorial mindset.
FYI. The only party that had the privilege of being a national party - for over 40s years - is PPP (Sindh based). So stop lying. Just like MQM terrorists don't let 'national parties' come into Karachi, by karma those terrorists don't get to have any influence or goodwill outside of Karachi/Hyderabad. Simple as that.
As with Mustafa Kamal - just wait and watch how the oh so Punjabi establishment pumps money, support and power into this blue eyed Muhajir boy, and I cannot wait to see them singing their songs. :)
Good news for KHians . Lets see how things move.
he cant really do anything for Karachi under the present setup. The provincial govt rules the roost. And even if he could, he would never get the support of the MQM to be able to effectively enact policy.
I forced to repeat Bhains key aagee been Kon bjaye. Where I used the word mohajir. I used the word khians. Even I try to elaborate ppl like u who r having blinkers on their eyes ( hrose eye cover ) that it can be a good platform for all ethnic groups . Establishment will not let mqm be a national party or for instance any party other than from punjab. Wat happen with nap or awami league many remember.
PPP isnt a Punjabi party, and how many times have they been in power?
[RIGHT]'[/RIGHT]
The sad part is, Karachi is now inhabited by a generation who knows nothing but ethnic/identity politics - 40 years of most organised propaganda and brainwashing.
Look at Moonstar, he uses words like 'invaders' to describe non Muhajir parties, his attitude and mentality is not any different from Sindhi nationalists or PPP extremists who use the same words like invaders and outsiders to describe Muhajirs. It's a vicious cycle. The institutionalised discrimination, territorial mindset and ethno-nationalism cannot be defeated with one or two elections - so yes, PTI came and tried, but sadly it was not enough. When it comes to Sindh - PTI will always be in a limbo. They will never say the things that will hurt the sentiments of the Sindhi populace but will get them the Karachi votes - the division of Sindh. Only a tiny informed minority will appreciate their mid way solution.
Karachi/Muhajir electorate has this paranoia that if PTI comes to power - Karachi won't get anything. Ironically, it is PTI that managed to get KPK a breakthrough on its Hydel and Gas profit that all proudly Pashtun and nationalist ANP couldn't. You had PMLN supporters here calling IK/Parvez Khattak racists when they asked Punjab/Centre to give KPK its rights. They took the major risk of openly calling out Punjab on discrimination against KPK despite the danger of upsetting the ethnic sensibilities of their major support base in the country.
So really - 'outsiders' are under more pressure to deliver to prove their loyalties. It's unbelievable to see zero political competition in Pakistan's largest city with so much diversity and high literacy rate. Something is really not right!
Healthy political competition and change of turns is a life and soul of modern democracy - the fundamental purpose. Otherwise, the dictators in Middle East too were holding the elections.
The Urdu speaking community or whatever you want to call them have some genuine grievances.
In Pakistan, its pointless to try and deny the existence of ethnic politics, "baradri," etc. In Karachi particularly there seems to be a polarization along ethnic lines.
The people who came from India have always had that sense of not belonging. Since they were not members of the main ethnic groups that make up the country, they came to be seen as outsiders. To safe guard their interests, at first they voted for the Jamaat, as they felt that playing up the "Muslim" identity could trump the ethnic identity which they did not have... This worked somewhat, and they were content so long as the had jobs and positions of authority in Karachi... But with loss of Karachi as the capital, their position was diminished somewhat. The Army coup, with its overwhelming Punjabi majority meant that their position was diminished even further with the Punjabis perceived to be ascendant through the Army. And because the Army was not elected or beholden to Democratic principles, the loss of socioeconomic status made the Urdu speaking people even more insecure.
Then you add pressure of all the people streaming in from the then NWFP owing to the war in Afghanistan, and the sudden competition with millions of new economic migrants from other parts of the country for limited number of resources. All this put a strain on the community until it became clear being muslim is simply not enough in Pakistan, and that to compete effectively would mean having to unify themselves as a group. A distinct ethnic community separate from the other main groups, which could defend the interests of the community in the one place that they had a significant presence, Karachi.
So when people say that Karachi has been invaded, we should understand the context in which people say such things. For the Urdu speaking community, Karachi is their only place within Pakistan. The importance of the city to the community cant be understated. Unlike the Punjabis Sindhis Pukhtuns and Baloch, there is no other city or province where the can migrate too... Its not an insult to punjabis when people say they have invaded Karachi, its an expression of frustration and of insecurity, because it means loss of employment and access to resources for a community for whom that city is a lifeline.
A friend of mine from Karachi told me he supports the PTI on a national level, but votes for the MQM locally... And its simply because in Karachi, its the MQM that guarantees him a fair share for his community.
As countrymen you should make an effort to see the MQM perpective on things and understand why they do the things they do instead of labeling them as terrorists... Their politics may not be wholesome, but it stems from something very basic and genuine. The need to safeguard the interests of your own people in an environment where resources are scarce, and where such interests are often overlooked.
Somebody was telling me that there is wall-chalking already started in favor of MK.
Exactly same happened when haqiqi's Afaq Ahmed/Amir Khan were induced.
Same old script. I think they should once n for all ban MQM to finish the drama.
It is not correct. PPP and mqm ruled Sindh for many years. As regard nationalists of Sindh, read the news to correct your subjective thinking.
**Karachi: Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) did not want division of Sindh and in fact wanted to cooperate with the province nationalist party Jiay Sindh Qaumi Mahaz (JSQM), the party leader Anis Qaimkhani said.**Qaimkhani phoned Niaz Kalani, JSQM acting chairman, on Saturday and said that after Basheer Qureshi’s chehlum MQM would develop a strategy to work together with JSQM.However, Kalani demanded MQM to come clear on the issue of Muhajir province.
Somebody was telling me that there is wall-chalking already started in favor of MK.
Exactly same happened when haqiqi's Afaq Ahmed/Amir Khan were induced.
Same old script. I think they should once n for all ban MQM to finish the drama.
ban karnay se "muhajir-iat" aur strong ho jaye gee.... just prosecute ALL criminals and any/all parties will be cleansed, sab theek ho jayen gai... need for hour is police/courts independence
Kabhi hum men tum men qarar tha.. ![]()
[click below]