Muslim boys or girls be allowed to go to prom ? {Split: What are your summer plans ?}

Re: Muslim boys or girls be allowed to go to prom ? Split: What are your summer plans

malhot,
it's not about restrictions (although restrictions are part of any judicial system) but it has more to do with setting up moral boundaries by a religion.

It may be different than other religions and that's where and why each religion or set of social rules differ with each other.

Re: Muslim boys or girls be allowed to go to prom ? Split: What are your summer plans

Muslim boys or girls be allowed to go to prom?

Depends on your priorities...

Re: Muslim boys or girls be allowed to go to prom ? {Split: What are your summer plan

We had what we call a 'ball' here (which is similar to a prom) at the end of our Uni' life and it was a big event tuxedo and all that. I didn't go but a lot of Pakistanis I know went.

Re: Muslim boys or girls be allowed to go to prom ? {Split: What are your summer plan

I always go to the balls and proms that we have. Don' think there's anything wrong with that

some hijabis also attend proms....this is another weirdest thing i learnt recently on GS.

Really :eek: chalo kher hai woh naqab mein apna husan jharnay jati hon gi

my parents always encouraged me to go...it is me who always say "NO, No, no".

in prom you not always have to go with date...you can also go with ur friends. it is same as farewell in Pakistan.

My sons will go to their proms. Inshallah, they will attend with a "date", someone of the opposite sex who they like, admire and - most of all - respect. They are all so young right now...yet they have "play-dates" with girls in their classes and THEY are the ones who are invited. Families with only girls want their girls to be able to deal with boys socially and its my boys who are usually asked over. And they are perfect gentlemen and if INshallah, I have anything to do with it all, thats exactly how things will remain. So yes, they will go to prom (with or without a date) and they will respect ALL the girls, not take advantage of anyone, not drink, smoke or do anything we've raised them not to do. And with all THAT being said, I think they will have the time of their lives.

I can surely relate to that.

That is how I am trying to raise my kids , bi-cultural , pick and choose only the good things of both the cultures. May Allah help me. Ameen.

May Allah help me. Ameen

LOL Mirch! Those are my thoughts each and every second of each and every day!!

I am not a hijabi..BUT hijabi's are humans too, with curiosity & likes & friends. I dont know where this horrible image of the "PROM" came from...maybe some people abuse and do all sorts of nasty stuff...but if those kids are bound to go get a hotel after the prom..then those parents have a LOT more to worry, cuz whose to say their not doing all that anyways, plus if someone has haram intentions they can act on them anytime...after school..during school...etc..even at those ICNA/ISNA conventions...so please. Some proms are well chaperoned and attended by staff...and several even have pretty strict rules. They are sometimes very decent and very elegant, way for the kids to enjoy and celebrate their graduation.

Muslims should not attend any gatherings with haram food and drinks around, that is the view of the scholars and i expect from hijabis to know that.

wearing of hijab or niqaab in a prom will make them prominent as most people in proms are usually half naked.

I myself went to my High School prom, and it was a pretty great time. I went with several friends and we had rented a limo, etc. Now I don't know how most other's proms were, but we were served a very elegant gourmet dinner there. We had several teachers, plus the Principal etc there as well, all dressed up. Basically its a farewell dinner, for all the kids to dress up, get glitzy & glam, and dance/eat and just have fun. You don't have to dance, but its fun. Also if you raise your child well with good values/morals...etc...then you can't worry too much and have trust in them.

And from what I hear from some of my younger cousins, some Proms these days are different, very organized and planned...and some schools even plan other safe/healthy events/activities for their students so they 'don't get into any drinking/promiscuous activities, as its their responsibility for the nights. I think even a gupshup member wrote about her prom, and seemed like good wholesome fun! :) I will let my son go for sure.

^I'm not stoping you?:)

I am not sure what city/country you live in....but last time I checked, high school kids were 18 and under. Legal age to drink is 21. A school most likely would NOT serve alcohol to teenagers and be held legally responsible for such an act. Nowadays there are vegans, vegetarians, meat eaters...etc...so usually there is Halal food available, including vegetarian options/Seafood..so that is not a problem.

So i am assuming you cook/bake everything at home, and never go out for dinner. Most restaurants I know serve 'haram' food, as well as halal, so I guess that's a no-no for you. Sorry not trying to be a BI**H, but just making a point, that don't judge the person just because she is wearing a hijab. I think its great she is going out, having fun, but all within her boundaries.

This comment was not directed towards you, rather feedback to the original post in this thread.

No I don't go to places with haram food.....but I assume you do.

I've already mentioned about the boundary for muslim girls, if there's no haram food and drink and indecency around then they can go otherwise should not go there.

Hareem, I dont know where you are living but things dont usually go the way you imply. First of all, a Good muslim is very capable of attending an event EVEN IF there is haram meat and drinks. Just dont consume it yourself. Period. If you feel that you cannot attend a function where there will surely be haram (ALONG with halaal) things for consumption, then you need to live in a country where this is the law and nothing else is allowed. Otherwise, Live and Let Live so that everyone is happy.

And when you say that Hijaab will make them prominent, maybe you could be right but then again not. We have hijaabis in our town and they fit right in and make no big deal of it. It doesnt have to be this big deal where you hide the girls from all eyes. If a girl is dressed modestly and maintains her modesty, honesty and morals then theres no reason why she cannot attend a time-honored school tradition. IMHO.

So you must be locked up within the vicinity of your home then. Do you go to the grocery store to get groceries? Umm there is haram stuff there too, you know…that is not allowed for a muslim girl. :halo:
Just because there is haram food doesnt mean one will eat it. If you really think its possible to avoid any place that had 'haram" food, then surely you must live in a bubble…

This is useless arguing with you.