ISLAMABAD: President Pervez Musharraf must quit if Pakistan is to regain stability in the wake of the assassination of former premier Benazir Bhutto, a think-tank said on Thursday.
Musharraf is “no longer, if he ever was, a factor for stability,” warned the latest briefing from the International Crisis Group.
“It is time to recognise that democracy, not an artificially propped-up, defrocked, widely despised general has the best chance to provide stability and turn back extremists’ gains,” said Robert Templer, ICG’s Asia director.
The ICG agreed with the decision of the Election Commission to postpone the parliamentary polls, but only if extra steps are taken to ensure the delay “creates conditions for free and fair elections”.
Other thinktanks have said the exact same thing too. Also, the people in Musharrf's pre 2002 cabinet were also disgusted by him and bailed out and became his critics, which is why he had to rely on crooks like Chaudhry Shujaat.
WASHINGTON: Nuclear-armed Pakistan will end up in a civil war from which extremists would stand to gain if President Musharraf continues in the post which will further worsen the prevailing situation, a noted thinktank has said.
The country is already facing a law and order problem in the wake of former premier Benazir Bhuttos assassination and the only way to arrest the slide is the coming of power by a democratically elected civilian government, the Brussels-based International Crisis Group said. "Unless he (Musharraf) steps down, tensions will worsen and the international community may face the nightmare of a nuclear-armed, Muslim country descending into civil war from which extremists would stand to gain. Particularly the US must recognise he is a serious liability, seen as complicit in the death of the popular politician," the ICG has said. In its latest briefing titled "After Bhuttos Murder: A Way Forward for Pakistan", the ICG has concluded that Musharraf, who seized power in a 1999 coup, is no longer, if he ever was, a factor for stability.
"Bhuttos death has drawn the battle lines even more clearly between Musharrafs military-backed regime and Pakistans moderate majority, which will settle for nothing less than genuine parliamentary democracy," Mark Schneider, Crisis Groups senior Vice-President said.
The ICG has agreed with the Election Commission decision to postpone the parliamentary election scheduled for 8 January to 18 February “but only if additional steps are taken so that the delay contributes to the creation of conditions for free and fair elections and the restoration of democracy”. "It is time to recognise that democracy, and not an artificially propped-up, defrocked, widely despised general, has the best chance to provide stability and turn back extremists gains," Robert Templer, Crisis Groups Asia Programme Director said.
Its only a matter of time really...
So many people are protesting in Pak... Today it was against the load shedding...
100 Women were out in Mardan alone...
Soon the spirling inflation and loadshedding and other problems are going to make even the poor start protesting Mushu...
and with change of Musharraf, everything will be turned into nice fairy tale state and people will start living happily ever after!!
but hang on what is next and does he has magic wand??
change of musharraf will not change a single thing but a next weaker president will be more harmfull for Pakistan
and with change of Musharraf, everything will be turned into nice fairy tale state and people will start living happily ever after!!
change of musharraf will not change a single thing but a next weaker president will be more harmfull for Pakistan
Yaar, there are too many anti-Pakistan elements around. It is obvious by the fact that they 'choose' to ignore the bigger picture in their hate. Surely, they can't be really that naive? Oh yes the can. :)
With Musharaf gone we get rid of the main obstacle in the way of democratic rule and rule of law...
Why should anyone have to be ruled by the whims of a single man? Specially one has no respect for the nations institutions or constitution.
And a weak president is a GREAT idea.. We want a strong civilian Prime Minister... The President is nothing but a symbolic entity who should have no real power.
People will elect the PPP not you... If the people decide they want Zardari and the PPP, then who are you to stand in their way?
Regardless, anything is better then a corrupt and tyranical dictator.
Just like people selected Mush and PML(Q) previously. If the people decide they want Mush (a dictator) and the PML(Q), then who are you to stand in their way?
regardless anything is better than a "will" based democracy :)
Its only a matter of time really...
Its only a matter of time really from last 7 years, really ! :)
Just like people selected Mush and PML(Q) previously. If the people decide they want Mush (a dictator) and the PML(Q), then who are you to stand in their way?
regardless anything is better than a "will" based democracy :)
Its only a matter of time really from last 7 years, really ! :)
What are you talkign about?!?!?! Rigged elections dont count as democracy genius...
Why dont you explain to me how a dictatorship is better then a democracy? Please, I would love to hear your briliant insights on the nature of democracy and Dictatorship...
And what exactly is "will" based democracy? Dont the people have the right to decide who should be PM?
What are you talkign about?!?!?! Rigged elections dont count as democracy genius...
Why dont you explain to me how a dictatorship is better then a democracy? Please, I would love to hear your briliant insights on the nature of democracy and Dictatorship...
And what exactly is "will" based democracy? Dont the people have the right to decide who should be PM?
and they decided that they want Mush ..... so now you have to wait for 5 years ..sorry!
Now as thats been taken care off, let me define "will based democracy" for you:
Will based democracy is that "democratic political" parties which are the basic units of democracy and which don't stop beating the drums of democracy day and night, choose their leaders by "wills" and "relations" ... let me give you examples .... like Zardari became the "co-chairman" becasue of will, like "Shahbaz Shareef" became the chairman because of "bhai bandi" and so on ....... A democracy is when party holds elections to choose their leader and everyone has "equal" opportunity to become the leader of the party.
A democracy gives us the chance to NOT vote for PPP if we dislike Zardari, not for dictators to impose their incompetency for however long they want. Wake up and smell the coffee, the ppl in pak and abroad dont buy this load of crap about pml q lota league etc...
Alright, so PPP is being run like a family enterprise, fine if ppl will find that so repulsive, they won't vote for it.
Mush on the other hand was not elected by the people in 99, 2002 or 2007.
How can the decide they want Mushraf when the elections are rigged? Rigged elections are WORTHLESS! Rigged elections means people WERE NOT allowed to decide Mush…
And Mush isnt president anyways, since he was never recognized by the Supreme Court… You cant be president if you hold two seperate uniforms… Sorry!
So no, that hasnt been taken care of, you still dont have a valid point.
Hacha? Is that a will based democracy?!?! LOL, you and Aalsi have single handedly created brand new category of Democracy..
Let me give you some insight… Pak people will decide if they want Zardari or they dont… Not you..
A democracy itself produces leader, it produces stability, it produces concensus…
The Parties will evolve on their own, if they are allowed to evolve without being thrown out of power, undermined by corrupt military and intelligence…
Pak democracy has never been given a chance to evolve, so you cant say anything about it either way… But what is CERTAIN is that dictatorship produces instability, contempt, anf perpetuates problems and creates a cycle of destabalization.