That is amazing mashAllah! How about your mamoo? Is he still a practising muslim? I'm sorry if thats too much of a personal question. Im just curious how it affected his faith overall.
well, he's never been the type to pray 5 times a day, but he does go to Jummah namaz mostly every friday, and would fast during Ramadan up until his health problems prohibited him. their lifestyle has never been "gora" (i.e, no alcohol consumption, alhamdullilah), because we are such a tight knit family (all my mamoos are in the same business together!) it just hasn't been much of an issue i guess mostly because my aunty assimilated culturally so well, that the religion factor was never pushed...gently suggested, yes, but never pushed.
I know 2 desi Muslim men married to Christian women and 1 (desi Muslim) whose wife is Hindu. None of the women converted. All have kids. None of the men are "very religious" but they do fast during ramzan....none eat pork etc. From my knowledge....the kids are being taught both religions on all 3 cases. The women had made an effort to learn about their husband's culture/religion....and the men had made an effort to learn about their wives culture/religion.
All 3 men had to deal with resistance from their families before marriage....but they made it clear to their families that they will marry their chosen female regardless of their families approval. Of course there was drama. After marriage....now with kids in the picture....everyone has accepted the situation.
not knowing whether your children will follow your faith or your spouse's?
I know a Pakistani man who was raised by Sunni Parents (lived in Karachi until he was 13). Today....at 34...he considers himself an atheist. Surprisingly....his parents are actually very practicing from what I know (they've been to hajj multiple times...mom/sister practices hijab...family eats halal only etc.). Yet somehow along the way...in his mid 20's....he became an atheist. This is an extreme example but at the end of the day.....marrying someone of your own faith does not "guarantee" that your children will actually believe in and follow your faith.
CoughCough, is your question a general one or is it about you? Because correct me if I'm wrong...but wasn't the last thread you created a thread in this forum about how you're engaged to a girl in Pak who was having trouble with the romantic talk...and that she's not like the girls you're typically used to?
You're right velvet. No this isn't about me. Just a question I've been wondering. It's just nice to hear that people can make it work even despite all these enormous differences.