Muslim/NonMuslim

Does anyone know any success stories where a (Pakistani) muslim man married a nonmuslim and she didn’t convert but things worked (are still working out) well? I mean well that their marriage is good but the man is still a good enough muslim and isnt completely out of touch with his roots.

I just want to know if there are any cases like that out there.

Re: Muslim/NonMuslim

I don't think thats possible because of family pressure... but I'm thinking if the other person was non-religious as well.

There are people who have interfaith marriages and successful.

Yes, it is possible.. sometimes..

My own grandma was a Christian but converted and that was a million years ago.. I know quite a few marriages like this of my parents' generation and ours as well that are still going strong.. sometimes the women converted, sometimes they didn't.. there have been a few divorces (one xtreme case where the wife was a Jehova's witness and it all went rapidly downhill when the kids became Jehova's witnesses as well and husband blamed wife etc... they split up and both remarried now).. Family does have a lot to do with it.. Ideally they need to discuss how the children will be brought up (this seems to be a major issue later on, even when one or both partners aren't religious at the time of marriage).. Obviously it can also get a LOT harder when extended family are very involved as is the case with a lot of desi couples..

Yes, a few.

In most cases though its usually that the couple aren't really worried about religion. So you know, the usual* talks* don't need to happen.
And where they are religious, its been a whole lot of compromises and ground rules before they've gotten married. For down the line you know...

They aren't even Christian. JW's are a cult.

^I didn't say they were, did I? I was talking about non-Muslims in general.. OP hasn't specifically mentioned Christians either..

Oh I wasn't referring to the OP, my comment was just a sidenote.

Fair enough..

hmmmm......

Seen few but i think there the motive for the woman was Man's money and hence they still seem successful. They did convert but Allah knows best if they really did from heart or just ooper ooper se.

I should also mention different culture. I can imagine the Jehovah's witness problem. Would u marry someone out of your faith and culture if everything else about the person is perfect? not knowing whether your children will follow your faith or your spouse's?

Yes! My Mamoo & his wife, my Debbie Aunty! They have been married 37 years, and still going strong! She never converted to Islam, nor was she really ever a practicing Christian to begin with. She has always respected and adopted out culture..the women can tie a sari better than I can! She is so caring towards my nani, calls her "Ammi", when my younger khallas and Mamoos were getting marries in Pakistan, she went to Pakistan for each wedding and fulfilled all duties of being the eldest Bahu. My 3 cousins(all boys) were not raised practicing any religion, but they were raised respecting our culture. They
all attend Eid Namaz every year, stand in jamat with the other men in the daily for Namaz at family functions, and have picked up broken Urdu. It worked out well in our family...

Mine's out of culture.. was out of faith as well but he converted..

Out of faith, nope. I wont put myself into such tough test.

I am Pakistani Christian and both of my elder sisters are married into Muslim families. So far my sisters never had problem adjusting to it because we are not religious christian anyway and so as their husbands. But both of my sisters and their husbands decided to raise kids as Muslims. Mashallah everyone is happy.

^ that's what we like to hear :)
I know a few cases but its only worked out where both parties were not particularly religious

what you mean "we" like to hear?

As in everyone likes a happy ending. Capisce?

Capeesh.

a Muslim girl is NOT allowed to marry a non-Muslim man...any relationship after marrying a non-Muslim [who doesn't convert to Islam] is Haram to begin with. How can a family who is a Muslim accept a non Muslim man for his daughter/sister? no way!!!
i know a lot of couple where the man has converted to Islam [even if it is just a lip-service] and they are living happily...my own niece has married a white man so we are ok because he has accepted Islam.**

That is amazing mashAllah! How about your mamoo? Is he still a practising muslim? I'm sorry if thats too much of a personal question. Im just curious how it affected his faith overall.